RSS

Chappie Trailer #1 Review

06 Nov

Hello again people of the internet, time for another trailer review and today I will be talking about Chappie, the next big film from Neil Blomkamp. Now before seeing this trailer, I would say that my interest in seeing this film was mild at best. While I still love District 9, Elysium wasn’t really my cup of tea last summer and he’s fallen off of my radar of people to pay attention to in recent times. So how does this new trailer fare? Well read on and find out.

Check out the trailer below:

After looking at this trailer, my immediate thoughts? “I’m interested.”

While I’m not so keen on sitting through another sci-fi related film that is very much earthbound with robots, this one does look a little more interesting. Sure the concept isn’t overly original and you can make various comparisons to films which have had artificial intelligence versus humans, but I’m curious to see how this film makes use of its protagonist who just happens to be a robot. So what’s the premise here? Well from what I can gather from the trailer, Dev Patel’s character creates a robot for the soul purpose of living and that robot’s name is Chappie and from the scenes in the trailer it looks like he goes from being completely afraid of the world to fully embracing all of the good and bad that comes with it. I can’t say that I’m not curious to see another film about how an AI being comes to adapt to human life and then find its place in the world. From what I can see he goes from being as scared and curious as a child, to being mature as an adult driving cars and what not. And it seems like we’ll make friends and enemies along the way. It also looks like we’ll potentially be taken to Earth somewhere in the future where things look post-apocalyptic, again. Again don’t get me wrong, I love these kinds of settings, but it has been done a lot in films over the last 5 or so years, it does start to get a bit samey.

But this film is not just about the robot, there are human characters as well, obviously you have Dev Patel who looks like the robot’s mentor/father figure who really strives for Chappie to learn, adapt and make the most of himself. The rest of the people in the trailer look interesting enough especially the blond girl, but I’m not familiar with who they are as actors from a visual standpoint. The person who really has me intrigued is Hugh Jackman, it looks like he is taking on the role of antagonist again like it Prisoners (but in a much lighter capacity hopefully) and I’m okay with that. Jackman’s character seems to have a problem with AI being dangerous and taking over (which he and everyone in the human race should rightfully be afraid of), and will probably be the main man trying to take out Chappie, I’m curious to see how that turns out.

ChappiescifiPosterartfullhandblocks1-1415050002

So what do you think of the first trailer for Chappie? Are you down with what you see so far or is it not your kind of thing? Whatever your thoughts are be sure to leave them in the comments below and I’ll see ya on the next review, laters! 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 6, 2014 in Films, Media, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Chappie Trailer #1 Review

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    November 9, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    I expected more humour based on what I knew of the film before hand. However it looked interesting 😀

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
