RSS

Favourite Songs #34: Alien Ant Farm – Movies

14 Nov

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the 34th edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Today I’m going back to 2001 with one of my all-time favourite songs from my school days in form of “Movies” by Alien Ant Farm.

e4727

Oh fuck yes! This is one of my jams yo! Honestly, I have had a lot of favourite songs here and there that mean a lot to me, but this is one of the key jams! I first came across this song in my first year of secondary school and it instantly became one of my favourite songs ever.

Check out this awesome tune below:

Like I said before, I first came across this song in 2001 when I was in year 7 in secondary school and I remember watching the music video on TV and falling in love instantly not only with the video but also with music as well.

So what makes this song so awesome? Well allow me to explain. In the early 2000’s there was a lot of kick as music especially from the rock genre and I was bouncing along to the sounds of Limp Bizkit and Sum 41, but then Alien Ant Farm dropped on the scene with this song and forever changed my life with a sound that was unique and fun. From the time the song begins with that opening guitar riff, you know you’re in for a good time. But what really gets me is the lyrics and vocals that really gets me going. The lyrics in the song really resonate with me, even though they are a big vague and don’t always connect with each other, I feel like the song is about relationships and the struggles people face in life. There are certain lines I love like: “In summer we can taste the rain” and “In our short years, we come long way/To treat it bad, just to throw it away”. But its the chorus that always gets me hyped, “I want you to be free/Don’t worry about me/And just like the movies/We play out our last scene” When I’m singing along to those lyrics I feel a bit of happiness, sadness and a sense of hope of about life. In addition to that, Dryden Mitchell, who provides the vocals for the band, sing his heart out and he has such a great voice for singing too.

This song is pretty much part of my life and is one of the first rock songs I ever owned which was significant because I come from a household which was primarily R&B, hip-hop, soul, funk and jazz-based. This love for this song transitioned to a love for Alien Ant Farm’s first album ANThology and then to their following albums truANT and Up in the Attic. AAF have been one of my favourite bands since I was a teenager and while most people only remember them for “Movies” and their cover of Michael Jackson’s “Smooth Criminal“, this band have so much more great material that has gone unheard. The band are almost invisible from the world these days even though they still make music, I still go back to the past and remember the good days of AAF, plus while living in Sheffield, one of the local clubs I would go to would play “Movies” on rock nights, so I was always having a good time.

So to conclude “Movies” by Alien Ant Farm is a great rock song which pretty much needs to be hear and I highly recommend it. With its awesome sound, great vocals and lyrics, it is just a fun song to hear on your own or with friends.

Well that’s another song review done, what do you think of my song choice today? Whatever your thoughts are leave me a comment below and be sure to come back next time for another song review yo! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2014 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
