RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #3

31 Aug

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to post #3 on What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. With that out of the way let’s go!

Z Nation

z-nation

This is a show I literally watched because my sister told me about the ridiculous stuff that went down in the first episode, a few weeks later and I’m still watching. Z Nation is absurd, silly and crazy and yet that’s what makes it so fun. I’m sort of over zombies these days in terms of their ‘cool’ factor, but there are certain TV shows that keep me coming back (The Walking Dead and iZombie primarily) and I can add this show to the list. I’m only around 6 or 7 episodes in but so far it’s fun. I would like to actually finish the show quicker but since I’m watching it weekly on TV with my family, it’ll take ages before I finish it haha.

Blue Mountain State

Layout 1

I’m honestly not sure why I’m still watching this show. I’ve started season 2 and it’s more or less the same as before except with a few new faces and the loss of some previous ones. I’m only a few episodes in and so far the show is has moments when it feels like I’m actually enjoying it with the jokes and changes, but it is still not a very good show. I mean it’s tolerable, but all the issues that plagued the show before are still present like the raunchy humour and unlikable characters. It is the kind of show that’s made for people that enjoy a unique brand of humour, but since I’ve started this madness unless it pisses me off I’ll probably finish it haha.

Buffy The Vampire Slayer

buffy-season7

So I’m FINALLY getting around the final season of Buffy. I’ve only seen six episodes and I’m having fun so far. I won’t say too much here because I’ve got a review on the back-burner, but I will say that this season is very interesting. There’s a lot of change but also nostalgia, certain aspects of previous seasons are coming to pass now and I’m finding the journey of Buffy and the rest of the main characters very dramatic, emotional and fun. I can tell that things are gonna get pretty crazy later on and I’m prepared for the worst. πŸ˜›

House of Cards

House_of_Cards_Season_1_Poster

Last time I did my blog post related to House of Cards I’d just started, well this morning I just finished it and I have to say so far so good. With it being one of the most talked about TV shows of the last two years its nice to finally get to see what the hype was about. I won’t go into too much detail primarily because I may do a review of the first season in a separate post later in the week, but I will say that it was good, but not as amazing as I’d hoped. There’s certain things I loved, some stories and characters that were really compelling and awesome, but then there were a few issues I took with specific plot points and characters as well. But that’s all I’ll say for now. I’m super curious to see how season 2 pans out.

So that’s what I’ve been watching, if you have any thoughts on anything that I’ve been watching be sure to drop a comment below and let me know, oh and do be sure to let me know what TV shows you’re watching at the moment too. Until next time, this is me signing out. Laters! πŸ˜€

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2015 in Life, Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “What I’m Currently Watching #3

  1. Touka

    August 31, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    Hey man! Nice to see you’re enjoying House of Cards. It is over-hyped in some areas, but I think most are just so captivated by Kevin Spacey that they overlook it (myself included). We definitely gotta talk about the Peter Russo storyline at some point; it’s one of my favourites. Curious to see your thoughts of episode one of season two, as well. That episode is off the rails.

    I recently finished both seasons of Peaky Blinders and damn, it’s sooooo good! It’s set in the 1920s but has a completely modern soundtrack, which I think you especially will appreciate — a lot of Jack White in there. If you ever want a break from American TV, you should check it out.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      September 2, 2015 at 2:37 pm

      Sup dogg! Yeah I was getting into that blitz mode with season 1 with all the crazy stuff that went down. I’ll be starting season 2 asap.

      Oh you and that Peaky Blinders show, sounds like it’ll be interesting. I’ll put it on the list haha.

       
  2. sidekickreviews

    September 1, 2015 at 3:28 am

    Hello there! Absurd, silly and crazy is the perfect way to describe Z Nation. It’s a guilty pleasure and I went through the first season pretty quickly on Netflix.

    The first several episodes of House of Cards took me a while to get through, then the rest of the first season I finished up fast. With all the Emmy noms I thought it would be amazing but I agree it wasn’t as good as I hoped. I think season 2 is worth watching but there are still problems.

    When you get around to watching the rest of S5 of Buffy I’ll definitely be interested in your review, if you write it.

    Currently I finished Banshee Season 1, I think you would like it. A good amount of action and the lead character likes to fight through all his problems haha.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      September 2, 2015 at 2:32 pm

      Hey dude! πŸ™‚ I’m currently watching it on TV so I don’t know how long it’ll be before I finally finish it. As for House of Cards I can agree with you for sure, I’m curious to see how the next two seasons pan out.

      Oh and when it comes to Buffy did you mean S7? Because I’ve reviewed S5 a while back and I’m currently watching S7 just to clarify haha. And Banshee, I wasn’t sure if it was for me from some of the TV spots I saw, but since I trust your judgement I’ll give it a watch at some point. πŸ˜€

       
      • sidekickreviews

        September 5, 2015 at 3:16 am

        Oh yeah I mean S7. I actually started rewatching the first few eps of S7. πŸ˜€

         

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
