RSS

ONE PARAGRAGH REVIEW: Cop Car

13 May

Good day to you ladies and gents, how are you? Today I’m coming to you with another film review and today it’ll be on another one of the film’s I missed out on in the cinema last year, Cop Car. I’ve been wanting to check this film out for so long especially after the director, Jon Watts was selected as the director for the upcoming Spider-Man: Homecoming film, and with the positive world of mouth I heard from certain critics my curiosity was high. So without further ado here we go:

cop_car_poster1

With this film I knew very little about it beforehand besides the fact that two kids steal a cop’s car and Kevin Bacon is the most notable name attached to it, so I was technically going in blind. And that was part of the fun/intrigue that came with this film. The premise is unique with these two little daredevil kids going off and stealing a car for fun, but then once the sheriff goes on the hunt for his missing car and other aspects of the story start to come to light, it becomes apparent that the boys have become part of something much more dangerous than anything they could have imagined. At the beginning there’s a heavy focus on the two boys, Travis and Harrison, and while they’re young, naive and have very carefree/rebellious qualities to them, they’re a little frustrating to watch because of their foolishness and lack of respect for the law (but that speaks more to my disliking of watching kids be kids). But once Sheriff Kretzer came into play that’s when I started to pay attention. While the film has a unique story where the possibilities of where it could go are endless, I did find myself a little bored by the pacing and earlier story material with the boys. However after a while the film’s story started to get a little more interesting, and once it gained momentum and certain plot points start to change/interlock then the film had my attention. And what intrigued me the most was the fact that once things started to get darker and more intense the whole mood of the film started to change, from the characters to film’s visual style with the use of colour and lighting, so by the end of the film I was in a totally different frame of mind than when the film started. I really liked the acting across the board, James Freedson-Jackson and Hays Wellford did really good/convincing jobs as Travis and Harrison, while Kevin Bacon brought the right amount of charm and seriousness as Sheriff Kretzer, Camryn Manheim was also good as Bev and seeing Shea Whigham in anything makes me smile and he had a very interesting role to play as Man. Overall I was surprised by how much I liked Cop Car, it was simple yet very effective and had a lot more meat to it in the second half, and this film has only made me more interested to see what Jon Watts does with the new Spider-Man film. 🙂

So that was my review, have you seen Cop Car and if so what did you think of it? Please leave your comments below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 13, 2016 in Film Reviews, Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
