RSS

My Top 11 Most Anticipated Films of 2015

19 Jan

Yo yo people of the internet, time for the penultimate blog post in this series based on upcoming films in 2015 with my top 11 most anticipated films of the year.  If you haven’t already, check out PART 1, 2 & 3 of my 2015 film preview. It does seem a little late now considering that we’re just over two weeks into January, but I feel like I had to be done after the film preview and I guess it’s better late than never right? With all that in mind let’s begin from number 11 to 1.

11. Jurassic World

jurassic_world_logo_a_l

At one point I wasn’t going to put this on this list. The first trailer didn’t wow me, however, in the end, it’s another Jurassic Park film, I need to see it. after all these years of talk, rumours and speculation, we’re finally getting another Jurassic Park film. One that ties back to the first film, it has a great cast including Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard and Vincent D’Onofrio among others, and it introduces a story that mixes in elements new and old. That being said, the concept of genetically modified dinosaurs sounds questionable, pet velociraptors and re-hashing “humans getting eaten by dinosaurs” doesn’t give me much hope. I PRAY that future trailers get me more hyped up and that the whole film is great.

10. Ant-Man

Ant-Man_logo

Ant-Man is another film that I’ve been interested in seeing, but also had a lacklustre teaser trailer. Now this is a character I’ve never been th biggest fan of, however, I’ve warmed to him in recent years and since Marvel Studios have come to the point where they can make anything look cool in a live-action film, I have to believe they’ll do the same with this. They have a great cast, an original and unconventional hero and a different kind of superhero story. Even though Edgar Wright is gone and some of us just haven’t gotten over it, I do have faith that Peyton Reed, Kevin Feige and everyone behind the film will give us something worth watching… Unless it fails completely, which will be a first for Marvel.

9. The Peanuts Movie

peanuts-movie-cast

Out of all of the animated films coming out in 2015, this is the one I’m looking forward to the most. The Peanuts Movie is very important, because like a few other films on this list, the characters are part of history and the source material is very reach and nostalgic for many generations of people. After so many years with no Peanuts material, we have a new film, in 3D CGI, but with the right look and sounds of the old TV show. Now this good be beautiful or it could fail terribly and turn out like The Smurfs or Garfield, but I hope for that it turns out great.

8. Mission: Impossible 5

mission-impossible---ghost-protocol-4fe388bd3aafc

So now we have Mission: Impossible 5. After the badassery that was Ghost Protocol, I knew I had to see more Ethan Hunt adventures and in the latter part of 2015 we’ll get to see this crazy man start all over again. Now I feel like this film will not be as good as the previous one, but if it can be at least half as fun and action-packed as the last film then I’ll be happy for sure.

7. Tomorrowland

Tomorrowland-logo

I’m super curious about this film, there hasn’t been that much information provided about it beyond a few images and a really intriguing teaser trailer. But to be honest that’s all I need. That and the fact that Brad Bird is directing it makes me so hyped to see what he’ll do with this.

6. In the Heart of the Sea

heart-banner-new-10-16

This is a film I have a lot of hope for. After Rush in 2013, I knew I had to see whatever Ron Howard was up to next and this film looks incredible. The trailer I saw was amazing and gives us a look at a film which is dark, mysterious, large in scope and epic in action. Plus the cast for this film looks really good and the story seems like it’ll be a one of hardships and tragedy. I can’t wait.

5. Furious 7

Furious 7 Movie Poster

Now we have the 7th film in the Fast & Furious series, it is really weird to think that this series has been going on for this long, that being said after Fast 5, I think everyone was ready for more F&F action. That first trailer was awesome, it was like a mini preview of the film and while I don’t like to see too much of a film in the trailers, I feel like the teaser for Furious 7 was enough to get me hyped.

4. Mad Max: Fury Road

MadMax-FuryRoad-Poster

I have been watching this film from afar, but it wasn’t until the last trailer came out that this film got on my radar. I’ve not seen any of the previous Mad Max films, however, I’m not that bothered, if this film is half as good as the trailers are letting on then it’ll be a hell of a good time. I love Tom Hardy and the action sequences look mental, I want it in my system now! 😄

3. Spectre

spectre-motion-poster-2015

After 3 years we have the next James Bond film in the form of Spectre. There is no official images or a trailer, but my anticipation of this film is very high, I really liked Skyfall and since most of the cast and crew are back for the next adventure makes me smile. I’m not sure what to expect, but with Sam Mendes at the helm I’m hopeful that he’ll do us Bond fans proud once again.

2. The Avengers: Age of Ultron

avengerscollage

I am surprised this ended up being at number 2, because to be honest it is my most anticipated film. I am I’m a comic book nerd and these superhero films are my crack. Marvel Studios have been giving me the good stuff for the last 7 years and now we’re heading towards the second Avengers film which promises to give fans everything they liked about the first film and more with darkness, drama and a badass villain.  That first trailer blew me away and the second trailer gets my hype juices flowing and so now we’re around 4 months away (3 for us UK people) and the wait, ah man, it is killing me, I just need it now.

1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens

star-wars-force-awakens-title

Ah man, it was a very close call between this and Avengers, but in the end the top choice had to be this film. I mean it’s frigging STAR WARS! Now I know this film could go one of two ways; it could either be great or a terribly disappointing, however it doesn’t matter, Star Wars is one of the biggest parts my childhood and is part of cinematic history regardless of whether you like it or not. For a lot of people this is their major film event of 2015, after the prequels most fans have been waiting for a proper SW film with the original cast and they are finally getting their wish. The short teaser trailer was FRIGGING AWESOME! And now loads of people are hoping that J.J. Abrams doesn’t mess this film up.

So that’s it, my top 11 list done, hope you enjoyed my choices. Now I shift my focus to you, the readers, what is your most anticipated films of 2015 and are any of your entires on my list? Whatever your thoughts are be sure to drop them in the comments below and I’ll see you on the next review yo. 😀

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2015 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “My Top 11 Most Anticipated Films of 2015

  1. vinnieh

    January 19, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    Definitely looking forward to Spectre.

     
  2. Tim The Film Guy

    January 19, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    Jurassic World. 11th! What?!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 19, 2015 at 10:20 pm

      Haha yep. Compared to the other films on this list it doesn’t compare, that and I have more concerns than excitement for Jurassic World.

       
      • Tim The Film Guy

        January 20, 2015 at 11:23 am

        Well we will have to agree to disagree then 😀

         
      • Hypersonic55

        January 20, 2015 at 2:08 pm

        Indeed on this case we have to 😀

         
  3. sidekickreviews

    January 20, 2015 at 5:47 am

    Howdy! Great job with all your posts on 2015 movies, I discovered some movies I didn’t know much about. You know, I have a lot of confidence in JJ Abrams, if I heard correctly he decided to make the original characters have a bigger part in Episode VII and he even brought in the fight choreographers from the Raid. But the movie that most excites me is Age of Ultron, not really a big surprise there haha.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 20, 2015 at 2:11 pm

      Cheers man,I guess the film preview did work after all lol. I know Abrams is a good filmmaker, I just hope that he does right by Star Wars and doesn’t ruin it for all the fanboys, because then we’ll never hear the end of it. 😛 But yeah Age of Ultron, man, I just need that film now, the wait is killing me mentally lol.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
