RSS

SIMPLE REVIEW: Chappie

12 Mar

Howdy people of the internet, time for another SIMPLE REVIEW where I tell you my thoughts on a film in a more condensed manner then my standard reviews, and today I’ll be discussing Chappie. Now from the trailers I can’t say I was that excited for this, but in the weeks leading up to its release I started to get more intrigued. Then the reviews came out with the film being pretty much mixed to negative which didn’t give me much hope for the film, that being said I wanted to judge the film for myself, so I saw it and now I’m ready yo pass judgement.

chappie_xposter

I’m going to say this straight up, Chappie, it is a good watch, but it has problems. What the film does get right is its approach to artificial intelligence. AI is something we’ve seen in countless films before, but I will always welcome more if the story and character aspects are handled correctly and this film gets that aspect right. From the way Chappie comes into the world and tries to make sense of it, to the human fear and frustration that comes from a sentient robot, all of those elements come into play wonderfully with some very beautiful, sad, humourous and satisfying moments. With all that being said the story had issues like:

  • Not introducing the main character until a fair way into the film
  • The pacing was pretty slow at times
  • The film’s length felt like it could have been cut
  • The film echoed Neill Blomkamp’s previous work like District 9 and Elysium, but not in a good way
  • I feel like the plot wasted a lot of potential with the characters and a change direction could have made it a lot better

But other than those issues the film was fine. The actors were pretty good, for the most part. Sharlto Copley as Chappie did a good job providing the voice and motion capture, since the role was primarily voiced-based, Copley did well to use his voice to get us to emotionally connect with his character. Dev Patel as Deon Wilson was also good, however  feel like his character could have been much stronger in personality and would have been better if he had a bigger part to play earlier on. Hugh Jackman did well as Vincent Moore, even though his character is an idiot and creates all forms of havoc just for the sake of revenge and a little attention. Oh and Sigourney Weaver and Jose Pablo Cantillo was fine as Michelle Bradley and Yankie. Now let’s talk about the other cast members. At first I didn’t recognize Ninja and Yolandi from Die Antwood, but when I did I knew I’d be in for a questionable experience and man they were terrible verging on cartoon levels of overacting, their appearance in this film was so unnecessary. The best part of the film was the visual presentation, the film looked great, the CGI was awesome and very realistic while the cinematography was handled nicely. And while the soundtrack by Hans Zimmer was good, the music selection was terrible with such terrible sounds from Die Antwood, yuck.

chappie07 chappie-image02

Chappie was a very different film from what I anticipated, while some elements unfolded the way I expected, at the same time there were things took me completely by surprise. It was certainly better than some of the critics suggested, however I can not help but feel like this film could have been more if the story had gone in a different direction. I hope Neill Blomkamp can change things up in his next film because there is a sense of repetition starting to emerge.

Rating: 7/10

So have you seen Chappie and if so what did you think of it? Also how do you feel about Neill Blomkamp as a director, do you feel like he’s still got or do you think he’s starting to lose his touch? Whatever your thoughts be sure to leave them below and I’ll see ya on the next film review, laters! 😀

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2015 in Film Reviews, Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “SIMPLE REVIEW: Chappie

  1. myreelpov

    March 13, 2015 at 2:41 pm

    I haven’t seen this yet but would like to. Although I am not so keen after reading some of the reviews! Sounds like a mixed bag so no doubt I will enjoy it haha.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      March 13, 2015 at 3:27 pm

      It is worth watching for sure, it’s another one of those decieve films that depends on your personal experience. Give it a watch and then I’ll read your thoughts in your review yeah?

       
  2. Dan O.

    March 13, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    A very strange movie. But also a fun one, too, that hardly ever lost my attention. Nice review.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      March 13, 2015 at 3:22 pm

      Cheers dude, it was a strange film but one that is worth watching four sure.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
