RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #2

10 Aug

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to post #2 on What I’m Currently Watching where I give you a tiny update on what TV-based stuff I’m watching and give mini reviews/impressions on them. With that out of the way let’s go!

Dragon Ball Super

dragonball-super-95Bp3M4

So this show I’ve technically been watching since the beginning, but I haven’t had the chance to put my thoughts out there yet plus I wanted to give it a few episodes before I gave an impression. So far there is an upside and downside to this show: The upside is that we have Dragon Ball on TV with new episodes for the first time since the 90’s and it is just nice to get reacquainted with these classic characters, but also to have a new DB cartoon with the fresh art and animation that’s come with the recent specials, films and video game intros. The downside is that for everyone that watched Battle of Gods last year, this show basically looks like a rehash of that except with slightly different scenarios leading up to the main key aspects of the film. I guess its nice that to have an anime just so it’ll give more time to the other DBZ cast member who aren’t Goku and Vegeta, but still, I had hoped for something a little better. Oh and is it me but did episode 4 look really off with the random thickness of the lines for characters changing continuously? That was very off-putting. And I have recognised some fans complaints about the animation in episode 5 as it was very loose, lacked detailed and look quite lazy by today’s standards of anime. That being said, I have enjoyed what I’ve seen, the show’s quite fun and I’m curious to see how the show will develop in the future.

Blue Mountain State

Layout 1

For some reason I continued to watch this show and I have to say that after finishing the first season I kind of like it. Now this comedy is nowhere near as funny as other comedies I’ve seen I wouldn’t put on the same level as Community, Parks and Rec or It’s Always Sunny, but it does have its quirks. After the initial 4 or 5 episodes which are kind of crappy, the show starts to find its rhythm and gets decent. Some of the characters start becoming less annoying and more humourous, the stories and scenarios, while still ridiculous, juvenile and vulgar, actually have some entertainment value. AND there is some character development for at least two of the main characters which makes just that bit more credible and likeable than it was in the beginning. By the time you reach the final 3 or so episodes it feels like this show is actually good enough to see what happens in the future.

The IT Crowd

The IT Crowd Series 2

Yeah, this is the good stuff. The IT Crowd is one of my all-time favourite TV shows and every once in a while I come back to it for some quick entertainment. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before but I don’t re-watch many live-action TV shows often, at least when it comes to specific episodes/seasons. That mainly comes into play with cartoons. For me watching random episodes of Regular Show, Dragon Ball Z, Rugrats or Dexter’s Laboratory is normal, but for live-action TV I rarely ever do it unless it’s Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares or Come Dine With Me haha. But The IT Crowd is the exception, I can jump into that show at any point and have a good time and that’s what I did when I started watching the latter half of season 2 and the start of the third. The show’s still hilarious, random and so in-sync with my brand of humour. “Moss and the German” is one of my favourite episodes just because the nature of Moss and Roy’s relationship, Roy’s constant need to watch a film and the fact that there’s a German guy that wants to eat someone. It’s bloody absurd and it is brilliant.

House of Cards

House_of_Cards_Season_1_Poster

So this week I finally started season 1 of this super popular Netflix show and so far so good. I’m only two episodes in, but I’m really liking what I’m seeing so far. What I’m getting from this show is that it is about nature of politics, what happens in the public eye and what goes on behind the scenes. There is a lot of choices to be made, questionable alliances being formed, two-faced characters and a lot of grey areas when it comes to moral and ethical decisions. The tone is dark, aggressive and sometimes unsettling, but that is part of what this show so interesting. The show centers on Kevin Spacey’s character Francis “Frank” Underwood, but then there’s his wife Claire Underwood, journalist Zoe Barnes and Peter Russo, a U.S. Congressman from Pennsylvania, a host of other people who have their own lives and issues to contend with, but what makes this show really interesting is how they all relate back to Frank. Whether he’s in competition or alliance with said people or just doesn’t like them, it all leads back to this man in a really interesting way.

So that’s what I’ve been watching, if you have any thoughts on anything that I’ve been watching be sure to drop a comment below and let me know, oh and do be sure to let me know what TV shows you’re watching at the moment too. Until next time, this is me signing out. Laters! πŸ˜€

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2015 in Life, Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What I’m Currently Watching #2

  1. sidekickreviews

    August 12, 2015 at 2:02 am

    Hello my friend. Ahh, nice to read about what you’ve been watching. πŸ˜€ Your glowing review on The IT Crowd makes me very curious about it. There’s not that many British shows that I follow right now, aside from Sherlock. But if it’s on Netflix I’ll be sure to take a look and give it a try.

    So far I’m in the middle of Season 3 of House Of Cards. I just noticed that this show features Lex Luthor, Sue Storm and Yellowjacket haha.

    Right now I’m watching a show called Mr. Robot. I think you’ll like it, it’s a great drama/thriller set in the hacker culture.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      August 13, 2015 at 12:51 pm

      Hey man thanks for dropping by. The IT Crowd is literally one of the only forms of British TV I watch on the regular and can never get bored of. It is a great sitcom with such a colourful cast and absurdly random situations that go down in each episode. I’d recommend it very highly. I’m not sure if it’d be on Netflix because the US & UK version vary, over here it’s on Amazon Instant Video and 4OD.

      Haha I love how there’s all these actors and actresses just lurking around on TV that have been in big budget superhero films/TV shows now.

      Mr. Robot eh? Sounds interesting, I’ll put it on my watch list, cheers! πŸ˜€

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
