RSS

Quick Thoughts on Agent Carter S2 Episodes 1 & 2

26 Jan

As you may have noticed people, I haven’t gotten back into the reviewing groove for TV shows as I’m still trying to sort out the timing for when I can put them out on a weekly basis. However, with the return of Agent Carter last week, I couldn’t leave my blog without giving you lot my thoughts (regardless of whether you want them or not haha). So what follows are my quick thoughts on the first two episodes “The Lady in the Lake” and “A View in the Dark“. Mild spoilers follow.

Agent_carter_season_2_poster

Well, I am happy to report that season 2 of Agent Carter is back in full effect and so far I’m really enjoying it. I liked the first season of this show but I found it a little slow and uninteresting during the mid-point, however, since we’ve already spent time establishing the world, main characters and plot details last time, it allowed this season to hit the ground running taking the foundations of what’s come before and build on it, while presenting new and interesting situations. The new mysteries/stories surrounding the frozen lady, Sousa and Peggy’s relationship status, Calvin Chadwick and his business with the Zero Matter and the secret council, and Calvin’s deceptive wife Whitney Frost all has different levels of intrigue, excitement and potential for the future. I’m especially liking Frost with her being the brains of the operation between her and Chadwick, and that Zero Matter, man, it reminded me a little of Gravitonium, but then I also thought of the Kree monoliths as well. I just want to know what it is and what it does.

agent-carter-s2-peggy-and-jarvis

One of the things I liked about Agent Carter before was the relationships between characters, whether they were friends, potential love interests or enemies, and that applies here as well. There’s a lot of fun or dramatic moments with Peggy in these first few episodes whether it between her and Jarvis, Thompson or Sousa and it is interesting to see how these moments play out considering where these characters were in season 1 and where they are now. I also like the sense of progression from season 1, where times have changed, we’ve moved past the post-war era and are entering a world that’s a little more fun, exciting and unexpected as well. The change of scenery has allowed for a great new colour palette, different types of locations (like movie sets and jazz clubs) and gives the show a sense of scope that hasn’t been present before.

Agent-Carter-Season-2-Ep.01-02-3

As for the cast I’m really enjoying the returning and new cast members as well. Hayley Atwell hasn’t lost a step as she’s still just a beautiful, witty and badass as she was before, but this time round she’s a more emotionally open and funnier than before. James D’Arcy continues to be hilarious and full of surprises as Edwin Jarvis with his new training regimen and need for adventure. Enver Gjokaj as Daniel Sousa is my favourite of the returning cast as he’s changed so much with him becoming a Chief of another department of the SSR and having a new girlfriend that he wants to marry, while also having feelings for Peggy too. seeing how his life has changed and some of the emotional turmoil that he’s dealing with is great to watch. also seeing the return of Chad Michael Murray as Jack Thompson and Bridget Regan as Dottie Underwood was also welcome, however, I am very curious to know where Dottie’s gone and when she’ll cross paths with Peggy again because I really love it when Dottie’s around being all creepy and subtly psychotic. And with the new characters, Lotte Verbeek as Ana Jarvis is just a delight to watch, Reggie Austin also introduces some nice character moments as Jason Wilkes, and while I like Currie Graham as Calvin Chadwick, it’s his wife that was way more fascinating with Wynn Everett doing a really good job as Whitney Frost.

agent-carter_s2_the-lady-in-the-lake0920

I can’t wait to see where this show goes in the next few episodes, I’m hoping for something a little more exciting and superpowered than before, but so far Agent Carter‘s second season is off to a great start.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2016 in Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Quick Thoughts on Agent Carter S2 Episodes 1 & 2

  1. sidekickreviews

    January 27, 2016 at 1:46 am

    Nice to hear season 2 is off to a good start. I haven’t read your review yet because I still have to make my way through season 1 first. 🙂

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 27, 2016 at 3:48 pm

      Ah right, well it’s worth a watch for sure. The short length and interesting ties to the comics and the MCU films make it really fun and intruiging to watch. I will admit the first season was a little slow and not as engaging as I’d hoped at points, but the pros outweighed the cons for sure.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
