RSS

QUICK REVIEW: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story Trailer #1

08 Apr

Howdy ladies and gents, time for another trailer review and today I’m talking about one really exciting trailer because it is the first footage of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. For the longest time I’ve wanted to see some footage from this film since it was announced because of the director at the helm and wanted to see how this film would be different from the main series of the films tonally. And in the week when we got the announcement that there’d be a Doctor Strange trailer next week Tuesday, this new trailer just comes out of nowhere and blows up the internet for the fans. So now I just wanted to share my thoughts.on the new trailer, oh and by the way I’m referring to this film as just Rogue One from now on as I currently hate the title for this film.

So here’s the trailer below:

Well this was certainly unexpected, I mean wow, I really liked this trailer. It had the right balance of nostalgia, freshness, mystery, intrigue and action. I really want to see this film even more than before.

It has been said by director Gareth Edwards that this film would be a war film, which would be a first for the Star Wars films series as there hasn’t been a film that’s had a heavy focus on the war side of things, and this trailer certainly looks like it’ll be looking living up war style of film. The funny thing is there was no sign of the Jedi or Sith (more specifically Darth Vader) and yet I was still hooked, and that is impressive to me considering that the Jedi and Sith are my favourite elements of the Star Wars. Visually the film looked like Star Wars but with a gritty/dirty look, sleeker/cleaner visual effects and an intriguing/diverse cast.

Straight from the beginning the tone for this film is fairly serious with the music, and the brief moments of action and chaos, and that’s what I loved so much, the atmosphere in this film feels very different to The Force Awakens or any of the other previous Star Wars films. Things felt tense, dangerous and bleak and I loved it. That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy the more light-hearted/family friendly adventures, but considering that this film is being described as war film, it feels appropriate. I’m liking Felicity Jones as Jyn Erso, she looks cool and interesting, I also like what I saw/heard from Forest Whitaker and Ben Mendelsohn looks as an Imperial admiral, but it’s the small glimpse of Donnie Yen that got me hyped. Just seeing him with some quick action with a staff got me giddy. 🙂

I also really loved the throwbacks to A New Hope with the use of the AT-AT walkers, construction of the Death Star, old Stormtroopers and many other visual easter eggs/references. What these elements established was that we’re clearly still in the same universe as the other films, but that things would be unfolding in a more mature and serious manner than before which excites me because I believe Star Wars as a franchise has reached a point where it needs to evolve/change and do new and interesting things with the mythology, and I believe Rogue One is a step in the right direction.

Rogue-One-A-Star-Wars-Story-logo

To conclude the first trailer for Rogue One got me excited in all the right ways. It just enough to tease me about the tone of this film and give me some insight into who some of the key players will be. I believe that this film will surprise people and that Gareth Edwards will do the fans justice with this spin-off film.

So have you seen the first trailer for Rogue One and if so what do you think of it? Are you hyped, underwhelmed or confused by what you’ve seen?  Whatever your thoughts are be sure to drop me a comment and I’ll see ya on the next review! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2016 in Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “QUICK REVIEW: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story Trailer #1

  1. sidekickreviews

    April 8, 2016 at 10:58 pm

    Hello there! I first watched this teaser trailer last night. I was really tired and I wasn’t all that impressed. But I wanted to wait until today to watch it again with fresh eyes. I do like it better. Visually, there’s a lot going on and I like what you said about the mix of nostalgia, mystery etc. I think this trailer does a good job of introducing us to Felicity Jones’ character and getting us excited for more info on Rogue One. For me, there wasn’t a moment that makes me fall head over heels for Jyn Erso, then again it’s only a short teaser and I don’t expect it to. She has potential for sure. I want to see more of Donnie Yen’s character, he looks cool. I’m also glad they are holding off on showing Darth Vader until probably the final trailer. Great review!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      April 12, 2016 at 6:22 pm

      Hey man, great to hear your thoughts as always. I’m interested in Felicity Jone’s Jyn Erso character but she’s less interesting to me when compared to Forest Whitaker and Donnie Yen. And you’re right about Vader, it would have been too east to drop him in the first trailer, and I hope that he’ll either be teased the final trailer or will be saved for the final release of the film.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
