RSS

My Quick Thoughts On Star Wars Rebels

03 Sep

Howdy people of the internet, how are you all? With Star Wars Rebels set to return to TV next month with its second season I thought I’d just give you my thoughts on the show since I have been watching since the beginning but haven’t had the chance to review anything that I’ve watched.

SWR-Season_2_Second_Poster

Initially I was hesitant to watch Rebels, I mean I had a lot of concerns. While the show had some interesting ideas and was focused on the most respected side of the Star Wars films (the Original Trilogy), the show still had a questionable art style, a kid friendly approach and a batch of new characters that I wasn’t sure I could get attached to. But Rebels, once it found its feet got better and become a show I wanted to watch out of choice rather than just being something to watch because of the “Star Wars” label.

SWRebelStill6

From the time I started watching with Spark of Rebellion I knew that this was a totally different beast from The Clone Wars series. For me TCW just had stories, characters and a tone I wasn’t too interested in, plus it didn’t help that the art and animation just didn’t agree with me either. And while there are a few similarities when it comes to the visual presentation, Rebels just sported a much sleeker and polished look. The art was a little more detailed, use of colour and lighting was more noticeable especially when it comes to locations and action sequences, and while the fluidity of 3D animation looked a little questionable at times, for the most part it was more impressive than TCW. But beyond the visuals, Rebels just had the spirit of the film embedded into the stories and characters more so than the former show, and it had more interesting scenarios to discover. I will say that I didn’t love this show at first, I liked it, but around halfway through the show really started tapping into the Star Wars mythology, but also started developing its own stories too and got a little more serious in tone too. By the time I’d watched The Siege of Lothal I knew shit was getting real, that film really raised the stakes and drama, and having Darth Vader appear and show why he’s a force not to be messed with was awesome.

SWRebelStill1 Gathering_Forces_30

But what would a show be without its characters? Luckily Rebels has a great bunch of main characters but also has some cool secondary characters and utilizes other famous faces in guest appears too. When it comes to the main protagonists you have Ezra, Kanan, Sabine, Hera, Zeb and Chopper, they’re a group of individuals who are totally different, but at the end of the day they’re family. The reason they work is as a team is because they are fleshed out characters, either having episodes dedicated themselves or having interactions that build them up. This especially the case with Sabine, Kanan and Ezra. Ezra especially was a character I didn’t think I’d like but he grows, gets better and becomes someone you want to root for. I love characters like the Inquisitor, Agent Kallus and Minister Maketh Tua who are essentially the bad guys, but they are portrayed in such a way where you’re just as curious to see what they’re up to, how they fit into the grand scheme of things and whether they’ll succeed or fail. Also inclusion of characters like Senator Bail Organa, Lando Calrissian and Grand Moff Willhuff Tarkin are great too.

Captain_Rex_and_the_Rebels

To conclude Star Wars Rebels a show I like a lot, it started out little okay but it got better and now I’m really looking forward to seeing how this show progresses with man characters and how it will continue to tie into the film universe as well.

So have you seen Star Wars Rebels and if so what do you think of it? Be sure to comment below and let me know and I’ll see ya on the next blog post, laters! 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 3, 2015 in Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “My Quick Thoughts On Star Wars Rebels

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
