RSS

QUICK IMPRESSIONS: Marvel’s Daredevil (NO SPOILERS)

11 Apr

Howdy ladies and gents, today I wanted to come and do a quick impressions blog post on Marvel’s Daredevil, the new superhero TV show that hit Netflix yesterday. While I do have a review on the way, my thoughts honestly couldn’t be contained, so I just HAD to give you impressions on the show so far. The reason I say so far is because I’ve only seen 7 episodes so far. But I can easily say, without a doubt that this is easily the best comic book TV show right now and is one of the most awesome comic book adaptations that’s existed. Fact.

marvel-daredevil-15-second-official-teaser-1000x600

So what makes this show so good? Well, how about EVERYTHING! Okay, so that’s not a proper answer, but it is hard to fault a show that’s done so much right so far. Daredevil from the trailers promised a lot, it was said to be a gritty, adult crime drama set in the roughest area in New York which would be part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe but would be a very different from what we’ve seen so far… And it is. This show is everything I hoped it would be and then some, it dark, violent, action-packed and full of drama and at the center of it all you have characters that you care about, that you are engaged with and you want to see what happens next.

I think the show’s biggest strength lies in its consistency, to keep giving you episodes that are engaging, fun, dramatic and add more layers to the stories, characters and overall world. From the start the kicks things off with and bang and it just keeps going, the episodes move at a swift pace, but not too quickly, there is plenty of time for character building, story and action. What it comes down to is pacing, it is good and it never feels too slow or fast, and with each episode things get more and more interesting. The first two episodes are especially impressive as it establishes the world, tone and characters and it does so in such a fantastic way, I was hooked after the first 15 or so minutes, that’s how good this show is.

daredevil75 daredevil06

It also helps that the visual presentation is excellent with such beautiful cinematography and wonderfully choreographed fight sequences that are cool, slick but not over-the-top for the characters involved. Oh and the violence it is delightfully vivid and on display in a wonderful way, there is blood, breaking bones and other gruesome stuff I cannot get into because of spoilers but suffice to say it is some of the most aggressive stuff you’ll ever see in the MCU. And then there’s the characters who are great too. Charlie Cox does a really good job as the title character, he’s very charming, funny and understandable, but also aggressive and badass. Oh and Vincent D’Onofrio as Kingpin, bloody hell, I knew he’d be great, but this was much better than I had ever anticipated. D’Onofrio brings a level class, style, imposing menace to the proceedings, but he is also very different and human than what we’ve seen other adaptations, and D’Onofrio is such a beast! All I have to say is episode 4, those who have seen know what I’m talking about. Deborah Ann Woll brings a lot of fun and emotion as Karen Page, Rosario Dawson is also very good as Claire Temple, Elden Henson is also very funny and interesting as Foggy Nelson and Scott Glenn is such a badass and brutal man as Stick.

So is the show perfect? Well that remains to be seen, I haven’t really come across anything I didn’t like or hated so far. I will admit that episode 3 was not as interesting when compared to the first two episodes, but that isn’t because the episode was bad, it was still very good, it was just because some of the character and story elements weren’t as interesting for me personally. But that’s the only nitpick I have.

marvels-daredevil-bigposter

In the end Marvel’s Daredevil is pretty badass so far, it has surpassed so many of expectations and proves that when you have the right team together and want to make a badass TV show, dreams do come true. The show is just so fun, aggressive, violent and dramatic and I’m addicted, I just can’t wait to see the rest. The show has really shown me just how far we’ve come in the world of comic book adaptations and really makes me excited for where TV could take other superheroes that might not make it to the big screen. Oh and this show so far has proved that Punisher needs his own TV show, MARVEL, MAKE IT HAPPEN!

So have you seen Marvel’s Daredevil and is so what do you think of it? Please leave your comments below and I’ll see ya on the next blog post, laters. 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2015 in Media, Reviews, Television, TV Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “QUICK IMPRESSIONS: Marvel’s Daredevil (NO SPOILERS)

  1. sidekickreviews

    April 12, 2015 at 4:32 am

    Hello there! So far I’m on episode 4 and can’t get enough of it. The tone is a great mix of grittiness, seriousness but with some amusing moments and hard hitting violence. I like how the episodes flow into one another and don’t rush the story. I also like how the producers took advantage of it not being on a network show, Daredevil feels like a HBO show or other quality cable channel. Good points on Vincent D’Onofrio, I can’t wait to see more of him in future episodes. Deborah Ann Woll is given some good material to work with too, I’m interested to see where her story goes.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      April 12, 2015 at 4:41 pm

      Howdy! And I hear that, this is one of those shows where once you start the addiction kicks in fast. I forgot to mention how the episodes bleed into each other in such a slick and seemless manner, so cool, though it does makes me wonder how much time takes place over the course of this season. Is it a few days or weeks? I have to look it up. Oh and like you said this is pretty much a HBO edition of a Marvel property and it is SO good!

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
