RSS

PODCAST: Film Focus Episode 6 – TMNT: Out of the Shadows Review

15 Jun

Howdy people of the internet, as some of you may have seen, not too long ago I started a film podcast entitled Film Focus! And after a week away due to technical difficulties with me laptop, I’m back again and today I’m sharing my thoughts on theΒ TMNT: Out of the Shadows. Even though I already did a written review for this film, that review was fairly short and concise and believe me when I say that I had much more to say about this film. The podcast if anything allows me to flesh out my thoughts on not only the recent Ninja Turtles films but also how I feel on the franchise as a whole, and I think you’ll be interested in hearing it too. πŸ™‚

Anyway here’s the sixth episode:

As I said before in each episode I’ll cover a different topic and since I don’t have much in the way of listeners or promotion, I’m here to spread the word about my podcast. πŸ™‚ So if you have some spare time on your hands and would like to listen to the ramblings of a passionate/strange man then please check it out, and share it with your friends if you like it. Also you have any feedback or if you’d be interested in joining on future episodes be sure to let me know, until next time, laters! πŸ˜€

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2016 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “PODCAST: Film Focus Episode 6 – TMNT: Out of the Shadows Review

  1. sidekickreviews

    June 20, 2016 at 12:40 am

    Hello my friend! Great job with the podcast, you have a talent for this. What I like about this format is how thoughts can be fleshed out more in a podcast and it’s enjoyable to listen to. Of course your written reviews are spot on too!

    A good example of what I liked about the 2014 film is the Splinter vs Shredder fight. It showed some good fighting action and a slightly darker moment when Splinter got beat up badly almost to the point of death. This in turn gave more emotion to what the Turtles were fighting for and a personal reason why they had to take down Shredder on top of saving the city.

    2016 film could have used more ninja moves, plus incorporate more turtle physiology which makes their fighting style unique. They did show some of that, but could have used more. I think they tried to use the purple ooze story line to land on an emotional moment, but it was poorly developed and fell flat. Perhaps they could have saved this story line for another movie and made it a focus.

    What’s strange is how a lot of other reviews are saying 2016 film is an improvement with a bigger, crazier story. Yes, the story is more strange and more enemies, but man it’s not better. I still think there’s still some potential in live-action Turtles movies, just need a different vision with the right exec. producers and director.

     
  2. Hypersonic55

    June 23, 2016 at 4:09 pm

    Hey man, thanks a lot yo. I’m still trying to iron things out with the timing and verbalisation of my thoughts without waffling haha.

    I’m so glad you brought that up, that fight sequence was one of my favourites and the material with Splinter after the fight was also a fabulous example of how there was some stakes and a least effort put into the emotional moments. It is crazy how these simple aspects were just ignored when it comes to the ninja stuff and emotional content and basic storytelling. I also hope you’re right when it comes to the potential for more live-action, because I would lik to see it if the right creative team was behind it, but I dunno if it can be or should done in the near future.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
