RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #8.5

17 Oct

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to post #8.5 on What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. I’ve already done the 8th edition for this week, but since there were a good few more shows to talk about I thought I’d split this week’s reviews in half to save on amount of long text I’d end up writing in one post. With that out of the way let’s crack on, oh and careful for minor spoilers as we continue…

South Park (Season 19) “You’re Not Yelping”

SouthPark

This week’s South Park episode was good, but not as funny last week. I thought the food critic angle was interesting and having characters like Kyle’s dad or that police officer believing that their reviews mattered the most was great, but my favourite parts were when Cartman made the speech to all the Yelpers outside his house and then they went on a rampage and destroyed Whistlin’ Willy’s and “beheaded” Willy which was frigging hilarious. What wasn’t as funny was Cartman and his need to feel important and taking jabs at David, it wasn’t all that funny and was quite annoying. Listen, I love Cartman, he’s the best douchebag on TV but even I grow tired of his antics at times and this episode highlighted that for sure. That song at the end was amazing, but just seeing people eat the food after what the chef and waiters had done to their food, fucking hell that was so cringey. Sure they deserved it and if was bloody impressive how Kyle, David, the government and restaurant people came up with this solution to the food critic situation.

Moonbeam City “Quest for Aquatica”

Moonbeam_City

Moonbeam City continues to be funny and random as hell especially with this week’s episode which had that crazy introduction on shooting and stabbing and then cutting to Dazzle’s birthday party, but things got weirder when Dazzle decided to hang around with a dolphin which he got enamored with for the majority of the episode. Patrick Warburton’s guest appearance was great as Chrysalis’ father and seeing Rad suffer near the end of the episode stuck in Russia in that whale machine was nice. My issue now with this show is that I’m getting less and less interested in it as the jokes are decent at best and there’s nothing truly amazing about the show that makes me want to see immediately or recommend it to friends, I’m still just watching for the visual style and Rob Lowe.

Black Jesus (Season 1, Episodes 1-4)

black-jesus-poster

This was a show that was in IGN’s fall season of stuff to watch, but I didn’t know that it was for season 2, so I’ve recently watched the first few episodes and I’m liking it so far. It is an interesting take on Jesus, religion and black humour. The show is incredibly silly and random, but that’s what makes it so good. Gerald “Slink” Johnson as Jesus is what makes the show work, at first you question whether this guy is the real deal as he’s so relaxed and has many bad habits, when he shows off his abilities and recalls stuff from the bible you see that he’s the real deal. Also Charlie Murphy and John Witherspoon are amazing in the show as well, I’ve seen them in quite a fw other films and TV shows and whenever you have them around you are normally in for some funny stuff and that is definitely the case here. One thin that surprised me about this show is that even though it’s a comedy there is an ongoing story, and while that’s nothing new for shows in this genre, I did assume everything would be episodic, so I’m curious to see where these characters and stories go in the future.

Arrow (Season 4) “The Candidate”

Arrow.S04-poster

Last week Arrow returned and while I didn’t enjoy the entire episode, it was a step in the right direction. And this week’s episode was another good episode, but I think I liked it better mainly because there wasn’t any Olicity lovey dovey stuff haha. It was interesting to see Lonnie Machin, his abilities and his ties to Damien Darhk and make sure that Jessica Danforth’s bid for mayor was disrupted. Also appreciated Felicity feeling more like her old self with her witty humour, cute and smart demeanour, whether she’s asking for a codename or dealing with issues at Palmertech. The flashbacks are starting to go somewhere a little, but again its still not very meaningful at the moment. I liked how the show finally addressed Thea’s aggression and crazy need to almost kill people, sure we’ve heard talk about the Lazarus Pit and it’s effects on people, but with Thea it seems to become an issue very sporadically. But now it’s happening more often to the point where she set a dude on fire! Even though I’ve not been to fussed about Thea’s dangerous tendencies and Oliver’s continuous lectures about her almost killing people, seeing her beat up Lonnie and set him ablaze was brutal and badass. I am curious to see what we will discover when Laurel and Thea go back to Nanda Parbat, but I think I’m more interested in seeing Sara’s nasty decomposing body being brought back (which is probably how she comes back in Legends of Tomorrow right?).

Well that’s what I’ve been watching. So have you seen or plan to watch any of these shows? If you have any thoughts be sure to drop a comment below and let me know what TV shows you’re currently watching  too. Until next time people, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 17, 2015 in Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
