RSS

The Perception of Growing Up In Modern Times

06 Apr

Howdy ladies and gents, time for another personal blog post and the subject matter is one that’s been dwelling on my mind recently; the way young people perceive growing in modern times.

Getting-older

For some the concept of growing up scares them, and for most young people these days (especially teenagers) any age beyond 21 is terrible.

So why is growing up such a big deal to people of the younger persuasion? Well I believe it has to do with the fact that when you’re young the world doesn’t move so fast, you have less stress, you’re not concerned about the harsh aspects of life and generally are free to do as you please (within reason). But once those adult digits come in you have to take on more responsibilities, you can’t be reckless, you have to become more sensible, your free time gets cut and there’s less time for fun, your bad decisions can’t be blamed on your youth and some fear with older age that you become boring, institutionalised and conform to the constant wheel of life.And while some of that is true, at the same time some of it taken way out of proportion. I blame the way society works today, it is hard to place blame on something specifically, but I feel like most people in the public eye are young, whether they are reality stars, people on Twitter and Instagram, or in the film and music industry, it feels like they are on display more than the older ones. And while no one has said it outright, it feels like different forms of media have instilled this thought process into minds of the young, that being older than your teens or early 20’s is bad.

birthday-is-coming-i-am-getting-older

I see this all the time, especially while I was out in Sheffield and it pissed me off because most of these comments were coming from people younger than me and I was only 22/23 at the time.

I remember when I was in my late teens and the concept of being 30 filled people with dread, nowadays 25 is the new 30 and it is sad to know that today’s youth consider growing up to be such a bad thing, and in some ways it’s quite stupid. But mostly immature. Sure, getting to the age of 21 means you’re technically an adult and to me 25 is the age when you are a full-on adult and there is no turning back when it comes to your teenage youth, however I do believe that you don’t have to give up your immaturity completely, you can be a bit silly and fun, but you, be a little me more sensible. I recently turned 25 and I have been anticipating it for a while, when it hit last Monday it was mental but also quite relaxed, probably the most easy age transition in years despite the significance of the age number. I don’t feel old, it is only when I think back to school or get reminded of my age by someone 4-5 years younger than me that I feel older. That being said, I’ve always had an older head on my shoulders, since teenage life I have felt like I had an older head on my shoulders. I always looked to the future, considered myself a little wise in certain subjects in life and after leaving school, seeing school children just bugged me because of their loud and immature aspects.

futurama-fry-not-sure-if-just-getting-older-and-bitter-or-if-this-generation-is-really-as-dumb-as-it-seems

Yeah that was me just after I left college, and that mindset still exists til this day.

It sounds lame to say but life is what you make it and if you want a fun life beyond your teenage years then frigging sort it out. Life doesn’t end at 25, it actually continues, I mean me and millions of other people are proof of that. Growing up is fun and while some of your innocence, freedom and fun time does decrease by a bit, that shouldn’t deter you from experiencing life as an older individual.

Thanks for reading and if you have any thoughts on the matter please drop them in the comments below, and today I will leave you with this funny image which I think may be me later on in life, sort of. πŸ˜€

grow-and-take-your-life-as-your-own-1024x690

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2015 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Perception of Growing Up In Modern Times

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    April 8, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    I’m 22 today. Yay!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      April 8, 2015 at 11:08 pm

      For reals? Then happy birthday fella, hope you’ve had a good one yo! πŸ˜€

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
