RSS

Horrible Bosses 2 Quick Review

10 Dec

Good day to you ladies and gentlemen and welcome to a new film review. Now every once in a while you end up going to the cinema and seeing a film you didn’t expect to see, but when the choice is made by one of your best friends, you just have to go with it, and that’s what happened when I saw Horrible Bosses 2. As most people know on this blog, I’m not keen on comedies and I hadn’t seen the first film, but I thought I’d give it a try. So how did the film turn out? Read on and find out.

horrible-bosses-2-poster01

The premise for the film is as follows:

“Dale, Kurt and Nick decide to start their own business but things don’t go as planned because of a slick investor, prompting the trio to pull off a harebrained and misguided kidnapping scheme.”

I thought the plot was fine, however it was fairly convoluted, strange and kind of generic. The best parts of the film was when the main three men went into kidnapping mode as everything else didn’t have enough humour or unique traits to be engaging. When it comes to the humour, there were a few laughs here and there, but most of it was jokes that fell flat or physical humour was crude, lame or a bit offensive.

horrible-bosses-2-01

As for the cast they are good for the most part, though some are better than others. Jason Bateman as Nick Hendricks is probably the most tolerable of his trio, he is level-headed and has certain funny moments, but is a bit dull. And Charlie Day as Dale Arbus, bloody hell, that man, Day was good in Pacific Rim and frigging amazing in The Lego Movie, but in this film he was one of the most annoying people I have ever come across in a film, ever. He’s an idiot who does things without thinking and acts like a fool too often for it to be funny. Jason Sudeikis as Kurt Buckman, he’s alright, he looks a bit like Ed Helms and has some funny lines too. Together Bateman, Day and Sudeikis make a formidable group, though they remind me of a less interesting version of The Hangover guys, and at their worst they remind me of The Three Stooges. All their constant bickering can get tiring after a short amount of time.

Jennifer Aniston as Dr. Julia Harris was pretty decent. Now I have to say something, I normally despise Jennifer Aniston, I think that she’s overrated and overhyped when it come to humour and hotness too. That being said she was tolerable in this film and I would be lying if I didn’t find her attractive in this film. Jamie Foxx was pretty funny as Dean “Motherfucker” Jones, his dialogue was great and though his role was small it was used to good effect. Chris Pine was probably the best person in the film as Rex Hanson, Pine is really funny, has great comedic timing and his character is a douche but the man is so charismatic and cool that you can’t help but like him. another good performance comes from Christoph Waltz as Burt Hanson, this was a very different kind of performance I’ve seen from Waltz but he was pretty funny for sure. And finally Kevin Spacey was really awesome as David Harken and Jonathan Banks (who I love from Breaking Bad and Community) was pretty good as Detective Hatche.

In the end Horrible Bosses 2 wasn’t as bad I expected it to be. There were a few laughs to be had, the story was ridiculous and humourous and the cast did a good job. That being said, at the same time, the jokes weren’t always on-point, some of the cast members are really annoying and I felt like some of these plot elements were a bit cliché. I know a lot of people loved this film, but for me it was alright.

Rating: 5.5/10 (Better than expected)

So have you seen Horrible Bosses 2 and if so what did you think of it? Please leave your comments below and I’ll see you on the next review yo! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2014 in Film Reviews, Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Horrible Bosses 2 Quick Review

  1. Kieron Townend

    December 10, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    I didn’t think much of it really. I understand it’s a bit of mindless fun & fans of the original will no doubt like it, but I found it offensive mostly.

     
  2. CMrok93

    December 10, 2014 at 8:35 pm

    The cast was charming enough for me to make it work. Not much, but enough. Good review.

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
