RSS

Films & TV: Watching Together Vs. Watching Alone

25 Mar

Howdy people of the internet, time for another opinionated blog post and today I’m going to tackle watching films and TV and what it is like to do it together or alone, and in addition to that I’ll be talking about the pros and cons of each and the general perception of both.

together-vs-alone

Now this is not a new conversation topic, this is a subject that has been debated for a while especially when it comes to watching films in the cinema. I mean for some people watching films and TV shows with other people is like an event and they love the atmosphere of having others around them, but then there are others who like to be alone when it comes to their viewing experience because it allows for silence and concentration on what they are viewing.

My Experience When It Comes To Films

For me I’m primarily a solo viewer. I can remember back in my teenage years when the concept of watching a film in the cinema alone was looked down upon with many people saying that it was either weird to go to the cinema alone or sad because you probably had no friends. I mainly avoided it because I wasn’t sure if I had the guts to go into a place which was primarily for groups. That being said during 2007 to 2008 I missed out on a good few films because I was waiting on friends and family to see it with me, and after a while I had enough. So I don’t recall when I first went to the cinema on my own but I think it was when I watched Iron Man for the third time, but it wasn’t until I got my Cineworld Unlimited Card in the latter half of that year when I really started getting into watching films on my own. These days it is my primary way of watching films. It’s not like I don’t like watching films with people, however I do just like planning my day at the cinema, watching 2 or 3 films in one day and no having anyone talking to me or asking me questions or having to listen to adverts or trailers because I have my headphones on. I have a system in place os that my cinema experience is as good as possible. The same rules apply when I’m at home, if I’m on Netflix, Amazon Prime or getting something out on DVD then I do prefer to be on my own because I can view everything at my leisure.

With all that being said I do like watching films with people too and some genres do lend themselves better to being together than being alone. For me comedies aren’t nearly as fun unless you’re with friends and horror films for me aren’t nearly as bearable without someone with me to share my fear.

sharedfilms-lotr-avengers-starwars3

And with certain blockbusters like The Avengers, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy and Star Wars Episode 3 (yes even that film) would not have been as fun with my friends and family with me.

My Experience When It Comes To TV

When it comes to TV it is a different kind of experience. With the many different kinds of TV shows and channels that exist in the world today, you’re bound to find stuff you’ll want to watch with your family and friends and things you’ll want to watch alone. Some shows are designed for group viewing while others don’t require a large audience. Besides watching cartoons and certain soaps with my sister and mother, I’ve always watched TV shows on my own. After I went to university in 2011 and had no TV, I ended up watching a lot of TV online and that became my new addiction. I hadn’t watched that many shows before that point, so when I got recommended all of these US shows and then started watching them, I discovered this whole extra world of entertainment that I’d not seen before. Watching shows like Community, Fringe, Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad, Grimm and many others wouldn’t have been the same if I have had watched it with other people (with the exception of Breaking Bad because I watched that finale with my housemates). I certainly could not have watched those shows with my family because of the sex and violence, it would have been super awkward. The only shows I watched with my family is The 100 and The Walking Dead, but it is purely circumstantial and it’s annoying that we have to watch it as a unit, because if someone is not around, then we’ll have to wait and I HATE having to wait to watch something I love watching.

myunitv-fringe-community-bb-got-grimm

Watching these shows would not have been possible if I didn’t make the decision to binge them on my own.

The Pros and Cons Watching Together

Now I am going to list some of my pros and cons to watching films and TV shows together.

Pros:

  • Shared emotional experiences
  • Having an energetic atmosphere
  • Having something to talk about afterwards
  • Memories

Cons:

  • Having to deal with really talkative people
  • Having to plan ahead to make sure everyone’s schedule matches
  • If watching at home you may have to deal with breaks (toilet, food, etc.)

The Pros and Cons Watching Alone

Now I am going to list some of my pros and cons to watching films and TV shows together.

Pros:

  • You only have to worry about yourself when it comes to scheduling
  • You don’t have to deal with people chatting in your ear
  • You can watch whatever you want when you want

Cons:

  • No one to talk to
  • No one to share your thoughts and experiences with

Conclusion

So to conclude there are both good and bad elements to watching films and TV shows together and alone. I guess it really depends on who you are as an individual and how you choose to view things. For me I have been watching films on my own for almost 7 years and I don’t regret the decision and since TV shows have become part of my life during university, I’m used to watching them alone too. But I do look forward to specific films which I can share my viewing experiences with others.

So what do think of this? Are a person comfortable watching things on your own or do require a companion/group? Also what do you think of people who do go solo, do you think they’re sad/weird individuals or can you see the advantages of it? Please give me your thoughts below and I’ll see ya on the next post, laters!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 25, 2015 in Films, Life, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Films & TV: Watching Together Vs. Watching Alone

  1. The Brain in the Jar

    March 25, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    I’m a lone-watcher too. Watching things is pretty asocial. There’s no interaction. Movies demand concentration and focus which isn’t helped by interaction. I should start going to the cinema alone, too. I know it’d be weird, but going to the cinema alone seems so much fun – just you by yourself, taking your time. It’s especially useful if you want to write reviews

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
