RSS

ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Don’t Breathe

22 Sep

Howdy ladies and gents, time for another one of those one paragraph reviews and today I’ll be talking about Don’t Breathe. So here’s the thing, I actually watched this film last Friday as part of a double session with Blair Witch which sounds like madness considering my disliking of the horror genre, but I was feeling daring so I did it anyway. And so I was debating whether I’d do this review or not but decided it’d be worth my time just to share my thoughts so hear we go!

dont-breathe-poster

Firstly the plot of this film involves these three young criminals who decide to break into a blind man’s house to get his cash, but what they’re not aware of how dangerous the man really is, and so the these kids have to escape. What I liked about the film was how simple it was, an yet it had so much detail, two of the main characters has reasons for why they’ve become criminals and with the blind man you learn about him over the course of the film, and while their character detail varies, it is good and engaging material. But what really works about this film was everything that took place in the house, it becomes a tense, scary and aggressive game of cat and mouse, and its crazy to see how menacing and in control the blind man was and how much trouble those kids really were in. The sense of fear and suspense was done to great effect, even the jump scare felt relevant, but I think what was worse was just the moments of silence and points inbetween the kids getting attacked which really freaked me out. I will admit towards the end of the film a certain revelation was reveald that was a little surprising and distrubing too, but I was warned by a friend beforehand so it lessened the impact, however it didn’t stop me from thinking “Ewwww, that’s natsy.” And if you’ve seen the scene you know exactly what I’m taling about. The third act becomes a little less tense, frustrating and silly, but it didn’t ruin the film for me. Oh and the cast were good too, Jane Levy, Dylan Minnette and Daniel Zovatto did well as Rocky, Alex and Money, but I really gravititated more to Levy and Minnette’s performances. But it was clearly all about Stephen Lang as The Blind Man, this role was so scary, intense, magnetic and disturbing, and Lang killed it! So yeah I would recommend Don’t Breathe as it is a unique, fun, tense and creepy film that needs to be experienced.

So have you seen Don’t Breathe and if so what did you think of it? Be sure to leave your thoughts in the comments section below and I’ll see ya on teh next review, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2016 in Film Reviews, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
