RSS

RIP David Bowie

12 Jan

I know the news about David Bowie’s death technically took place yesterday but I thought I’d still share my quick thoughts on this topic because I do have something to say.

david-bowie-guitar

So yesterday I woke up just after 11am and saw people talking about David Bowie and the fact that he’d died, and I was like “No way!” But then I checked on Google and saw several news sites confirming his death and my heart sank a little. This is another one of those celebrity deaths that I never expected to hear about and even thinking about it feels surreal like when Robin Williams or Christopher Lee passed on. What surprised me the most was the report that he’d been battling with cancel for 18 months, I never knew the man was even sick for so long and it bugs me that cancer has come along and taken away another great person from the world.

Now I’m not going to act like I’m the biggest Bowie fan ever, though he had a large impact on my life with his music and appearances in certain films and TV shows. I think I’ve always been aware of Bowie’s existence in the world of music, however, I think my first recollection of him was seeing him in Labyrinth back 1999 or 2000. That was such a strange yet fascinating film and part of the reason I liked it so much was because of Bowie as the Goblin King Jareth. It is crazy to see how much he’s gotten up to im his career, how many times he’s reinvented himself visually and but also how his music’s changed several times too and yet remained so fresh, inventive and relevant after so many decades. Add on top of that he had a fairly successful film career and he really can be described as the definition of a legend and I gotta give my condolences to Duncan Jones and the rest of Bowie’s family and friends for their loss.

I didn’t get into Bowie’s music until college which I have my old media tutor to thanks for that. I think it was back in 2008 when we were learning about concept albums we were introduced to The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars, and since then his music was engrained in my memory for years to come. After that I really like the sound of “Starman“, “Five Years” and “Ziggy Stardust“. After that my interest his music slowly expanded and by time at uni I’d found new favourite songs in “Modern Love“, “Rebel Rebel” and “Let’s Dance” (a song I’d liked since my teenage years but really came to love later on). Also in 2012 The Perks of Being a Wallflower reminded me of how awesome “Heroes” is and by 2014 “Golden Years” had also become a jam I loved so much that I sang it at karaoke (not very well but I had been drinking haha). I’ve still yet to check out Bowie’s recent material but I’ll definitely be listening to it in the coming months along with the rest of his discography.

So today I leave you will the classic jam of “Let’s Dance” because at the end of the day I feels like that’s what we all should be doing; celebrating the life of a great man and jamming to his badass tunes. Laters! 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 12, 2016 in Life, Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “RIP David Bowie

  1. lauren

    January 13, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    The first time I had heard of David Bowie was in the Labyrinth. He had so many good songs, I really like Lets Dance and Golden Years. A true original who will be missed.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
