RSS

QUICK REVIEW: The Powerpuff Girls (2016) “Man Up”

16 Mar

ppg2016-title

Howdy people of the internet, I return to you today with an interesting review as I am going to talk about the first episode released for the 2016 version of The Powerpuff Girls! Now I remember when this show was announced, saw that the primary voice cast besides Tom Kenny was changing and even saw one of the clips released online for this show a little while ago, but I was a little skeptical mainly due to my nostalgia for the old series. But I just saw the first episode and I thought I’d share my quick thoughts on it.

vlcsnap-2016-03-16-22h25m38s310

What is apparent from the beginning is that this is a different interpretation to the 90’s show much the way that you have the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles from the late 1980’s and the 2012 version, both shows are very different from each, but still retain the core elements that you like and associate with said show. The Powerpuff Girls (2016) is like a modern re-imagining of the classic show, you still have your three main heroines having fun and beating up bad guys, but the world they inhabit, the dialogue and situations definitely feel more modern than anything else.

For what its worth I did really enjoy “Man Up” it was a simple yet effective episode to bring the PPG back into the public consciousness. It was mainly focused on Buttercup and her anger issues and how she should adopt a calm attitude through meditation. The sense of humour was nice too, it had good timing and felt appropriate. While this episode worked on its own, I think why I liked it was because I have the prior knowledge of this show and it’s characters, so when I saw the characters bring up Buttercup’s anger it was great because it was done in a way that I don’t believe has been done before and it was effective because it felt in-line with what’s comes before. I was worried I wouldn’t like this new cartoon because the original voice actresses were gone, but luckily Amanda Leighton, Kristen Li, and Natalie Palamides do pretty well as Blossom, Bubbles and Buttercup, their interaction and solo performances are good, and in small cases I could hear that they sounded like the original voices too.

vlcsnap-2016-03-16-22h24m49s247

Oh and Man-Boy, bloody hell. That dude was frigging crazy and while his personality and motivations were standard fare, I did enjoy how strange, cocky and obnoxious he was. Visually the show’s nice, it feels like it fits in with the likes of Steven Universe and Adventure Time with the style of animation, art style and line thickness. The colour scheme is vivid and attractive and the animation doesn’t come across as lazy and that’s always a good thing. And for those who haven’t seen this show before I think that they’ll enjoy it, it has the same kind of zany, charismatic and funny aspects that make some of the current Cartoon Network shows so popular.

Now when it comes to the fans and how they’ll enjoy this show, that’ll be completely down to your specific preference and how open you are to change. There are a lot of differences and things certain aspects missing from the original show (most notably *SPOILERS* the new intro and ending songs), and I can see diehard fans complaining like hell. But if “Man Up” is any indication of what what’s coming for this new version of the PPG then I’m game.

vlcsnap-2016-03-16-22h24m28s969

So have you seen the first episode of The Powerpuff Girls (2016) and if so what did you think of it? Were you accepting of the changes or did the episode not do anything for you? Be sure to comment below and let me know and I’ll see ya on the next review laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2016 in Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
