RSS

Films To Look Out For In 2016 Part 3

16 Jan

Howdy people of the interweb and welcome to Films to look out for in 2016! This is my preview of upcoming films that I believe deserve your attention. In PART 1 I covered films from January to March, in PART 2 I’ll covered April to July and in this post I’ll be covering July to December. This was actually meant to be out sooner but I’ve been a little busy as of recent haha.

Now before we begin I have two main things I need yo point out:

  1. Obviously a lot films come out, so if they’re not on my list it’s either because I don’t know about them or I don’t care…
  2. 2015 films getting their UK releases this year don’t count! So there. 😛

Okay then, let’s start 😀

Suicide Squad

SuicideSquad-cast

Release Date: August 5th (USA & UK)

Trailer:

Man I’m so curious about this film. After the trailer was released my interest in the film went way up to the point where I’m more hyped to see this film over Batman V Superman. I just like the concept of seeing a group of misfit bad guys come together and form a team and see what kind of madness ensues. I like the cast including Jared Leto, Margot Robbie, Will Smith and Viola Davis among some others, the action and character development look solid and if handled correctly this could open so many doors for other potential DC properties in the near future.

The Infiltrator

NEww7q0xZdWRAw_1_a

Release Date: August 31st (USA)

There’s no UK release date for this one yet, but I like the sound of the premise plus we can never have enough of crime thrillers and Bryan Cranston yo.

Sully

2D2E947C00000578-0-image-a-92_1444272303254

Release Date: September 9th (USA), December 2nd (UK)

Any time Clint Eastwood has a new film coming out it has my interest and while not all of his recent films have been hits, they are at least worth checking out for the source material he draws from or the acting talent he’s able to bring on board.

The Magnificent Seven

960

Release Date: September 23rd (USA & UK)

I find it crazy that this film even exists. A lot of people I know (my parents included) tell me that the original Magnificent Seven is loved and highly regarded and to add on top of that Seven Samurai the original film that started it all is regarded as one of the best films ever, so to know that there’s another version coming out just seems unnecessary. But with a cast including Denzel Washington, Chris Pratt, Ethan Hawke and Vincent D’Onofrio, I’m down for it.

The Girl on the Train

thegirlonthetrain2

Release Date: October 7th (USA & UK)

I’ve heard news about this on Collider Movie Talk a few months back and I definitely want to see how it turns out considering the fact that it’s a mystery thriller, it’s directed the man who did “The Help” and “Get On Up” and it also stars Emily Blunt and Rebecca Ferguson, mate I’m all in!

The Accountant

The_Accountant_69204

Release Date: October 7th (USA), November 4th (UK)

This is a another film with an interesting premise and good cast too, I like thrillers and this film has great selection of talent including Ben Affleck, Anna Kendrick, J.K. Simmons, Jon Bernthal and Cynthia Addai-Robinson from Arrow, yo this film has my attention yo. 🙂

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

jack-reacher-2-tom-cruise-release-date

Release Date: October 21st (USA & UK)

I really enjoyed Jack Reacher back in 2013, it was the better of the recent Tom Cruise films that wasn’t Mission Impossible 4, plus it was just a little different to come of the other Cruise performances that I’d seen. And while I didn’t need a sequel I am interested to see where the sequel goes, I just hope that director Edward Zwick can liven up this sequel and make it better than then the last.

Doctor Strange

doctor-is-in-ew-008

Release Date: November 6th (USA), October 28th (UK)

I have a lot of hope for this film, while I’ve never been a big fan of Doctor Strange I have come to appreciate his talents in the Marvel comics and animated material since the latter side of my teen years, and now that he’s coming to Marvel his an actor like Benedict Cumberbatch playing th title character, I’m all over this. I really want to see Marvel Studios commit to the magical/supernatural side of things that’ll make Asgard and the Microverse feel so normal by comparison.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

FBAWTFT-poster

Release Date: November 18th (USA & UK)

Trailer:

I am very curious to see how this film turns out, unlike the Harry Potter films very I was aware of the source material before the films came out, this on the other hand is completely alien to me. The teaser didn’t wow me and I’m not sure about the premise either, but since it is coming from author J.K. Rowling and stars Eddie Redmayne I’m willing to give this film a chance.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Master_Cast_Photo_1of2_2.0.0

Release Date: December 16th (USA & UK)

Rogue One is an interesting film for several reasons: 1) It is the first spin-off film in the franchise. 2) It’s plot about stealing the Death Star plans ties directly into A New Hope. And 3) It feels more like a heist/war film which is different for the Star Wars films series. This film has me excited for all of those reasons, but in addition to that we have Gareth Edwards at the helm who has done good work with Monsters and Godzilla (2014) and I want to see what his creative mind can apply to Star Wars, but add on top of that talent like Felicity Jones, Donnie Yen and Benicio del Toro and you have a film I need in my system sooner rather than later.

Assassin’s Creed

mf-assassinscreed

Release Date: December 21st (USA), December 30th (UK)

Much like Warcraft this film needs to be successful if we’re to see more video game adaptations in the future. I’m hopeful for it with Michael Fassbender as  the lead with Marion Cotillard, Michael K. Williams, Jeremy Irons and Brendan Gleeson involved I’m all over this. The AC games have such a great and rich mythos to draw from, I just hope that it gets adapted well with good action sequences, lovely locations and cinematography.

Passengers

chrisprattjenniferlawrence-xlarge

Release Date: December 21st (USA) December 23rd (UK)

This is one of those films I heard about and as soon as the cast got attached I was all over it. I love space-based stories and this one sounds super interesting and with Chris Pratt, Jennifer Lawrence, Michael Sheen and Laurence Fishburne attached, I’m hyped for this one.

So finally that’s PART 3 done. Thanks a lot for reading. Are any of the films listed on your personal list of films to watch? Whatever your thoughts are be sure to drop them below and coming back to see my Most Anticipated Films of 2016! Laters 😀

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2016 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Films To Look Out For In 2016 Part 3

  1. sidekickreviews

    January 16, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    Some of these I will definitely see in the theaters, while some I might take a wait and see approach depending on the reviews. I was really excited when Suicide Squad was announced along with the director. I also do like some of the casting choices like Margot Robbie as Quinn and Viola Davis as Waller. I don’t know if it’s because my feelings about BvS are rubbing off on Suicide Squad, but I don’t feel as excited as before. Maybe the next great trailer will bring me back. 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 20, 2016 at 5:46 pm

      I can understand that, but I’m down for it especially after the new trailer came out which I can’t wait to read your thoughts on. 😀

       
  2. Ben

    February 1, 2016 at 10:32 pm

    Suicide Squad is the movie I’m most looking forward to this year. I really hope it’s not a huge disappointment.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 2, 2016 at 10:18 pm

      I hear that, that and Deadpool are my main films I want to love more than anything and if they do end up being disappointments then I’ll be super bummed out.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
