RSS

Me And Horror Films

18 Oct

Good day to you ladies and gents, I know I haven’t been posting much in the way of film reviews, so to fill out that gap it is time for another film related blog post about me and film preferences. A little while ago I did a post entitled ‘Me And Comedy Films‘ that basically outlined my lack of interest in films in the comedy genre and now because of a recent films list created by an old tutor of mine, it got me thinking about horror films again and how little I care for them.

horror movies

So horror films, what do I think of them? Well, not a lot really, but there is more to it than that. I have been familiar with this genre since I was a kid and have caught glimpses of many films both old and new at the time (the 90’s)

So my old tutor and friend, Mike, told me to create a top 10 horror film list on Facebook and at first I thought it wouldn’t be that hard, but when I started to think about it that is a task and a half. I don’t care much for horror films and it is one of my least favourite genres, now I’m not saying that they are no good or that they can’t be entertaining, however I find myself watching them the least for the following reasons:

  1. I hate to be scared: Yes, it sounds like a poor reason, but I don’t like to watch films with the intention of being scared out of my wits. Sure, that’s what a lot of horror films are made for, but I don’t like the concept of watching films just to feel fear before, during and after a film, especially when it comes to cinema screenings. I am a coward and I have no shame in saying that.
  2. I am very susceptible to jump scares: Yeah, any time I am watching a film in this genre I am just waiting for something to jump out at the screen and seven times out of ten it gets me, and I look so foolish for being scared at something simple, especially when no one else jumps or screams.
  3. I get no sense of satisfaction from horror films: This sounds like an odd one but hear me out. Unlike sci-fi, action, thriller, comic book, fantasy or drama films, horror films just don’t do much for me. I don’t feel a sense of satisfaction that I would get from films in other genres, like for example, I don’t feel like I’ve learned anything from a horror film or get a life lesson from it or personally want to see them again after the first viewing.

Also, I’m very fickle when it comes to films of the horror genre, on one hand, I don’t wish to be scared out of my ass, but on the other hand, I don’t want to watch a film that isn’t scary because then there would be no point in watching it right? Now there are some exceptions to the rule and if I’m with my sister and mum then watching a horror film every once in a while is mandatory and sometimes I’m glad I saw it and other times, not so much.

While it wasn’t easy, I did put together a list of my favourite horror films in no particular order and here’s the list below:

  1. The Exorcist
  2. The Evil Dead (Original)
  3. The Descent
  4. The Ring (the remake because it’s hilarious)
  5. Invasion of the Body Snatchers
  6. Let the Right One In
  7. 30 Days of Night
  8. Alien
  9. Scream
  10. Saw (because it’s funny)

That’s my list, and while some of them are science fiction hybrids, I feel like they are justified. If I had to pick one film from that list I liked the most it would be Invasion of the Body Snatchers, that film I’ve only seen it once, but it was one of the creepiest films I have ever seen and the concept alone is intriguing and disturbing. If I had to pick a pure horror film I would argue that The Exorcist, that film I’ve seen more times than I should have and it is the fusion of super funny stuff and really creepy stuff. And then there’s The Descent, a film I’ve seen two or three times, which is more than a lot of horror films and while it makes me feel deep levels of fear and claustrophobia, it is well-shot and creepy. Then there’s 30 Days of Night, a film I watched around five years ago and really liked and forgot it fell into the horror genre and The Evil Dead I watched last year and found that to be a nice mix of humour and scariness. But then there’s funny horror films like The Ring (2003), the Saw films, Jeepers Creepers 2 and the Hatchet films among others.

Fav Horror Films

So that’s my thoughts on horror film and my choices for a top ten, what do you think or horror films and is there any films I have missed or do you feel that I have wrongfully placed above? Whatever your thoughts are be sure to drop them in the comments below and I’ll see ya on the next blog post yo! 😀

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2014 in Films, Life, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Me And Horror Films

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    October 18, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    You don’t like horror films? And where the hell is The Thing?! Better be a damn mistake!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      October 18, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      Never been keen on them to be honest, care for them less than comedies, and oh yeah, The Thing, such filth, good stuff, can’t believe I forgot to add that to this article.

       
  2. Natasha Harmer

    October 19, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    Great post!
    And a good list considering horror isn’t really your thing 🙂
    The Descent is one of my favourites too, and Let the Right one In is amazing!

     
    • Hypersonic55

      October 21, 2014 at 2:08 pm

      Thanks a lot commenting yo, yeah, I am a scaredy cat, and I am not ashamed haha. Yeah, The Descent is very good, especially for it’s atmosphere and use of lighting. Oh and Let the Right One In, great film, haven’t seen it in a few years, but it has always stayed with me since my first viewing. 🙂

       
  3. Christopher

    October 20, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    Hey maaaan! You already know we’re on the same page on this; horror films don’t do a lot for me, either. I’m not a big fan of horrors that attempt to shock and scare through blood and gore, and while I do appreciate work like The Thing and The Fly – as creative and brilliant as they are – I just can’t get attached to them. Though I do get a kick out of the more eerie, atmospheric, genuinely terrifying horrors such as The Descent, and in particular, Dark Skies. I thought Dark Skies’ terror was built up so well; the jump scares were well executed and the aliens were barely glimpsed but always there, which made them all the more frightening. So, yeah. Good post, dude! 😀

     
    • Hypersonic55

      October 21, 2014 at 6:34 pm

      Howdy friend, always good to hear from you. Ah yes, I do recall your feelings on horror films, especially when it comes to The Thing and The Fly, man those films are filth. Yeah, I hear you about the atmosphere and proper gear that comes from good horror films, I just don’t like fear aspect, that’s not my favourite form of entertainment. Dark Skies was very eerie and creepy and the tension was good.

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
