RSS

ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Pain & Gain

06 Jan

Howdy people, time to try something different. Today I’m going to do a review in a single paragraph and it will be on the 2013 film Pain & Gain from Michael Bay. So without further ado here we go:

pain-and-gain-poster-final-poster

Pain & Gain is a film that I’m not quite sure how I feel about it. On one hand it was more engaging and watchable then anything that Michael Bay has made in years, though, I feel like the film could have been a lot better if it had handled differently. The concept of bodybuilders running around stealing money, kidnapping and killing among other things is very strange yet enticing especially when you know these are true events that happened in the world. While there are certainly moments of violence and tension, I think the film’s main problem was in its execution of these true events as there was a big focus on humour and Bay’s director traits that felt kind of distracting and I think if the tone of this film was more serious and less stylised it would have benefited better. But that’s just me. Beyond that I actually enjoyed this film a lot because of the ridiculous nature of some of the events especially when it came to seeing the three main characters Daniel Lugo, Paul Doyle and Adrian Doorbal’s antics. Those guys were so foolish and it was interesting and hilarious to see their scenarios play out individually but also together too. Mark Wahlberg, Dwayne Johnson and Anthony Mackie had good chemistry and I really liked Johnson as he was so hilarious and different in this kind of role. Tony Shalhoub and Ed Harris also did well as Victor Kershaw and  Det. Ed Du Bois, III and I also enjoyed the appearances from Rebel Wilson and Ken Jeong too. In the end the film certainly an interesting experience but one that could have been better.

So that was my review, I may try something like this in the future, I guess we’ll wait and see. Please leave your comments below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2016 in Film Reviews, Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “ONE PARAGRAPH REVIEW: Pain & Gain

  1. vinnieh

    January 7, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    Great review, I don’t know whether to see it or not. Just the concept of two guys with muscles bigger than my head embarking on crime is a bit questionable. Then again, I could watch it and see what I made of it.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 8, 2016 at 4:40 pm

      Thanks man! It is a strange series of events, however I think its worth watching just out of curiosity.

       
      • vinnieh

        January 8, 2016 at 4:42 pm

        I may just check it out just so I can say I’ve seen it and form my own thoughts on it.

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
