RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #10

23 Oct

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to post #10 on What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. Because of a busy schedule I haven’t watched Gotham, Castle or Arrow this week so I’ll be skipping them and then talking about their follow-up episodes next week instead. With that out of the way let’s crack on, oh and careful for spoilers as we continue…

South Park (Season 19) “Safe Space”

SouthPark

After last week’s funky yet funny episode. Like before SP is continuing its continuity not only the last episode but also the start of the season with its focus on political correctness and current social issues that are real and relatable (I know how Randy felt when it comes to the charity stuff). The musical number in this episode was very strange yet fun, but what was great about it was the character of Reality and how he was actually a physical character in the real world, his comments about their poor use of money, how not everyone in the world is nice and being public on the internet was harsh but hilariously very spot on. Oh and the fact that he got hanged in the end was jokes. 😛 There were parts of this episode that really had me laughing, like when PC Principle shouted at that girl in the assembly or Steven Segal showed up or when Randy met with the Whole Foods man the second time and had to deal with the touchpad and hungry child cutout to get his change, that was some funny stuff. But seeing Butters suffer, that was painful but also hilarious. I knew he’d end up having to help Cartman, but seeing him run into the ground because of his social media filtering, I felt for the guy and then seeing mad, run naked through the school and jump out the window, that was amazing.

The Flash (Season 2) “Family of Rogues”

flash-poster-2

The Flash continues to be one the best shows on TV with its blend of action, drama, humour and great use of superhero codes and conventions. I really liked the story involving the Snarts, it was very interesting, compelling and really added layers to Leonard and Lisa. Having their father Lewis be not only the main brains of latest potential crime, but also be a merciless killer and the source of so much pain for his children made him a great antagonist and put both Lisa and Leonard in tough positions which created issues of trust and uneasy alliances between these siblings and Team Flash. I love Wentworth Miller in this role and he was great in this episode, his character got some great development which I think was foreshadowing for the Legends of Tomorrow. In addition the main story, I also enjoyed discovering the deal with Iris’ mother and why Joe hid that information from her, it led to a really emotional conversation between those two and Jesse L. Martin continues to show such skills when it comes to the dramatic material as Joe West. Outside that stuff I like how Patty Spivot’s developing especially with Barry, Cisco and Lisa’s moments alone together were nice (especially their parting with that kiss) and seeing Harrison Wells pop in from the stabilized portal was random and intriguing. I’m not sure if I like Caitlin’s feelings toward Jay, seems like there’s set up towards a potential pairing, and I don’t mind the flirting but it could be building towards more than that and even though Ronnie’s gone I’d prefer for her not to enter into a new relationship so quickly because: 1) It would seem like she’s easily forgotten the past. And 2) Not everyone has to hook up on this show, I like some people just remaining friends.

Moonbeam City “Glitzotrene : One Town’s Seduction”

Moonbeam_City

Glitzotrene : One Town’s Seduction” may be my favourite episode so far. While Moonbeam City has yet to have me laugh really hard, there’s a charm, randomness and sense of fun that keeps me coming back. This episode had a better use of the main characters and a plot that was totally ridiculous but also quite funny and felt like a more mature version of what Regular Show would come up with. I liked the introduction of Mayor Eo Jaxxon, his demeanour, personality, his tigers and dwarf bodyguard, and his lack of interest for the police department made him one of the best parts of the episode. The best aspect of this episode was how Dazzle, Chrysalis, Pizzaz and Rad came together to deal with a big situation, it was nice to have them all on the same page, Dazzle was his usual silly self, having Rad pretend to be a villain created a lot of crazy situations, but Pizzaz was the most improved as she wasn’t just moaning and being a bitch, but contributed to planning and was quite fun to watch. The only issues I had with the episode was with Pizzaz’s fate with the Major and that in the end Dazzle and his friends’ actions still didn’t affect the fire department, as cool as Sizzle Conrad and his showboating crew were, they were assholes and I just wanted to see them knocked off their high horse or something.

Star Wars Rebels (Season 2) “Relics of the Old Republic”

SWR-Season_2_Second_Poster

So the first episode of season two was pretty good and “Relics of the Old Republic” continued Rebels’ clean streak. Seeing this bond between Ezra, Kanan, Zeb, Sabine and the old Clone Troopers was fun, there was a natural connection starting to form between them, and while Kanan still had trust issues it was great to see him finally start to accept the fact that in times of peril, the right moral choices had to be made. Also I didn’t expect Agent Kallus to actively go into battle and hunt our heroes down, I’ve always liked this guy and seeing him in the thick of the action only made me like him more. I have to mention how good this show looks, the animation is solid and fluid, but it is the art direction that I really admire with the vivid colours and balance between realism and it’s 3D CGI style diverse. Oh and finally we got to see one of the new Inquisitors and this guy doesn’t look to friendly, I fear for what he’ll do to the Ghost team later down the line.

Well that’s what I’ve been watching. So have you seen or plan to watch any of these shows? If you have any thoughts be sure to drop a comment below and let me know what TV shows you’re currently watching  too. Until next time people, laters! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2015 in Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What I’m Currently Watching #10

  1. lauren

    October 26, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    I’m loving The Flash, it’s such a fun show and really emotional too. I like Patty Spivot and think her and Barry would make a cute couple but she’ll probably get pushed aside for Iris. I’m also liking the devlopment of Cisco’s powers.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      October 27, 2015 at 8:47 pm

      Ah Lauren, I didn’t know you were watching The Flash, you hvae good taste in TV I see haha. But in all seriousness you’re totally right about this show’s sense of humour and drama and like you I’d hope for Barry and Patty to be a thing but considering how important Iris is, I don’t think Patty will last as Barry’s love interest. Also I’m liking Cisco’s powers too and I’m curious to see how that grows in future episodes.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
