RSS

What I’m Currently Watching #1

24 Jul

Howdy ladies and gents, time for an update blog post of sorts relating to TV which was inspired by my blogging buddy over at Sidekick Reviews. As some of you may know, I do love me some good TV and in the last two years the amount that I’ve watched has gotten bigger and bigger, and since I don’t get to blog about every show that I watch, I thought this may be a good alternative. This will probably be a new series of posts just updating you as to what I’m watching to fill out the space when I’m not doing any other major blogging. Will all that out of the way let’s go!

iZombie

izombie-poster

So I’ve only gotten four episodes into this show but so far I’m really digging it. I was curious about the show before it was released, but I wasn’t too hyped. But now I’m glad I gave it a chance as I’m really enjoying what I’m seeing. I love the premise, there’s a good cast of characters who are likeable and engaging (especially Rose McIver as Olivia “Liv” Moore and Malcolm Goodwin as Clive Babineaux) and the there’s also a good balance between balance and humour. The storylines that have taken place so far are fun, interesting and some of the major plot points that I thought would have been dragged out, have been tackled pretty early on in a swift yet unexpected way and I like it. I’m already excited to see season 2 and I haven’t even finished this one yet.

Vikings

Vikings-Season-1

This is a show I’ve been meaning to watch for almost 3 years now, but it’s just been pushed back constantly until now, ad so far it’s good but I’m not freaking out about it yet. I’ve only seen 3 out of the 9 episode from first season and while I like it, I have yet to become fully invested in the characters and storyline. There are some really interesting elements that come from the ties to norse mythology, the visual aesthetic of the world and the ideals and morals of some of the main characters, but the show is also a little slow, lacking in the fun department and I’m not sure where the show is going yet. I’m not hating on the show and I’m sure it gets better but so far I’m not overwhelmed, I’m just whelmed.

Hotel Babylon

hotel-babylon-series-3-poster

Recently I decided that after a few months of waiting, it was time to jump back into the world of Hotel Babylon with season 3. So far I’m halfway through the season and I’m having fun because of the nostalgia factor (considering that I haven’t seen these episode since 2008), but it is also fun seeing some of the stories unfold in a fresh kind of way because I’ve forgotten so much from season 3 haha. I will say that this season definitely doesn’t feel as well-written as the last with some random and uninteresting scenarios and characters that aren’t as engaging as before. It is hard to explain without watching it for yourself but there is a dip in quality for sure. I’m working on my review for this season at the moment so expect it soon. πŸ™‚

Blue Mountain State

Layout 1

So this is a show I think I remember was advertised on TV a while back (a few years probably) and it looked kind of cool and after I finished my binge of It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia I needed another comedy show to hold me over, and this, well, I’m not sure what to make of it. One thing I can say that I love is the intro theme, that song is pretty kick ass. πŸ™‚ But other than that the show is another one of those raunchy comedies that thinks it’s funnier then it actually is with the university setting, crude jokes, sex and all that stuff and while some of it warrants a chuckle or a smile I have yet to laugh out loud. I do find something oddly engaging about some of the main characters just to see where they go.

Black Books

black-books-poster

Black Books is a show I watched casually a good few years back during the peak years of The IT Crowd and I found it pretty funny mainly because of Bill Bailey, but I never fully committed to show until now. So I’ve watched the first season and it’s been pretty good so far. This definitely has that Graham Linehan style and humour to is as the main characters are really bizarre and odd, but are funny and end up in so many situations. I’m really liking Dylan Moran in this show and its also interesting to see some of these earlier appearances of British actors lurking around like Martin Freeman, Peter Serafinowicz, Colin McFarlane and Nick Frost to name a few.

So that’s what I’ve been watching, if you have any thoughts on anything that I’ve been watching be sure to drop a comment below and let me know, oh and do be sure to let me know what TV shows you’re watching at the moment too. Until next time, this is me signing out. Laters! πŸ˜€

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2015 in Life, Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “What I’m Currently Watching #1

  1. Anna (Film Grimoire)

    July 25, 2015 at 10:04 am

    Love Black Books! Reminds me of my time managing a bookshop, I was a total Bernard Black and it was the best. Have always wanted to watch Vikings as well, maybe that’s the next one to watch, but I won’t keep my expectations too high!

     
  2. Chris (Cosmoflips)

    July 26, 2015 at 3:39 pm

    Hey man! I’ve watched the first season of Vikings and feel pretty much the same as you. I like it, it’s an interesting show, but so far it hasn’t wowed me and I don’t feel attached to the characters much. After I finished the first I wasn’t especially eager to begin the second, but I’ll get around to it eventually. Now, we must address the elephant in the room. Where is House of Cards! When you said you were finally starting it a couple of months ago I was like “Yes! We need to discuss this!” but alas… You should definitely check it out, perhaps now even more so than ever because you seemed to enjoy Corey Stoll in Ant-Man (he’s amazing in House of Cards). Either way, let me know when you start it – it will be a momentous occasion!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      July 27, 2015 at 4:26 pm

      Hi dude, so you still live? πŸ˜„ I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels that way about Vikings, it is certainly interesting but not really as good as I had been lead to believe by my friends and the internet. And come on man, House of Cards is still on the back burner, I’ve had so much to watch over the last few months, I’ll probably start it in August. Mate when I start it and get my extra fix of Stoll I’ll be sure to put it online and give you a call when I’m in the zone. πŸ˜€

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
