RSS

TRAILER OVERLOAD! QUICK REVIEWS FOR 2016 FILMS!

16 Dec

If you’ve been on the internet during the week you would have seen that there’s been  a lot of film trailers released online within a short space of each other. Since Star Wars: The Force Awakens is the main focus at the moment, I guess all other studios are pretty to get the focus back on their trailers instead haha. So the trailers that have come out so far are: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows, X-Men: Apocalypse, The Legend of Tarzan, Independence Day Resurgence, Star Trek Beyond and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I was going to do individual trailer reviews, but honestly things got too busy and I’m too lazy, so I’m gonna compile them all into one blog post. So here we go!

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

While most people hated it, the 2014 edition of TMNT was surprisingly better than I expected, when April O’Neil wasn’t the focus and we had time with the Turtles, the film was really fun and kind of badass. So while I wasn’t super hyped for the sequel, I was definitely interested in the sequel and I’m surprised by how much I liked it. While I hate the choice of music and don’t care for Megan Fox again, I do love Stephen Amell as Casey Jones, the Turtles and their classic van looks awesome and even the Foot Clan look like ninjas instead of Call of Duty soldiers. Though the main winning aspect of this trailer was the appearance of Bebop and Rocksteady, since the since TMNT film in the 90’s fans have wanted a live-action version of these villains and they’re finally here and they look great. Now the film does look very CG heavy and the visual effects don’t look as polished or realistic as they did before, but I assume they’ll look better when the film’s released.

X-Men: Apocalypse

It’s been almost a week since this trailer came out and I have to say that the trailer was a bit underwhelming. Unlike when the first Days of Future Past‘s trailer came out which had me excited and intrigued, this trailer was good but not great. That’s not to say that there wasn’t great things in the trailer, I do love Storm’s new look, the information about Apocalypse being known by different names and being the basis for some of the stories in the Bible was great and James McAvoy seems to be bringing his A-game again as young professor X as his acting in that one seen when he’s in Cerebro with the helmet on was fabulous, oh and he’s bald at the end of the trailer! Cool! However, other than that this film looks like it could be dramatic and personal for the key members of the X-Men, but there’s nothing that screams “awesome” to me, plus I’m not keen on the fact that Jennifer Lawrence’s Mystique isn’t blue in any of the footage so far and I’m concerned that the mutants controlled by Apocalypse will end up like Hawkeye in The Avengers; being stuck under control for a good portion of the film and not bring able to be themselves until the end of the film. But I guess we’ll see what happens.

The Legend of Tarzan

Right now this film looks interesting, the look of Tarzan is cool and I like way the film looks in terms of the use of CGI and lighting. But everything else looks kind of generic and forgettable. That final shot of Tarzan and that ape going up against each other in slow motion, that felt like something that belongs in a standard action film  and reminds me of that specific fight been Vin Diesel and Jason Statham in Furious 7. For me Disney’s Tarzan is the only version that exists, though I’m willing to give this a chance because I like the cast and director, but I’m not expecting anything special.

Independence Day Resurgence

For me Independence Day was one of my favourite films from the 90’s. It was a disaster film with a goof cast of characters, funny humour, all the crazy action and cool set pieces too. It didn’t need a sequel, but hell since loads of film films have to become franchises, we are returning to this world with Resurgence and I have to say that I’m intrigued. Basically it looks like Earth has had a time of peace and have ungraded their technology, but the aliens who got beat in the past have come back with bigger ships and more destructive power. I like the look of the film, it’s incredibly detailed, large in scope and it’s fun to see Jeff Goldblum and Bill Pullman back, but I’m not quite sure how Liam Hemsworth fits into this and I do miss Will Smith as his chemistry with Goldblum was one of my favourite aspects of the old film, but it’s not a massive loss for me. This film could either be fun or it could suck ass, but here’s hoping that the film’s fun and gives a logical explanation for the alien’s return and why we should care.

Star Trek Beyond

Ah Star Trek, I’m concerned for you now. Now Unlike a lot of hardcore Star Trek fans, I’ve liked the new JJ Abrams films (especially the first one), before 2009, Star Trek was dead to the world beyond its fan base and the new film brought that sci-fi franchise back into the public consciousness and while I think that film laid pretty good groundwork for a sequel, however Into Darkness didn’t exactly take the franchise in the direction I was hoping and made some mistakes with its marketing and plot elements that prevented it from being the sequel that I wanted. So now we have Beyond, directed by Justin Lin of the Fast and Furious franchise (films 3-6) and it really shows. While this film looks consistent with the previous one’s in terms of look, feel and style, honestly I wasn’t keen on this trailer. Why’s the Enterprise destroyed? What’s with all these crazy action set pieces and hand-to-hand combat? Now I know these new films are a far cry from the original source material and that was part of the reason I liked the first film, but I thought it would eventually evolve into the classic style of the show with sci-fi elements, however, its like the people behind this franchise have decided to drop that part altogether and just for action set in space. And it doesn’t help that “Sabotage” by Beastie Boys is being played over the trailer like a music video, I love the song and I understand the significance from the first film, but it is not the way you sell Star Trek to people especially the fans. I will say that I like the look of new aliens and that moment when Bones and Spock are surrounded by enemies, but then Spock disappears and leaves Bones alone, that was awesome. I hope the films is good but right now this trailer isn’t doing it for me.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

The teaser trailer for this, was alright. Besides hearing a familiar spell in the beginning and hearing about some creatures that have apparently escaped, there was much that was worth noting for me. Seems pretty mysterious and interesting, but the trailer didn’t show me anything that made the film seem very enticing, but it was only a teaser and I’m sure future trailers will be better.

Okay and that’s everything done, as you can see I had more to say about certain trailers than others, but in any case I just had to talk about these trailers as they are films I’ll probably watch in 2016. So what did you think of any or all of these trailers? Please be sure to comment below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2015 in Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “TRAILER OVERLOAD! QUICK REVIEWS FOR 2016 FILMS!

  1. sidekickreviews

    December 17, 2015 at 2:54 am

    Nice post, I’m able to catch up on trailers in one spot and get your thoughts on them! 😀 I wasn’t that interested in another Independence Day movie but watching this trailers gives me some hope that it might not be that bad. TMNT II trailers looks like fun, makes me consider watching the first one movie (but I didn’t hear the greatest things about it so I haven’t yet). Although you can’t really tell from the trailer I think Fantastic Beasts will be popular, anything JK Rowling related still has a big audience, I’m intrigued for sure. Later!

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
