San Diego Comic-Con 2014 – My Highlights

san-diego-comic-con-logo

Good day to you ladies and gents, well the annual San Diego Comic Convention is totally in full swing and news, images and videos have been released all over the internet and it has sent fans into a frenzy so far. So far from what I’ve seen and read it has been a pretty amazing session so far and I wish I could attend, but alas I am too poor lol. So just like last year I’m gonna do a news round-up of all the updates from Comic-Con that have caught my eye. So hold on tight as I have a lot to get through, let’s rocket! XD

Wonder Woman’s Costume Revealed

wonder_woman_0-1

For me one of the biggest things to come out of Comic-Con was the reveal of Wonder Woman’s costume and I have to say that I like it. Gal Gadot looks fine in it and the costume is clearly more practical and let’s revealing than the comic book versions of the past. Though it wasn’t until I saw a meme online where someone pointed out that the BvS Wonder Woman costume is pretty much the same as Xena from the old Xena: Warrior Princess TV show, really after you do a quick comparison is kind of hard to ignore. Whether or not the costume designers were aware of this or not remains to be seen, either way it is pretty interesting to note.

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice Footage

EXF8Hu5

Obviously what could be described as the biggest announcement from Comic-Con this year would be the reveal of the short footage from the upcoming Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice which features an armoured Batman in the rain setting up the Bat signal and Superman hovers in the sky looking down with glowing eyes like they’re ready to duke it out. Now thanks to the power of the internet I saw some blurry leaked footage and from what i could tell it looked pretty awesome, Batman looked badass and the way Gotham City has been crafted visually is so good and the way these two titans are just staring at each other you know that shit is gonna go down. Everybody has been freaking out about this footage and while I think it was cool, it was by no means anything earth-shattering.

Avengers: Age of Ultron Massive Picture, Footage & Info

giant-avengers-poster

Not to be outdone by DC completely Marvel assembled nearly all of their cast for the Avengers: Age of Ultron panel where they were all introduced in style to Michael Jackson’s “Don’t Stop Til You Enough” and we learnt a few more details about some of the characters here and there. In addition to that we got a beautiful concept art poster of all the Avengers assembled battling the Ultron army [pictured above} which looks totally badass and is my new wallpaper haha. And then there’s the footage (which at this point has yet to be leaked online), which apparently has the Avengers chilling out with each of them trying to pick up Thor’s hammer and failed, only Captain America has the power to budge it a little. And Ultron apparently comes a long and messes things up and then there’s a montage of all sorts of things (man I hope that trailer gets leaked.

Check out the panel here:

Guardians of the Galaxy 2 & Animated Series Announced

Guardians-of-the-Galaxy2-and-GotG-animated-series

So Guardians of the Galaxy is just under a week away and so far it has been getting early positive reviews which is awesome and now it has been announced that there is not only gonna be a sequel to Marvel’s sci-fi adventure but there will also be an animated series too. When it comes to Guardians 2 I say bring it on, if the first film is as good as I am hoping then I would love to see more from that universe. As for the animated series, I’m not sure, Marvel have had a dodgy track record with animated shows after Spectacular Spider-Man, Avengers: EMH and Wolverine and the X-Men ended and if it looks anything like the Avengers Assemble cartoon that that won’t be good thing for me, that art design is a bit too stylized and funky, but I’ll wait until the trailer comes out before I start to complain.

Legendary Pictures Announce Godzilla 2 With More Classic Monsters & King Kong Reboot Entitled ‘Skull Island’

godzilla_kingkong

Now there were some surprising things to read on Saturday from Legendary Pictures’ announcements. No not that Godzilla was getting a sequel, but that there was going to be the return of classic monsters in the future like Mothra, Rodan and Ghidorah. When I read that I was like “YES!” (In a high-pitched voice). I don’t car what anyone says, Godzilla (2014) was killer and worked where it needed to most, the monster fights, and if the filmmakers are gonna bring in my classic monster for some fighting action I say bring the hell on! Then there was the news that King Kong was gonna get rebooted and focus on the place of his origin, Skull Island. It does feel a bit soon to reboot the big ape considering that the Peter Jackson version was only 9 years ago, but hey reboots are the ‘in-thing’ so why not do it? Now the reason I’m down for this is because since both Godzilla and King Kong are under the same studio roof, maybe there will be the chance for another King Kong Vs. Godzilla film? Wishful thinking I know but one can hope. 😛

So this concludes the first part of my news, all in all it’s been a pretty good session though not nearly as exciting or unexpected as last year I have to say. Anyway which of these stories stood out the most to you and is there anything on here that I didn’t mention that you think was worth talking about? Whatever it is be sure to comment below and I’ll ya around on the next blog post yo! 🙂

3 thoughts on “San Diego Comic-Con 2014 – My Highlights

  1. Apparently the Wonder Woman pic has a bronze filter on it, and the skirt is blue, the main check plate is red and the edges are a bronze/gold colour. All in the same realistic/ dull colours that make up the Superman costume. Does look a little Xena Esc, makes sense though, both supposed to be Greek inspired armour for woman. Any armour design will look pretty similar 😀

  2. So excited for The Avengers: Age of Ultron that its hard to care about anything else at Comic-Con. I liked Gal Godot’s costume but not sure it’s really Wonder Woman-definately more Xena!

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.