RSS

ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Sing Street

14 Sep

Howdy ladies and gents, time for another one paragraph review and today I’ll be talking about Sing Street. Now I don’t know how this film flew under my radar during its UK release, but I never even heard of it until I think either late July/August on Collider Movie Talk and I finally watched it last week and good gravy, it was fabulous and I’ll tell you why in this review.

sing-street-poster

The plot can be summed up as the following: “A boy growing up in Dublin during the 1980s escapes his strained family life by starting a band to impress the mysterious girl he likes.” Sing Street has beautiful feeling about it that is almost indescribable. One thing I love about certain films are stories focusing on young people discovering their talents, growing up and learning life lessons, but I also adore the forming of young love and the bond between friends, and this film captured of those elements in spades. I loved the story and appreciated how this film had a lot of drama in background that sometimes bled into the foreground, a lot of heavy subject matters are covered and when they bubble on the surface and finally when they explode it does so in a spectacular manner. I also love this film’s sense of humour, youthful nature, and attention to detail when it comes to the early days of music videos and different popular music genres of the 1980’s. The cast was all really good in their roles. Firstly we have to talk about Ferdia Walsh-Peelo who was just amazing as Conor “Cosmo” Lalor, I really liked how determined, charismatic and delightful he was in his quest to impress a girl, escape the dramas of his school and home life and discover his talents. Also Lucy Boynton as Raphina was the definition of enchanting, she was so mysterious, intriguing and wonderful, but I also liked the extra layers to he that got discovered later on. Aidan Gillen and Maria Doyle Kennedy were really engaging and dramatic as Robert and Penny, and Jack Reynor as Brendan probably the delivers the best of his career as his character has such charm, wit and hidden depth. As someone who hated Reynor in Transformers 4, I was so surprised by how much I loved im in this film. And finally I really enjoyed Mark McKenna and Ben Carolan as Eamon and Darren as they were the most notable, funny and interesting members of the Sing Street band. Oh and the music, Jesus, it is amazing. I love this film’s respect and homages to the music of that era through the band’s original music which was so catchy and varied that you’ll want to get the soundtrack soon after the film ends. And I especially liked the use of musicians from that period with  The Cure, Duran Duran, Hall and Oats and Spandau Ballet being real highlights for me. In the end it’s incredible how this film can make you feel elated, shocked and melancholy all at the same time, but I think the best films are the kind that can make you feel all sorts of emotions and Sing Street does that in spades. The film has an inspirational and feel-good vibe to the point that it is impossible not to recommend it.

So have you seen Sing Street and if so what do you think of it? Be sure to leave your thoughts n the comments below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2016 in Film Reviews, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Sing Street

  1. Eddie@Jaccendo

    September 15, 2016 at 3:09 am

    Hello my friend! Great review and glad to hear how much you liked Sing Street. The tunes were pretty catchy, I think my favorite was the second one. I liked the feel good vibe. The director’s previous film Begin Again also has a good-natured, happy feeling which if you haven’t seen I’d recommend it too.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      September 17, 2016 at 6:39 pm

      Hey man, yeah I adored that soundtrack and I believe the second track was the one I liked the most too (was it the one where the band started playing in the living room?). Oh and yeah I was meant to mention Begin Again in the review, as I thought the director did such a great job in both films in creating a great uplifting vibe, but also capturing the core elements of what makes the creation of music so captivating and fun to watch. As always thanks for commenting yo! 🙂

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
