RSS

ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Hell Or High Water

12 Sep

Howdy ladies and gents people, time for another single paragraph review and today I’ll be briefly talking about Hell Or High Water. Now on paper this film didn’t look like my of thing, but because of the cast, trailers and good word of mouth after it’s release in the US I knew I had to check it out and man I’m glad I did because it was damn good.

hell-or-high-water-poster

The story can be described as the following: “A divorced dad and his ex-con brother resort to a desperate scheme in order to save their family’s ranch in West Texas.” I thought the story for this film was really impressive, it was thought-provoking, complex and surprisingly funny. But one of the key elements this film pulled off well was tension, on several occasions you are presented with these really intense and dangerous situations which vary from small quiet moments too much larger ones and the tension is real. Many times I was on the edge of my seat and felt my heart rate increase as I was just waiting to see how certain events unfolded and it was great. Visually the film was very nice with some wonderfully choreographed cinematography and editing and the use of music along with the film score by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis was good as well. But it was the performances that really impressed me. Firstly there’s Ben Foster as Tanner Howard, this guy was a very interesting character because he was so corrupt, crazy and unpredictable, and Foster was so intense and magnetic in the role. Then there’s Chris Pine as Toby Howard, who unlike his brother was level-headed, cautious and had good intentions for what he was doing, and I loved Pine’s performance as this is the first film where you’ve gotten to see his acting talent to the fullest. Both Foster and Pine had really good chemistry which really helped you buy into their sibling bond. Oh and Jeff Bridges as Marcus Hamilton was also great, I loved this character because he was perceptive, wise and new how to crack jokes or be sarcastic at just the right time, plus he had some notable dramatic moments too. Oh and finally Gil Birmingham as Alberto Parker was someone I didn’t expect to like as much as I did but he was also really good in his role as well. so Hell or High Water, it’s a great film, more so than I thought it’s be and I’d recommend it highly. 🙂

So that was my review, have you seen Hell Or High Water and if so what did you think of it? Please leave your comments below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2016 in Film Reviews, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Hell Or High Water

  1. lauren

    September 19, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    The film looks good and nice to see Chris Pine in a different role.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
