RSS

ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Swallows and Amazons (2016)

02 Sep

Howdy ladies and gents people, time for another single paragraph review and today I’ll be briefly talking about the 2016 version of Swallows and Amazons.Now I wasn’t overly interested in watching this film, however, the story in the trailer had my attention and so did Kelly Macdonald because she’s awesome (both in acting and beauty), so with some free time I decided to give the film a watch.

Swallows_And_Amazons_Poster

The story can be described as the following: “This film follows the holiday adventure of the Walker children in the Lake District. They want to camp in an island in the lake. However once they get there they find out they’re not alone and have to battle two other children for control of the island. However there are also other mysterious and dangerous elements at play in the background which will affect the children as time goes on.” Now I was surprised by how much I liked this film, it wasn’t amazing, however, there was a lot more to it than I expected. I really liked how the film was able to the capture the joys of youth, and having adventures in the outdoors, but was also able to incorporate some more serious story elements too. I knew the story involving Jim Turner and the mysterious agents going after him would be something to look out for, but I didn’t expect it to be as sinister as it was and I found it fairly intriguing once the mystery surrounding Turner came to light and you found out what kind of person he was. Besides the story, the Walker children really were a stand out aspect for me. Early on their personalities and group dynamic is established and over the course of the film you really start to care about these children and their pirate-based adventures. Of the Walker children my favourites were Dane Hughes and Teddie-Rose Malleson-Allen as John and Tatty Walker. John was the oldest and so he had to carry a lot of the responsibility when it came to talking care of his siblings but also making the tough decisions with his interactions with others, and I liked Hughes’ performance. But it was Allen who I really liked, Tatty was so sassy, confident and downright cute, and she had a lot of the best lines and moments with her siblings too. I also liked the Seren Hawkes and Hannah Jayne Thorp who brought a lot of humour and fun as Nancy Blackett and Peggy Blackett. With the adult actors I really liked Rafe Spall as Jim Turner/”Captain Flint” as Spall’s performance was very intense and engaging, Andrew Scott once again played a role I’ve seen him in before, but was he was good as Lazlow,  and Kelly Macdonald was lovely as Mrs. Walker, the role didn’t require anything dramatic, but Macdonald handled her material very well. Plus as a fan of Harry Enfield (from his sketch TV shows) and Jessica Hynes (from Spaced)I liked them as Mr. and Mrs. Jackson. Oh and I don’t know who did the soundtrack, but I REALLY liked it, it had such a lovely sense of adventure, was uplifting and during the certain boat sequences it amplified the action on-screen very well.

So that was my review, have you seen Swallows and Amazons and if so what did you think of it? Please leave your comments below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2016 in Film Reviews, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
