RSS

QUICK REVIEW: The Big Short

02 Feb

Howdy people of the internet, time for another review and today I’ll be talking about The Big Short. This film has been talked about lot since it’s release last year and even more so once the award nominations started heading their way too, so after all that hype I really was expecting something beyond exceptional. So I saw it not too long ago and now I’m gonna pass judgement.

the-big-short-poster02

The story for this film can be described as the following:

“Four denizens in the world of high-finance predict the credit and housing bubble collapse of the mid-2000s, and decide to take on the big banks for their greed and lack of foresight.”

Now I recall the days of the big financial crisis during that period and seeing all of the madness unfold on TV news, however, I never really knew how bad the situation was and what extent of it was due to human error and/or corruption within the banks and insurance companies. Luckily this film covers the subject matter in the most detailed way possible. Besides the energetic and stylish scene transitions and breaking of the fourth wall, this film covers the financial crisis vividly through conversations whether they were one-on-one, in meetings or piece-to-camera moments, all of which helped you understand what was going on with the housing, loans and companies, how there was minor problems emerging in system and why things would eventually turn out the way they did. Adam McKay and the writers did a great job of illustrating just how deep and dangerous this whole situation was and showed that for all those who gained, there were many more who lost, and the drama got pretty intense and was highlighted further because these events really happened. That being said, I did find the film a little hard to follow at times, because this was a very complex and layered subject matter the film used a lot of technical terms and abbreviations to give you context to what was happening with the big companies and the loans, and while there were moments where things were broken down to simple terms, at the same time there was so much jargon and in-depth talking that I literally had a bit of mind implosion, plus since I’ve never technically owned a house I don’t think I related to this as well as my dad (who was actually giving me some context for some of the scenes). And finally the humour, some of it worked and I did smile and chuckle, but other times I wasn’t laughing as much as everyone else.

the-big-short02

As for the cast, the performances were solid all around and everyone did really well, though some stood out more than others. Firstly there was Christian Bale as Dr. Michael Burry, this was a very different kind of role than I was used to seeing Bale in, but he did really well. Ryan Gosling supplied most of the charisma and energy as Jared Vennett, and while his character wasn’t too likeable, he was incredibly smart, cunning and fun to watch because Gosling was just magnetic whenever he was on-screen. And Brad Pitt (who looked a lot like a thinner Russell Crowe for some reason) was very intriguing as Ben Rickert. But it was Steve Carell as Mark Baum who was the most interesting of the four main cast members. This character was blunt, tenacious, aggressive and like the other characters, pretty smart, but he also had the most interesting and developed backstory and when things got emotional for his character you felt it. I also really enjoyed John Magaro and Finn Wittrock as Charlie Geller and Jamie Shipley as their characters really brought another interesting, funny and different perspective to this situation. Oh and finally I liked the performances from Adepero Oduye and Marisa Tomei as Kathy Tao and Cynthia Baum, I wish I could have seen more of them.

the-big-short01

In the end The Big Short was a very insightful and dramatic film that had an interesting story to tell and fabulous performances from everyone involved, that being said I’m not sure it clicked with me in the way that I wanted it to and I’m not sure if I’d want to watch it again.

So have you seen The Big Short and if so what did you think of it? Please be sure to comment below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2016 in Film Reviews, Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “QUICK REVIEW: The Big Short

  1. Flashback/Backslide

    February 2, 2016 at 10:03 pm

    Great review. I like the movie through the first half or so but it eventually started to wear me down or lose its edge. I loved how they broke the fourth wall and the cast was great all around. I’ll probably need a second viewing to give it more justice.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 2, 2016 at 10:21 pm

      I can understand, things were a little more interesting and mysterious during that first half, but maybe a repeat viewing will change my view on it. Thanks for commenting yo. 😀

       
  2. vinnieh

    February 6, 2016 at 4:12 pm

    Cool review, I’m interested because of the cast.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 7, 2016 at 3:46 pm

      For sure the cast are fantastic and they’re one of the key elements that make this film work.

       
      • vinnieh

        February 7, 2016 at 3:49 pm

        It’s got a lot of nods at awards ceremonies.

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
