RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #17

04 Feb

Howdy ladies and gents, and after a good few weeks off I would like to welcome you back to What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. This is the 17th week and while there’s been plenty of TV on the air, I’m gonna start with the regulars and work up to more in the future if I have time. With that out of the way let’s talk about some TV! 😀 Oh and careful for spoilers below…

Agent Carter (Season 2) “Smoke & Mirrors”

Agent_carter_season_2_poster

Agent Carter just continues to excel at being awesome with this week’s episode doing a great job at again improving the foundation that season 1 created, but also introducing new and unexpected elements that have made the show so much better than before. There was so much to love from the humour involving Jarvis, to Peggy’s tactics to get information out of Mr. Hunt to Whitney Frost’s attempts to understand her abilities with the Zero Matter inside of her. But for me the flashbacks were the most fascinating parts. Learning more about Peggy and Whitney’s history from their childhood to later periods in adulthood was very insightful, fun and heartbreaking to watch. Who would have thought Peggy was married before the war began or that Whitney had an a mean mother who didn’t care her daughter’s intelligence? There were powerful moments between Peggy and her brother, Whitney and her mother or when Peggy and Wilkes. Oh and how great was it to see Whitney just turn into full-on villain mode and absorb Hunt? I love how she’s accepted this ability and reasserted her dominance over her husband too, I can’t wait to see where her story goes towards the end of the season.

The Flash (Season 2) “Fast Lane”

flash-poster-2

Last week’s episode of The Flash was impressive so I was really looking forward to this week’s episode. For me “Fast Lane” was decent, I was enjoying seeing another metahuman emerge two years after the explosion and the internal conflict within Dr. Wells was brilliant because of his attachment to Barry and Team Flash, but also his agreement to Zoom in order to keep his daughter alive. That stuff was great. But it was when Barry was running as the Flash and wasn’t able to save Iris, that specific moment was when the episode got my attention. Before now Barry’s always has been quick enough, but because of Wells stealing a bit of the Speed Force, Barry, for the first time in a while hasn’t been quick enough to save everyone and its worse because the person he allowed to get hurt was Iris. But THEN Wells openly admits that he stole Barry’s speed and gave it to Zoom in front of everyone, WHAT? This could have easily been hidden for several more episodes and yet it was brought to light right then and there and now Wells is on lockdown, and the episode wasn’t even over yet! Madness! And then Barry chose to forgive Wells and let us know that they were going to Earth-2, nice. Also Cisco continues to be the king of humour and badassery when he named Tar Pit or when his ringtone went off or when Barry and Caitlin dubbed Felicity the best hacker and Cisco was disappointed on their response, that was perfect.

Arrow (Season 4) “Unchained”

Arrow.S04-poster

This week’s episode of Arrow was decent. I looked like everyone in this episode had issues with Felicity facing more problems because of her disability, Thea was having trouble staying alive because of the after effects of Lazarus Pit and her run in with Damien Darhk and the team were dealing with the return of Roy as a potential criminal. I honestly didn’t care for the Nyssa’s storyline, though it was great to see Tatsu/Katana again and see her fight Nyssa. And I liked having Roy back on the side of Team Arrow and learning about what he’s been up to and why he’d been doing what he’s been doing. Also the Calculator was pretty interesting and dangerous enemy, but to learn that he was Felicities father was a cool reveal and I’m curious to see where his character goes in the future. The return of Shado via the flashbacks was probably the best thing that’s come out of season 4 since the appearance of Constantine, but since it was only through hallucination it didn’t leave as much of an impact.

Star Wars Rebels (Season 2) “Legends of the Lasat”

SWR-Season_2_Second_Poster

This week’s episode of Rebels was good but not as engaging as I’d hoped. I’d heard online that we’d have a Zeb-focused episode and that’s something I’d welcome with open arms, but this was definitely not what I was expecting. Learning about Zeb’s past and what happened to his people was very interesting and just added new layers to an already cool character, but what I wasn’t too keen on was the two Lasat’s and how they wanted to find their new home and relied on a legend and blind faith to find this planet. For me the story overall just wasn’t as interesting as some of the material that’s come before, that being said I did enjoy the final few minutes or so when Zeb used his staff to travel through the portal when Agent Kallus tried to go after them and failed, those few moments was when I really started to get into the supernatural aspects of the episode.

Well that’s what I’ve been watching. So have you seen or plan to watch any of these shows? If you have any thoughts be sure to drop a comment below and let me know what TV shows you’re currently watching  too. Until next time, laters! 😀

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2016 in Life, Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “What I’m Currently Watching #17

  1. sidekickreviews

    February 5, 2016 at 3:32 am

    Hello there! I feel like I’m missing out on Agent Carter. I’m also behind on the latest episodes of Arrow and The Flash so I don’t have much to add to the conversation. But I’ll be sure to check back once I do. 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 6, 2016 at 4:04 pm

      Yo man! And dude honestly it is some really good stuff and I think you’d like it, I may go as far as to say that it’s been than Agents of SHIELD at least in the sense that it’s a little more consistent and stronger with it’s story and character moments especially going from season 1 to 2 and with the new stuff they’ve introduced in this season. And man I can’t wait to see what you’ll say about the recent Flash and Arrow episodes. 😀

       
      • sidekickreviews

        February 7, 2016 at 10:04 pm

        I just finished watching the latest eps of Arrow and The Flash. “The Fast Lane” was enjoyable, the different story lines crossed over into each other in a way that worked. I think it’s cool that “Harry” made his choice and the team going to have his back. The cliffhanger about going to other Earth is pretty exciting.

        I really liked “Unchained”. There’s so much going on, bringing back not one character from the past but 3. I liked the choices the writers made on what to give more screen time than others. However, I’m still not sold on the island flashbacks this season, but I liked that Oliver finally confessed and nice to see Shado again. Roy got a good hero moment and a great chase scene with Oliver. I think this season overall is in a much better shape than last year. 😀

         
  2. vinnieh

    February 6, 2016 at 4:06 pm

    You’re really selling Agent Carter to me very well here, it looks and sounds very good.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 7, 2016 at 3:48 pm

      If I can get more people to check the show out then I’ll be happy as Agent Carter is a great show that not enough people are watching especially since the second season started.

       
      • vinnieh

        February 7, 2016 at 3:50 pm

        Well you’ve got me interested that’s for sure man.

         
  3. vinnieh

    February 8, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    In case you missed it, I did a post that proved very popular with discussions. https://vinnieh.wordpress.com/2016/02/01/what-makes-a-good-bum/

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
