RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #14

20 Nov

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to post #14 on What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. Since I’m strapped for time today and am also starting Jessica Jones on Netflix, I’ll be skipping my usual reviews of Arrow, Castle, South Park and Moonbeam City. With that out of the way let’s talk about some TV! 😀 Oh and careful for minor spoilers below…

Blindspot (All the episodes so far)

Blindspot-poster

I wasn’t actually going to talk about this show again on this blog mainly because I had fallen behind for the last three to four weeks and was playing catch up, but since I caught up on all the episodes as of yesterday I really wanted to talk about Blindspot and how I feel about the quality of the show at the moment. To put it simply, I really like this show. After the first episode I was worried that the whole “tattoo helps to find a clue to bigger event” thing would get old, but thankfully there has been a great deal of variety in the amount of cases that have been tackled in each week in relation to Jane Doe’s tattoos, but in addition to that the mysteries behind Jane’s past are slowly coming to light and while only a fraction of information has been given away, it is enough to keep you invested. Beyond Jane, the rest of the characters are great too, I noticed by episode 7 or 8 that a lot of the main characters outside of Jane and Kurt Weller had gotten a decent amount of character development and were starting become fully formed characters especially when it comes to Agent Tasha Zapata, Patterson and Bethany Mayfair. I’ve really liked the last two episodes “Persecute Envoys” and “Authentic Flirt” as given us the most dramatic, character developed and intriguing stories so far. I’m totally getting invested in this show and I’m excited to see where it goes.

The Flash “Gorilla Warfare”

flash-poster-2

This week’s episode of The Flash was another solid episode as it dealt with Barry’s recovery after his battle with Zoom, reintroduced Gorilla Grodd and gave us some interesting tidbits of things to come in the Arrow/Flash universe. This episode primarily focused on Barry’s recovery from a crippled man in a wheelchair to the speedster that we know and love, it was all about him feeling shame and not having the courage to rise again after his defeat at the hands of Zoom. And I liked how Barry had to learn to not only accept help, but also beat his own mental demons to become a hero again, and having Barry’s father, Henry return was great as it allowed them to have some great bonding and character building moments. As for Grodd, I have to say I liked his return and his motivation, this episode illustrated that he wasn’t only getting smarter, but also that he was pretty strong and swift on his feet, he also had a soft side for Caitlin and wanted an army of smart apes like himself too. While he’s not the most captivating of villains I’m liking how’s he’s been handled so far and I think the CGI for him looks pretty good considering that it’s for TV and not to hate on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. but Grodd looked much better than Lash. Oh and I gotta give a quick mention to Cisco, that dude was finally going on the date with Kendra the barista girl, but he vibes her, sees a winged figure and totally leaves her outside the cinema with no proper explanation, bad move dude. But then he returns to her in the most badass way ever with flowers, chocolate and a boom box playing Peter Gabriel. 🙂 It looks like these two are starting something special even with Cisco’s second vision of Kendra as Hawkgirl I believe.

Star Wars Rebels (Season 2) “Blood Sisters”

SWR-Season_2_Second_Poster

I found this episode to be serviceable but not nearly as engaging as I had hoped. I was really looking forward to a Sabine-centric episode  considering that not much about her past has been revealed up until this point, and while there were certainly some great moments where we learnt about her history via Ketsu Onyo, everything else that took place in the episode wasn’t all that interesting to me. When I saw Ketsu Onyo in the season 2 trailer I thought she’d be another antagonist from Sabine’s past who could be a recurring villain and gave our heroes some problems going ahead, and while Ketsu was cool and intimidating at first, unfortunately the show decided that in a dangerous spot with the Empire they should bury the past and become friends again. I would have bought that if it had happened a few more episodes down the line, I feel like that was because it is a show aimed at children, I just would have prefered that Ketsu help Sabine because of their history but then say something like “This was a one-time thing, we’re on different paths.” You know something to show that she was still antagonistic towards Sabine but had a glimmer of affection for her. Outside of that I didn’t like how Ezra was handled, now I know only a small amount of time has transpired since season 1, but he seemed to be maturing this season, but here he seemed really immature and annoying.

Well that’s what I’ve been watching. So have you seen or plan to watch any of these shows? If you have any thoughts be sure to drop a comment below and let me know what TV shows you’re currently watching  too. Until next Friday people, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2015 in Life, Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
