RSS

2016 SUPER BOWL MOVIE TRAILER MADNESS!

08 Feb

Hello people of the internet, hope you had a good weekend. Obviously the Super Bowl 50 went down yesterday and while that’s all well and good for sports fans, us movie fans were looking forward to the trailers for the upcoming blockbusters that will be dropping in the next few months and we were treated to some pretty cool stuff. Now for the sake of this review I’m 1) Skipping Deadpool because that’s coming out pretty soon so this additional marketing doesn’t mean much to me, 2) I haven’t seen The Jungle Book trailer, but I’m already sold on that film so I don’t need to see it and 3) Independence Day: Resurgence and some of the other films aren’t being talked about because I’m not interested in them. With all of that out of the way, let’s begin.

Captain America: Civil War

Gotta start with the big one; Civil War and man I really liked that trailer. There wasn’t too much in the way of new footage, but just like the previous trailer, there’s serious tone, plenty of tension and you really get a sense that these heroes have some serious beef and shit is gotta get real. I like the chanting in the background, but the two coolest moments were: 1) Bucky going to shoot Tony Stark with a gun, and Stark using a cool metal glove to stop the bullet. It’s a quick moment, but it’s pretty cool and shocking. And 2) We get to see both teams standing off against each other; with Team Cap consisting of Cap, Bucky, Hawkeye, Scarlet Witch, Falcon and Ant-Man (sporting a new kick ass helmet). And on the other side there’s Team Iron Man with Stark, War Machine, Black Widow, Black Panther and frigging Vision! I’m curious to see how this’ll play out considering how badass Vision is haha.

Jason Bourne

Fuck yes! My boy Jason Bourne is back and I’m SO frigging hyped. While I’m not fond of the film’s title and feel like it’s a bit lazy, other than that this trailer’s got me giddy. Seeing Damon back in this role, looking cool and taking people out is so cool. We also get some cool shots of Tommy Lee Jones, Ato Essandoh and Julia Stiles. There’s hand-to-hand combat, gun fights, cars getting smashed up and Jason Bourne knocking a dude out with ONE PUNCH! Damn, I’ve watched the trailer twice and it’s still just as badass, it’s just one of those key factors that highlight how efficient he is and it felt like a physical statement that would read like this: “You don’t fuck with Jason Bourne!” πŸ˜€

X-Men: Apocalypse

Now I haven’t been fair to this film in recent months, the first trailer didn’t wow me and while I’m intrigued by the story, new cast members and the mythology, there just hasn’t been much to blow me away, but this trailer really got me on board. While I hate the choice of song because it continues this annoying habit of film trailers having dark and unnecessary covers of good songs, everything else I’m down with. It really looks like the world is going to shit, the level of destruction and chaos looks insane with those missiles firing and cities being disintegrated, it’s madness. I’m really liking Apocalypse more and it looks like Oscar Isaac is gonna kill it in this role. I also liked seeing shots of other mutants like Jean Grey, Cyclops and Angel, but Psylocke, damn, she looks pretty badass and Olivia Munn, she’s gorgeous, nuff said.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

This was one of the trailers that surprised me, even though we got to see cool moments with the Turtles running around, and brief shots of Casey Jones, Shredder and April O’Neil, what really surprised me was the visual introduction of Krang. While we only got a brief look at the brain within the humanoid suit, it was genuinely surprising how cool it looked and seeing Mikey’s reaction was priceless. My anticipation is definitely growing for this sequel, I’m just hoping it doesn’t go too far into the lighthearted/comedic department, I was a good balance, but who knows how this’ll pan out.

So of all the material shown at during the Super Bowl which was your favourite? Be sure to comment below and I’ll see y’all on the next review, laters! πŸ˜€

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2016 in Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “2016 SUPER BOWL MOVIE TRAILER MADNESS!

  1. vinnieh

    February 8, 2016 at 3:27 pm

    That Jason Bourne trailer is bad ass.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 12, 2016 at 5:41 pm

      Too right I’m so hyped for this film.

       
      • vinnieh

        February 12, 2016 at 5:48 pm

        I’m in total agreement there.

         
  2. awakeblackman

    February 11, 2016 at 2:29 am

    X men was the best to me! Although the Jason Bourne looks really good. I thought Matt Damon said he was done doing those films. I guess they offered him enough money.lol

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 12, 2016 at 5:38 pm

      The X-Men trailer definitely swayed me more than I expected. As for Bourne Damon said there’d be no more from around 2009 to around 2013 I think, but I think after some of the films that he did weren’t as successful as he’d hoped, him and Paul Greengrass teamed up for the new one. Oh and yeah money definitely must have come into the equation. πŸ˜›

       
      • awakeblackman

        February 13, 2016 at 6:06 pm

        It’s always about the $$$$$$$$!!!!lol

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
