RSS

My Thoughts on the First Image of Michael Fassbender in Assassin’s Creed

27 Aug

So Assassin’s Creed, it feels like the talk of this film being adapted into live-action has been going on forever, however after various setbacks and talk, this film is finally going into production and has a pretty solid cast. But we’ve yet to see what Michael Fassbender would look like in the popular assassin attire, but today an image dropped online and feel the need to talk about it.

So here’s some information on the film and the image below from ComicBookMovie:

After being in development for many years due to minor setbacks, the Assassin’s Creed movie is finally moving forward and is all set to commence principal photography on Monday, August 31. And now Yahoo has even released our first look at the big-screen video game adaptation which features leading man Michael Fassbender as Callum Lynch, an original character. Instead of retelling stories from the games, the film will apparently bring all new characters to that world, per Yahoo:

Callum Lynch (Michael Fassbender) discovers he is a descendant of the secret Assassins society through unlocked genetic memories that allow him to relive the adventures of his ancestor, Aguilar, in 15th Century Spain. After gaining incredible knowledge and skills he’s poised to take on the oppressive Knights Templar in the present day.

mf-assassinscreed

So let’s talk about that image above first. Okay, looking at this objectively or as a person who is not well-versed in the Assassin’s Creed series, they may find this first image of Fassbender pretty cool. I mean the costume is pretty badass, is really detailed and looks similar to the original. But then there’s the only side of the coin, if you’re a hardcore fan your first impressions will probably be one of disgust. Fassbender doesn’t look like Altair, Ezio, Conor, Edward or Arno and the costume doesn’t match any of theirs either, and so far on a few sites I’ve seen most fans dismiss this image completely and think that the film is doomed indefinitely. As for me I’m not a hardcore AC fan but I have followed the series from what my friend has shown me and what I’ve researched over the years, so when I saw this image I had a good look stare. And my main impression is: Nice. I mean Fassbender looks a little slim in the costume when compared to the assassins in the games, but overall I like the pose, the costume and the placement of the hidden blades. This is one of those “inspired by” costumes that feels like an amalgamation of what’s come before but also like its crafted something of its own.

As for the story, considering how long the series has gone on for and the amount of mythology that now exists, this film would have plenty of material to draw from. However from the description it would seem like the filmmakers have decided to create and original story and characters, but are keeping the core elements of the game intact. I was hoping for a more direct adaptation of the games with the Italian era of Altair and/or Ezio, but I guess we’re going to Spain instead. I just hope the story is good.

In the end I’m down for this film, I’ve always been curious and costume makes me a little more interested in the film. Though I am curious to see how the fans take to it online and whether they’ll warm up to the film or if they’ll tear it apart. So people what do you think of the first image of Fassbender in Assassin’s Creed? Please be sure to comment below and I’ll see ya on the next blog post, laters! 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 27, 2015 in Films, Media, Video Games

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “My Thoughts on the First Image of Michael Fassbender in Assassin’s Creed

  1. lauren

    August 27, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    I don’t know much about Assassin’s Creed so I thought Fassbender looked good.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
