RSS

SIMPLE REVIEW: Big Hero 6

01 Feb

Alrighty then ladies and gents, time for another simple review where I tell you in under 1000 words whether a film is worth watching or not and today I’m talking about Big Hero 6. I have waited AGES to see since it was released in November in the US and add on top of that the limited early release the film got in the UK around 2-3 weeks ago. But that aside, I saw the film on Friday and I’m ready to pass judgement.

big-hero-6-poster-02

The premise for the film can be described as the following:

The special bond that develops between plus-sized inflatable robot Baymax, and prodigy Hiro Hamada, who team up with a group of friends to form a band of high-tech heroes.

To put it simply, I really liked this film. What I appreciated about this film is its sense of fun. While watching the film I had a huge grin on my face and huge amount of satisfaction in my heart. The plot is a familiar one, but it has enough unique bells and whistles to stand on its own. This film deals with themes of revenge, family, the pain of loss and knowing when to do the right thing. Make no mistake, this is a superhero film with many nods and references to comic book codes and conventions and I really admired how self-aware the film was, it knew what it was and didn’t hide it. There is something for everyone with humour, heartfelt scenes and jokes that work for not only kids but adults as well.

The cast was also very good adding all the right levels of charisma and humour to their roles. Ryan Potter is very likeable as Hiro Hamada and the rest of his team consisting of Jamie Chung as GoGo Tomago, Damon Wayans, Jr. as Wasabi, Génesis Rodríguez as Honey Lemon ,and T. J. Miller as Fred provide ample amounts of fun and entertainment. I would say that Fred is my favourite though, he has some of the best moments in the film. But the real star of this film is Scott Adsit as Baymax (my man from 30 Rock). This inflatable healthcare robot is just the best, he is odd, cute, impracticable and even though he can’t emote, he has some of the most humourous and emotional scenes. Also James Cromwell was very good as Professor Robert Callaghan, Maya Rudolph adds her usual amount of charm as Aunt Cass and I really liked Daniel Henney as Tadashi Hamada and Alan Tudyk as Alistair Krei.

And when it comes to the presentation MY GOD is it good. Visually all Disney films tend to be pretty, however this film, this film is on another level. The art design, lighting, colours and animation are all of the highest quality and it is just a beautiful to watch. The animation is slick, swift and really well done especially in the action sequences with all the wide shots, dynamic camera angles and tracking shots. Also can I just add that the world of San Fansokyo is just gorgeous and might be one of the most gorgeous-looking places that Disney have brought to life through animation, I would love just to see more of that world continued in a another film or possibly a TV series. The soundtrack by Henry Jackman is excellent, I’ve always liked his film scores and in this film he brings the appropriate amount of style, epicness, and drama needed to elevate the scenes where music is required.

big-hero-6-team-disney

Overall Big Hero 6 is a very enjoyable film, the plot was good, the characters were great and the presentation was amazing. It is a film I highly recommend as it another great film from Disney and I would argue that it is their best work of recent times.

Rating: 8.5/10

So have you seen Big Hero 6 and if so what do you think of it? Please be sure to leave your thoughts in the comment section below. Until the next time, laters! 😀

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2015 in Film Reviews, Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “SIMPLE REVIEW: Big Hero 6

  1. Dan O.

    February 1, 2015 at 6:59 pm

    Baymax rules. That is all. Good review.

     
  2. sidekickreviews

    February 1, 2015 at 10:43 pm

    Hello there! Wow, I didn’t know the official UK release date for this wasn’t until just a couple of days ago. I enjoyed Big Hero 6 a lot! Such a good family friendly film to watch. I liked this way more than Wreck It Ralph. The movie did a good job at setting up the character and story, so that I cared about Baymax and thought so much of what he did was funny or loveable. Did you stay for the after credit scene? I didn’t know about that but luckily I found it on Youtube. Cool review!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      February 3, 2015 at 3:19 pm

      Yeah we get the short end of the stick sometimes lol. Indeed this film had a lot more enjoyable to offer than Wreck It Ralph (and this is coming from a huge video game fan). I think it was the characters and story which was stronger than previous Disney entires. The end credits scene I didn’t know about until my friend told me about it, totally gutted that I missed it, however, from what I read online it sounds amazing. Thanks for commenting as always.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
