RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #12

06 Nov

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to post #12 on What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. So after last week’s post being delayed to Sunday, we’re back on track with the regular Friday schedule. With that out of the way let’s talk about some TV! 😀 Oh and careful for minor spoilers below…

Grimm (Season 5) “The Grimm Identity”

grimm-season5-poster141012

All I can say is FINALLY! Grimm is one of my favourite TV shows and is the last of my ongoing shows to return to air. After season 4 ended I couldn’t wait to see the next season, but knowing back in May that I’ve had to wait until around November for the show’s return just hurt me mentally. But the wait’s over and this episode did not disappoint. We picked up right where season 4 left off and so much happened as questions got answered, but new dangers and challenges were presented. Firstly I have to say David Giuntoli as Nick Burkhardt, this guy always brings it, and in this episode I loved Nick as he was aggressive, reckless and unhinged, and rightfully so; both his mother and former lover are dead and then some shady people come along take Trubel away and drug Nick. After the guy wakes up, the house is clean and no one’s there and with Chavez as his only tie to all this madness he’s on a hunt for vengeance and answers. And while he didn’t quite get his answers, we did discover that Chavez wasn’t the main bad guy but that there was someone scarier at play. It was also great to see Monroe, Rosalee, Hank and Wu together again and seeing them try to process Nick’s news and actions, oh and Bud was hilariously annoying as usual, though the more interesting part was with Adalind finally giving birth to her and Nick’s son. After all the drama that nick endured, you could see the amount of mixed emotions in his face, but in the end he confirmed he’d be there for his child and maybe for Adalind too, oh and liked how she named the child after Nick’s mum Kelly. I just want to know who the new bad guys are and where Trubel is, I need my girl back yo!

Supergirl “Stronger Together”

Supergirl-TV-Show-Poster

This was another decent episode, and while some of my issues from the last episode are still present and my early concerns about the show are starting to show up, otherwise, Supergirl is making small steps in the right direction towards becoming a good superhero TV show. What this episode does get right is the concept of Kara starting off small and learning the basics of being a superhero, from having doing smaller tasks and learning from her boss Cat Grant about not jumping into big things without gradual experience to Kara getting taught in combat and experiencing the harsher lessons of being a superhero under the spotlight of the world. It was also cool to have James and Winn come together and form this team with Kara similar to the teams in Arrow and The Flash, also I enjoyed the use of Alex and Hank more so than last week and seeing Astra come out of the shadows and confront Kara was good too. My issues with the episode go back to the presentation and ongoing story. The visual effects during the flying sequences seem awkward and choppy hopping from being fast to super fast with no smooth transition in speed, the rule applies to the fight scenes it’s just a bit jarring. Oh and that fight between Kara and Astra, I feel like that could have been a handled better, the wire-based fight in the air was painful to watch, I know it’s network TV but I would have preferred that whole thing to be CGI because it would have allowed for more fancy acrobatics. I also feel like the constant references and call backs to Superman aren’t necessary and feel heavy-handed much like the first season of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., and I’m curious to see where this show will go in the future when it comes to more compelling villains and storylines as well.

The Flash “The Darkness and the Light”

flash-poster-2

This episode was a return to form for The Flash, last week was the first episode of season 2 that I wasn’t as keen on, but this week things were rectified as we got a very dramatic, layered and interesting story filled with character development and more mysteries being discovered. I really liked how Harrison Wells from Earth-2 was handled, he’s similar to the old Wells (Eobard), but he’s a lot more aggressive, blunt and as Cisco put it, a bit of dick. That being said he’s aware of his mistakes and is actively trying to rectify them by taking out the metahumans who are on Earth prime and he’s also trying to help Barry realise his full potential as the Flash. One other thing of note is that Wells has a daughter in Earth-2 and she’s being held captive by Zoom so I assume he’s here to help Barry get strong enough to take out Zoom which in turn will get his daughter back as well. This was also a big episode for Cisco as his powers were made known to his friends (unintentionally thanks to Wells) and I’m glad that happened because there’s only so long you can hold back these kinds of secrets. Seeing more of Jay Garrick was fun whether it be via flashback confronting Wells in Earth-2 or fighting Wells in present day, it’s always fun to see him around (besides when he and Caitlin snow are trying to form a relationship, I don’t care for that). Oh and finally Patty and Barry started this relationship of theirs, the blind date was odd but it did allow for some awesome Cisco dialogue which was hilarious.

Arrow (Season 4) “Haunted”

Arrow.S04-poster

So here’s the Arrow episode I’ve been waiting for, it’s the return of John Constantine (Matt Ryan) from the former NBC show, Constantine. And this episode was good but not early as great as last week’s, the story didn’t play out how I expected but I was satisfied. Matt Ryan hasn’t lost a step as Constantine, he’s still charming, charismatic, odd and rough around the edges, but damn it he’s still cool as hell and it was interesting to see through the flashbacks how he came into contact with Oliver and how in the present he used his magical abilities to restore Sara’s soul to her body. Though I have to say this episode really didn’t have as much as Constantine as I’d hoped and I was just waiting for the just to show up in the present, but he didn’t show up until last act which sucked! Beyond all the great stuff with Constantine, I enjoyed seeing Sara all crazy on the hunt for her killer, who in this case was Thea, also while I normally don’t care for Laurel and her whining when it comes to Oliver’s double standards about secrets, this time she had legit reasons for calling him out and it is true she’s not been treated as an equal. But I am glad that all the issues between her and Oliver and Thea are starting to be ironed out quickly and are not being dragged out for several episodes. And finally I’m really enjoying Neal McDonough as Damien Darhk, he’s so witty, engaging and sinister and McDonough seems like he’s really having fun with the role.

Star Wars Rebels (Season 2) “Brothers of the Broken Horn”

SWR-Season_2_Second_Poster

Brothers of the Broken Horn” was decent episode but is probably my least favourite so far. I’ve really been getting into the new story and characters that Rebels has been introducing with the old clones and new Inquisitors, but this episode sort of pushed that stuff aside for an Ezra-focused adventure where he and Chopper went off to help someone in need. While the episode as a whole wasn’t too captivating, it was good to further character development for Ezra as he not only questions whether he wants to be a Jedi or soldier, but it also allowed him to be heroic, tactical and show off his Jedi training with some nifty lightsaber moves and the use of the force. Oh and FINALLY he used the blaster part of his lightsaber, its like he’d forgotten that weapon had two functions until now. 😛 As for Hondo Ohnaka he was interesting character, on one hand I found him a little annoying and questionable in character, but on the other hand he was witty and funny especially in that scene when he was almost sucked into space and said “I’m rich!… I’m dead!” Best moment ever.

Well that’s what I’ve been watching. So have you seen or plan to watch any of these shows? If you have any thoughts be sure to drop a comment below and let me know what TV shows you’re currently watching  too. Until next Friday people, laters! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2015 in Life, Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What I’m Currently Watching #12

  1. lauren

    November 7, 2015 at 6:10 pm

    Went passed the Flash review as I haven’t seen that episode yet. I’m still not sure about Supergirl yet. I want to like it but it’s not quite all there yet, Hopefully it’s one of those shows that will find it’s feet in the first season like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D did.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      November 9, 2015 at 5:04 pm

      I hope you get to see The Flash soon as it was a good episode last week and yeah Supergirl, I think we’ll know it stands by the latter side of season 1.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
