RSS

My Top 4 Characters For Super Smash Bros. 4!

06 Apr

Howdy ladies and gents, in the last Nintendo Direct, there was an announcement that the public could now submit pitches for characters to be included in the current iteration of Super Smash Bros. for Wii U & 3DS. Naturally this sent the fans into a happy frenzy, and while there have been numerous suggestions, some good (Shovel Knight) and some unrealistic (Goku), I just thought I would give my top 4 suggestions for characters who should be added to the game. Now bare in mind this is just my opinion, but I do believe that these characters above all others should be considered.

So without further ado let’s do it!

Bomberman

2470325-bomberman

Even though it was very hard for me to think of any specific characters that I considered to be “essential” to this new Smash Bros. game, at the same time I had to think of someone unique, fun, familiar with Nintendo and part of an older franchise, and Bomberman came to mind almost immediately. In fact he was the first character for me to suggest online and this is what I wrote in the 500-character description box:

Even though he primarily uses bombs, it would make for an interesting ranged character. His bombs could be thrown, planted, timed or stuck on enemies. If you look at games like Bomberman Hero, 64, Generations and Jetters, the character uses different types of bombs, abilities and aid-based characters (charaboms) to help him advance.

Back in the 1990’s/early 2000’s he was a fairly popular character with a substantial fan base and I feel like if he was included in this game it would give him some more notoriety and help the franchise return to the public eye (like what happened with Mega Man).

I stick by those words 100%, the Bomberman series is one that I really liked as a child and still enjoyed playing the games today. I feel gutted for old Bomberman, he hasn’t had a new game in years and has been forgotten by time for sure. But Smash Bros is the perfect place to resurrect the character and the game series. If characters like Duck Hunt Duo can get a place in the game, then surely someone cooler like Bomberman deserves a chance.

Rayman

rayman_smash_bros_leak_3

This was actually my first choice before Bomberman. In a way it is a no-brainer. Rayman is a very popular character these days, he’s been around for a long time and he’s been associated with Nintendo through their games too. Then add on top of that he was a made into a fake DLC character online a little while ago and got a model from Ubisoft to turn the character into a trophy in SSB4. It seems like fans and fate what this to happen. And if you look at Rayman as a character traditionally and more recently he has moveset that is just perfect for Smash Bros., I just want it to happen so much.

Princess Daisy

princess-daisy

Poor Princess Daisy, since Melee, some fans had hoped that she would make an appearance as a playable character, but unfortunately she was skipped in Brawl and then in SSB4 Princess Rosalina, a character who’s been in the Mario universe a much shorter time than Daisy, found her way in. And while it understandable why Rosalina would be a playable character over Daisy, it is a bit ridiculous that Daisy has been ignored for so long. While Daisy isn’t a significant character in the main Mario games, she does have a fan base and has been in every spin-off game since Mario Tennis on N64. And while she doesn’t really have much significance besides being a playable character in spin-off games, I feel like her tomboy-ish attitude could influence a less girly and more aggressive moveset. Plus, if clone characters like Falco, Lucina, Wolf, Lucas and Dr. Mario can exist, then room can be made for her.

Isaac

Gs-isaac

This character seems like another that is just crying to be done. I’ve seen in a lot of comment sections and numerous forums that people want Isaac from Golden Sun in SSB4 and I’d be inclined to agree. I liked him as an assist trophy in Brawl, but I believe that as a character with his abilities in the Golden Sun games, that he could be great and would make for a very versatile character. I feel like Isaac would left himself well to Robin’s play style where it would be a combination of magic and physical attacks, but make it a little more unique.

So there are my suggestions. Sure I would like to see Solid Snake come back or get to see characters like Proto Man, Zero, Viewtiful Joe and Midna make an appearance as new characters, however I know my suggestions don’t mean nothing until it is made official. But I hope that at least one of my choices makes the cut.

So what did you think of my choices? Also what characters would you like to see in the new game? Please be sure to leave your thoughts in comments below. Until next time, laters! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2015 in Media, Video Games

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
