RSS

QUICK REVIEW: The Intern

08 Oct

Howdy ladies and gents, time for a new film review and today I’ll be talking about The Intern. While the concept of the film looked interesting from the trailers at the same time there were a lot of plot points I could see playing out in familiar and generic ways, so I wasn’t gonna lose sleep if I missed it. However since I had time to kill after running some errands I decided to give this film a watch and now I’m ready to pass judgement.

20150929060100!The_Intern_Poster

The plot came be summed up as the following:

“70-year-old widower Ben Whittaker has discovered that retirement isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Seizing an opportunity to get back in the game, he becomes a senior intern at an online fashion site, founded and run by Jules Ostin.”

The plot I found to be familiar, yet humourous and quite heartwarming too. I like stories about characters who are unlucky couples but go and end up becoming good friends and that element of the film is handled well. There is also a heist sequence in that was quite humourous and was one of the best parts of the film. I will say that the story is a little predictable at points, has issues with balancing the humour with some of the emotional moments and gets a little too overly dramatic like watching a TV soap opera. Also while I understand this was part of the story, the way the film kept emphasizing how old Ben was and how modern times are with technology, it felt a little overbearing and unnecessary at times. And I can’t say I was fully satisfied with the ending either.

the-intern-image03

As for the cast they were all great. Robert De Niro was great as Ben Whittaker, I have never seen such an optimistic, righteous, smart and awesome individual, he’s so perfect that he’s almost too great to be a real human being haha. But in all seriousness I loved his character’s positivity and De Niro did such a great job in this role and this may be my favourite role from him in recent years. As for Anne Hathaway she was charming, pretty and engaging as Jules Ostin. While Jules’ drama in her personal and work life was a little by-the-numbers, the reason I cared was thanks to Hathaway’s performance which was lovely, fun and heartfelt. Together De Niro and Hathaway have great chemistry, are believable in their roles and the film was saved thanks to their performances. It is also a delight to see Rene Russo in anything these days and she was delightful as Fiona, Anders Holm was also good as Matt, I also loved JoJo Kushner as Paige because she was cute and sassy and Christina Scherer as Becky did well too. Then there’s the awesome trio Jason, Davis and Lewis played by Adam DeVine, Zack Pearlman and Jason Orley, they were all quite interesting and quirky and had good chemistry together and with De Niro, I will say that Pearlman was my favourite. Oh and Linda Lavin as Patty, she was great, such a funny character. Also the film score by Theodore Shapiro was lovely, it had a whimsical and light-hearted feel. It just made me want to smile and there was a feel-good factor that made you just want to play it on a sunny day while walking.

the-intern-image01

To conclude I found The Intern to be quite delightful and fun and much better than I expected. Thanks two lead performances from Anne Hathaway and Robert De Niro are it makes up for the film’s failings.

Rating: 7/10

So have you seen The Intern and if so what did you think of it? Be sure to comment below and I’ll see ya on the next review.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2015 in Film Reviews, Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
