RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #26.5

09 Oct

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. It is week 26.5 and I’ve decided to do another TV post this week because of the extra shows that have started and some of the episodes of current Tv that’s gone down this week too. So today I’ll be talking about Blindspot, The Flash, Arrow, Star Wars Rebels and South Park. With that out of the way let’s talk about some TV! 😀 Oh and careful for minor spoilers…

Blindspot (Season 2) “If Beth”

blindspot-season2-poster

Seems like a lot has happened in this episode with Roman trying to help Jane fight for Sandstorm’s cause, Reade trying to process his repressed memories, the animosity between Weller and Nas continued. The main story surrounding the ex-CIA agent was pretty interesting, though not as engaging as last week’s episode, the material surrounding the main characters’ personal struggles was much better. One thing I really liked was when the team went undercover to that fancy charity event, I love when a team have to infiltrate an event by dressing up, but covertly looking for a dangerous suspect in various locations of the location. There was some nice moments of humour, tension and action especially with Patterson, Jane, Weller and Nas. Oh and by the way everyone looked so smart and beautiful especially Jane, Zapata and Patterson. 🙂 We also learnt two major things about Sandstorm this week, 1) Shepard and Roman really wanted Jane emotionally invested to the point where they revealed history not only about themselves but also their ties to Jane. And 2) The revelation that Sandstorm have been watching Weller for over 20 years (even having his old cadet ceremony video), that was creepy and surprising and it makes me wonder just how much does he factor into Sandstorm’s plans.

The Flash (Season 3) “Flashpoint”

theflash-s3poster

Yay The Flash is back with the first episode of season 3 and so far I’m liking it. I’ve never read the comics or seen the animated versions of the Flashpoint Paradox but this episode seemed to deliver on what I’ve heard about the source material online. So this episode basically dealt with Barry living in this new version of reality where both of his parents are alive, Wally is The Flash, Cisco is a billionaire, Joe is a drunk and a good few other things have changed too. It was intriguing and fun to see Barry interact with this world which was familiar and yet different, but as Eobard Thawne stated time was gonna catch up with Barry and soon it did. Seeing a rich Cisco, a super confident Kid Flash and drunk/lazy Joe was interesting, but it was the Barry and Iris stuff that worked the most for me, I’ve never loved Iris, but I never liked her that much either, but here she was the most likeable she’s ever been for me and I’m not sure why. I loved how there were consequences for time travel for Barry, living in the new timeline was all and well, but because of his speed and new interactions with the people he knew, he was erasing his original memories which made me have to team up with Thawne to correct the original timeline, only problem now is that Iris is no longer part of the picture, so one can only wonder what the hell happened in this version of the prime universe.

Arrow (Season 5) “Legacy”

arrow-season5-poster

After an up and down 4th season, Arrow‘s back again with its 5TH SEASON! Just thinking about how far this show’s come since its inception is crazy. I said after I finished the last season that was done with this show, but I knew I wouldn’t stay away for too long and this first episode wasn’t half bad. It was nice to see how things had changed from last season with Oliver being mayor, but still being the Arrow by night, except now he’s back to killing and brutally hurting his enemies again. 😛 I also liked seeing how tough life’s been for Quentin after Laurel’s death and how Thea didn’t want to go back to the vigilante lifestyle after leaving that part of herself in the past. Straight from the beginning the episode started with the action and it was on-point, it was filmed well, nicely choreographed and was solid throughout the episode. Some of the CGI was a little blurry and didn’t blend too well with the live-action stuff, but it was decent enough. I liked seeing Chad L. Coleman as Tobias Church, he was fun and cheesy (in a good way) and I’ll be curious to see what he brings as the main villain in future episodes. It did feel weird that Team Arrow only consisted of Oliver and Felicity, but its nice how by the end of the episode Oliver was persuaded to assemble a new crew. Even the flashbacks weren’t that offense and might offer up something I may actually be interested in, but we’ll see if I’m still feeling that way halfway through the season haha.

Star Wars Rebels (Season 3) “The Antilles Extraction”

star-wars-rebels-season-3-poster

This week’s episode of Rebels was another enjoyable episode with the focus being on Sabine as she infiltrated Empire to help recruit some of the pilots that wanted to defect to the Rebel Alliance. Firstly I wanted to say that it was great to see Sabine front and center, getting to go on a tough mission and show off her skills. As for Wedge he’s been one of those minor character characters who I’ve always liked seeing in the main films, so seeing him at an earlier point before A New Hope was cool, though not as exciting for me because I’m not overly invested in him as hardcore fans are. I liked how Sabine’s mission wasn’t easy whether it be her questioning the orders given during the training simulation, to her escape with Wedge and the others being sabotaged which lead to them being captured or how Sabine had to fight Governor Pryce in hand-to-hand combat. And speaking of Pryce, it was great to see more of her personality and get directly involved with the Rebels (seeing her fight was awesome), but it was Agent Kallus who surprised me, once again he showed a lot of development and more so than before he definitely seems conflicted, helping Sabine escape and seeming dissatisfied with his treatment in the Empire at the moment (at least that’s how I saw it). And once again I had to comment on how great this show looks with the art direction, use of colour and lighting, on the planet where the Empire were based, it looked gorgeous.

Well that’s what I’ve been watching. So have you seen or plan to watch any of these shows? If you have any thoughts be sure to drop a comment below and let me know what TV shows you’re currently watching  too. Until next time, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 9, 2016 in Reviews, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
