RSS

My Top 10 Films of 2015

30 Dec

Howdy people of the internet, the year is pretty much over and I think it’s about time that I give you my top 10 list of my favourite films of 2015. Before I get into this list I have to explain a few things:

  1. As per-usual I DO NOT include 2015 films that got released in 2015 here in the UK, so films like Big Hero 6 and some others that were originally released in 2014 for me they don’t count. I only list films that are new and were released between the start and end of this year.
  2. The following films aren’t the best critically received films, the reason I’ve listed them is because of my personal enjoyment, the quality and the re-watch value.
  3. This list was constantly shifting over the last month and in the end at least the first four films are solid, but other than that everything is sort of up in the air.
  4. Oh and there were some great films that didn’t make the list like the lovely Cinderella, the thrilling Sicario and the fun and imaginative Inside Out.

With all that in mind let’s begin shall we?

10. Ant-Man

ant-man-poster08

This was the Marvel film of 2015 that I thought I’d end up just liking, however in the end I liked it way more than Avengers: Age of Ultron and I never thought I’d feel that way earlier in the year. But this Peyton Reed-lead film was incredibly funny, action-packed, refreshing and reminded me of why I appreciate the solo adventures in the MCU over the connected stories. Paul Rudd owned in the lead role, and Michael Douglas, Evangeline Lilly, and Michael Pena were some of the other highlights in the cast. And while the MCU villain issue reminds and the way Hope was handled could have been better, in the end this was another solid entry in this film universe and I can’t wait to see the sequel in a few years time.

9. The Martian

the-martian-poster02

I thought The Martian would be good, and I hoped it would be good, but damn it was a lot better than I expected it to be. Thankfully Ridley Scott found his way back to greatness with this sci-fi adventure very much focused on this one man’s survival on the planet Mars after being left by his team. This film could have easily been very boring and conventional, but luckily it was very engaging, dramatic and surprisingly funny. The central performance from Matt Damon was awesome and I also appreciated the focus on the characters on Earth as well too.

8. Black Mass

Black-Mass-Movie-Poster

Black Mass was an intense, dramatic and engaging film about power and how its use had major ramifications for everyone involved. The film dealt with manipulation, influence, corruption, and the moral and ethical issues that could be used for good or bad when it came to law enforcers and the criminals. I liked the non-linear style applied to the story and seeing certain characters recall their interactions with Jimmy and the use of different time periods detailing the rise and fall of Jimmy’s power. This was return to form that I’ve always wanted from Johnny Depp as he was incredible, but on top of that Joel Edgerton was brilliant and I also really liked appearances from Jesse Plemons, Benedict Cumberbatch and Adam Scott too.

7. Mad Max Fury Road

mad-max-fury-road-pstr01

Now this is where the controversy will probably kick in. For a lot of people, this was one of their favourite film of the year because of its unique style, insanity and use of practical effects. For me the fourth entry in this franchise was really impressive and had so many characters and moments of badassery, and some of those action sequences were just amazing. That being said, the film was overhyped before I saw it and I don’t believe it met the high expectations that many people had thrown out online, plus there were elements from Road Warrior that missed too. But make no mistake I still enjoyed this film a great deal and I thank George Miller for coming back to this series after so long.

6. Amy

Amy-Winehouse-poster

I only saw this film a little while ago, however, it was certainly one of 2015’s most impactful films in my opinion. Just like Senna, director Asif Kapadia crafted a documentary that was incredibly insightful, dramatic, in-depth and heartbreaking. While I’m not the biggest fan of Amy Winehouse or her music, but I did like some of her material and because I was so familiar with her success and talent as a musician it made the rise and fall all the more tragic and painful especially when I saw her creative process and the way she was treated by certain individuals close to her.

5. Straight Outta Compton

straight-outta-compton-pstr08

This was not a film I was expecting to like as much as I did, I’ve seen a few music biographies in the past, but only a few of them capture the spirit and drama of the real events, but luckily everyone was on-point and crafted a really compelling and fun film. Now obviously certain elements were left out or dramatised for the film, but at the end of the day the film was effect in display the highs and lows of NWA during the formation, success and disbandment with awesome performances from O’Shea Jackson, Jr., Corey Hawkins and Jason Mitchell.

4. Mission Impossible – Rogue Nation

mission_impossible5-poster

This is the fifth entry in Mission Impossible franchise and most films by this point would have sucked terribly, however Rogue Nation is to some the best entry in the series and for good reason. The stunts and action sequences were of the highest quality and were shot really well, we got to see Ethan Hunt in his most difficult position yet physically and mentally, but we also got more from the returning characters Benji and Brandt, but also got some interesting new characters in the form of the sexy/badass Ilsa Faust (Rebecca Ferguson) and Alan Hunley (Alec Baldwin). This new entry definitely improved on a few of the elements from the last entry, but I feel like there’s a sense of fun and style missing from Ghost Protocol, but besides that I really enjoyed this film.

3. Ex Machina

ex-machina-2015-poster01

In a way this may still be my favourite film of the year. Back in January I expected this film to be a good watch, but I had no idea that I’d enjoy Ex Machina as much as I did. I love a good thriller and with the sci-fi elements incorporated it was just so compelling to watch. The themes, tone and style of this film made every scene feel relevant, interesting, tense and not boring at all. I adore the main performances Domhnall Gleeson, Alicia Vikander and Oscar Isaac as each of their characters were engaging and different.

2. Kingsman the Secret Service

kingsman-poster07

I had a lot of hope for this film considering that it was another comic book adapted film from Matthew Vaughn, but it ended up being far better than I had hoped. Kingsman was the most exciting, humourous and violent material I’ve seen in the spy genre for a while. This film felt classically infused with the best codes and conventions of the spy/action genre paying homage and referencing films that have come before. From the snappy dialogue to the crazy violent action sequences, this film has everything, and I loved the performances from Colin Firth, Taron Egerton, Samuel L. Jackson, Mark Strong and Sofia Boutella.

1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens

star-wars-the-force-awakens-ep7_poster

It feels like a cheat to have The Force Awakens as my number one considering it’s issues and similarities to A New Hope, but fuck it, no other film has made me feel a sense of delight quite like this new Star Wars film. Of all the films year, none have given me that feeling of joy and magic that this one had. Part of that was the nostalgia factor that this film provides so well with the return of classic characters, music and use of practical effects, but in addition to that J.J. Abrams has brought a new sense energy with the pacing, humour, visual style and cinematography. All of the new characters, Rey, Finn, Poe, BB-8 and Kylo Ren had interesting new personalities, motivations and chemistry, and there were also great returns for Han Solo, Leia and few others. The best aspects of the film for me was the new lightsaber duels, the drama between certain characters and the sense of magic and connections to the Original Trilogy.

Conclusion

In the end 2015 was a pretty good year for films, sure there was plenty of disappoints films, but there was also a great deal of surprises and certain films that delivered their promise of awesomeness. With 2016 around the corner we’ve got the likes of Batman V Superman, Captain America: Civil War, Star Wars: Rogue One, Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, The Jungle Book and Suicide Squad being some of the heavy hitters, it’ll be fun to see how next year pans out.

So how do you feel about my list and are any of your favourites on here? Also do you feel like some of these entries are wrong? And in general what were you favourite films of 2015? Whatever your thoughts are be sure to leave them below and I’ll see ya on the next blog post, laters! 😀

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2015 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “My Top 10 Films of 2015

  1. Cosmoflips

    December 30, 2015 at 11:31 pm

    Hey man! Some really great picks here, nice to see you’re still on that Star Wars hype, haha. I skipped Black Mass due to the poor reviews it received, but I’ll have to give it a whirl seeing how much you enjoyed it. I still have to get around to the latest Mission Impossible as well and I also didn’t see Amy or Straight Outta Compton. Great to see Ex Machina up so high though and it’s comforting to see Sicario missed out on your list, too. I’m pretty sure that film is great, but I guess I went in with the wrong expectations and it went way over my head. I’ll have to watch it again sometime. Nice to see Kingsman and The Martian up there, too! Four of your favourites are also in my top ten. Keep the reviews rolling in 2016! (╯°□°)╯

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 5, 2016 at 7:30 pm

      Yo dude, great to see ya drop by. And you know me, Star Wars is in my blood XD. As for Black Mass I heard the opposite, not amazing reviews, but good reviews and much better than Bridge of Spies which I thought would be the superior film. I would definitely recommend Amy for the emotional value and Mission Impossible because of the awesome action stuff.

      As for Ex Machina, that film was too good to not be in my top 10 and Sicario, I had hoped for more and got a totally different experience, for me the best part was near the end when Benicio del Toro’s character took center stage.

      Dude, we’re gonna have to have a discussion about some of these films though. I’ll have to holla at ya soon and sort out a time for a discussion.

       
  2. sidekickreviews

    December 31, 2015 at 2:24 am

    Great picks, quite a few of these I’ll have to catch up on like Amy, The Martian and Straight Outta Compton. I like seeing The Kingsman make it on your list, a super fun movie that could have been forgotten because it was released very early in the year. I always think about doing my own list but I have quite a few movies I want to watch first. But for sure, Star Wars Force Awakens would be right up there, l think the new characters are great and it was non-stop enjoyment! 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 5, 2016 at 7:16 pm

      Hey man! Sorry for the late reply but yeah I would recommend those films highly as they are really good especially in the emotional department. And yeah Kingsman was a film that never left my top 5 after I saw it last year, but for sure Star Wars just had my heart and entertained on the highest level. Thanks for commenting yo! 😀

       
  3. alexraphael

    January 1, 2016 at 9:25 pm

    Inside Out was amazing, but it’s a solid list really. I got so nostalgic with Star Wars.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      January 5, 2016 at 7:09 pm

      Thanks a lot yo, I did like Inside Out and it would have been on the list a few months back, but a few more films beat it out.

       
  4. lauren

    January 5, 2016 at 8:08 pm

    Great list, I really enjoyed Star Wars, Ant-Man and Mad Max!

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
