RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #6

02 Oct

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to post #6 on What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. Since I’ve recently done my review on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., I’ll probably just be excluding the show those from this series of posts because I’ll be reviewing it weekly like season 1. With that out of the way let’s go!

South Park (Season 19) “The City Part of Town”

SouthPark

I really liked this episode. In “The City Part of Town“, South Park got slammed by Jimmy Fallon on TV so the film of town decide that they need Whole Foods in order to be respected in the eyes of the media and the rest of the US, so they upgrade the town and do a lot of crazy things to obtain a higher class status. While this episode wasn’t laugh-out-loud material, there were plenty of laughs to be found, from those really fancy adverts for the new area of South Park to the City Wok man to the line about Craig being a homosexual. I thought the humour was great, the references to political correctness and modernising of cities/towns were smart and true to life and again I’m just loving how this show is slowing changing its basic formula and seems to be evolving with the times with the material its producing so far. The concept of Sodo Sopa, its many upgrades, those hilariously smooth narrated ads and the fact that these new establishments were built around Kenny’s house was jokes.

Castle (Season 8) “XX”

castle_season8_poster

This week’s episode of Castle was pretty interesting. Last week we saw Beckett on the run and here we got to answers at to what she was up to through flashbacks and why she was doing it. As usual there’s mystery, intrigue, humour and drama. It got pretty dense with the amount of information relating to previous seasons when it comes to Senator William Bracket, who he was involved with and how they tie into Kate Beckett’s current situation. I loved the drama, tension and emotion that came with this episode whether it be from Beckett’s speech at the police station, the moments between Alexis and Castle or the backstory involving Beckett and Vikram. There was a lot tension and drama between Castle and Beckett considering the trust issues between them here and what happened with Castle’s disappearance last season, some tough choices were made it broke my heart to see these two in such a difficult situation where the truth just couldn’t be relieved. As usual the performances from all of the cast were great especially with Stana Katic and Nathan Fillion, also it was nice to see Jack Coleman again as Bracken.

Gotham (Season 2) “Rise of the Villains: Knock Knock”

gotham-season2-poster

So in Gotham‘s second episode things got intriguing, but not anything special. It was good to see Jerome and his crazy friends on the run, and some drama between Bruce and Alfred. The focus of this episode was on the people that escapes Arkham Asylum, how they’re running amuck and how Jim Gordon has to take them down. If there was any weaknesses of this episode it was in the humour, the campiness when it comes to the villain escapees (I’m just not a fan of the tone), also the fact that Harvey bullock is whipped and domesticated thanks to his new fiance sucks and the whole Edward Nigma inside voices thing, that’s getting old and uninteresting.

Fear The Walking Dead (Episodes 1-4)

Fear-the-Walking-Dead-poster

Man this show, wow. I’m enjoying it to a degree, but good god does it frustrate me. I’m only four episodes in and a good number of the characters I want to kick in the head in the hope of knocking some sense into them. From the time the first episode dropped I wasn’t totally into it, but I thought, “This a prequel to a much better show, the people behind the show are showing the genesis of the virus and how the apocalypse started. Give it time, I’m sure things will get better.” Oh, that is not really the case with FTWD. Don’t get me wrong, there are certain aspects that have improved like some of the story elements and characters. However what bugs me about this show is how annoying and dumb these characters are. Several times the main characters make rookie mistakes or do things that are completely idiotic like: 1) Trying to talk to a recently turned zombie was their friend. 2) Withholding important information from each other. 3) Basically not applying logic to dangerous situations. If you think I’m exaggerating read this article which perfectly illustrates my issues  with the show in a fair and smart way: http://www.inquisitr.com/2435203/fear-the-walking-dead-are-the-characters-too-dumb/ I think another major issue relates to the fact that fan of the TWD already know what’s up. They know about Walkers, what they are, their weaknesses, how to fend them off and what comes later down the line beyond this show. We’ve been spoilt, so when these people have no clue you can’t help but moan or shout at the screen telling them what to do. Anyway I’ll continue to watch because I hope it gets better but I’m not holding my breath though.

Well that’s what I’ve been watching. So have you seen or plan to watch any of these shows? If you have any thoughts be sure to drop a comment below and let me know what TV shows you’re currently watching  too. Until next time people, laters! 😀

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2015 in Life, Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “What I’m Currently Watching #6

  1. Mavrik

    October 2, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    I am a major fan of Gotham. I can’t believe South Park is on its 19th season!

     
  2. sidekickreviews

    October 5, 2015 at 3:05 am

    Not anything special is a pretty good way to describe Gotham 2×2. I mean I liked it and it’s an improvement but there’s still a ways to go. Edward Nigma’s double personality probably would have worked better with Two Face. His character is so isolated he has to do scenes with himself haha. I think your analysis of Fear The Walking Dead is bang on. I’m going to watch the finale tonight, let’s hope it ends on a strong note. 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      October 5, 2015 at 3:35 pm

      Yeah, that Gotham, I guess it still has time to grow, but for now its just alright. And I totally agree with you about the Two Face thing, when I started seeing the two sides of Edward I was thinking “Isn’t that Two Face’s thing?”Oh and is the FTWD already over? I didn’t know it was only six episodes, well I guess I should finish it and see what’s up. Cheers for commenting man. 🙂

       
  3. vinnieh

    October 5, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    I’ve heard many great things about Castle.

     
  4. Jay

    October 5, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    I don’t keep up with TV, but have been watching The Walking Dead (one season at a time, I would rather binge-watch than wait patiently a week at a time!) and will probably give Fear The Walking Dead a chance once it’s got a season behind it too.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      October 7, 2015 at 11:58 pm

      I understand that logic, I started watching TWD back when there was only 3 seasons and binging through them was a lot of fun and much better than watching it weekly. I think your best bet would be to do the same for FTWD. Thanks for commenting yo.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
