RSS

Blog Update (October)

15 Oct

update

Howdy people of the internet and thank you for dropping by, I just thought I’d give you lot an update on what’s happening with the state of this blog and what I’ll be providing for the loyal few of my followers or anyone still interested in my material.

Films

First and foremost this blog was started as a place for film reviews, however, after I left uni in 2014 I lost a lot of the free time I had to go to the cinema and watch anything and everything whenever I wanted. And since 2015 the length of my reviews and the number of them in general diminished by a great deal. These days my reviews tend to fall under the “QUICK REVIEW” or “ONE PARAGRAPH” category with just a few films getting the full-length reviews with over 1000 words in it, and that’s just because I am short for time and it helps to condense my thoughts into smaller reviews. And so these type of reviews will probably be the standard going forward so long as I have the time to write about them.

As for the film reviews as you can tell the amount of film reviews I’ve done since the summer has been incredibly low and that’s for two reasons: 1) Because of work, on my days off I rarely leave the house and choose to spend my time inside. And 2) Since TV season started up at the start of September I’ve dedicated a lot more of my time to that over going to the cinema.

In terms of films I’ve watched in the cinema (besides my recent review of Kubo and the Two Strings) that I haven’t reviewed on this blog there’s only two major films and they are The Magnificent Seven and Deepwater Horizon. When it comes to The Magnificent Seven remake I thought it was pretty solid and better than I expected, there was a decent amount of references to the old film, but had enough differences to make it stand out on its own. If I were to compare it to the original I will admit that there was something timely about the old film, some of the scenes and quotes worked better and the main reason for the protagonists being brought together was much weaker in this film as opposed to the original. I really liked the action, explosions and chaos as it’s not something I normally associate with westerns and the cast was really fun especially Denzel Washington, Chris Pratt, Ethan Hawke and Vincent D’Onofrio. And then there’s Deepwater Horizon and man, that film was a hell of a lot better than I expected. I mean I had hope for this film because it was coming from Peter Berg and I loved Lone Survivor, but the trailers for this film looked so generic and not very engaging. But Deepwater Horizon was a really good film, I was surprised that I got invested in the characters, story and spectacle of the oil-based incident. I will admit that the early half of the film was a little slow and I was wondering when the story would grip me, but once the danger kicked off and oil started gushing everywhere good god this film had me. From there this film just became a disaster film in the best possible way with so much madness going on with the flames, explosions, debris and all of the people caught in the crossfire as well, several times I was like “Damn, this is some intense stuff!” I felt fear, claustrophobia and tenseness on a level was equal to a horror film to a degree and Berg once again did well at bringing a real life event to the big screen in a captivating, dramatic and informative manner and got some great performances from Mark Wahlberg, Kurt Russell, John Malkovich, Gina Rodriguez, Dylan O’Brien (my man) and Kate Hudson.

tms-dwh-collage

TV

So as I said above TV season is in full swing and anyone who knows me know that I LOVE me some TV. Since I was at uni, I got into the binging lifestyle with several shows and these days I get so deep into the world of TV that it takes over the film stuff. Right now I’m watching a good deal of stuff at the moment, I have my returning shows in the form of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Blindspot, Lucifer, The Flash, Arrow, Regular Show, South Park and Star Wars Rebels. But then I’ve also been watching Atlanta, Outcast and catching up on Supergirl season 1 before watching season 2. So I’m spending a lot of hours at home with my TV shows but I’m loving it so far, just be on the look out for “What I’m Currently Watching” which will be out on a weekly basis, though as the number of shows have increased recently I may break the reviews in half so that I can get the reviews out as quickly as possible, and to also cut the word count for each post.

fall_tv2016_collage

Well that’s it for now, hopefully you’ll look forward to my TV reviews and some more film reviews from the cinema when they come, until next time, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 15, 2016 in Films, Life, Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
