RSS

BIG NEWS PART 1: Robert Downey Jr. In Talk To Join Captain America 3!

14 Oct

Howdy ladies and gents! Time to give you the first of many recent important news stories in the world of film and TV that taken place over the last few days. I would have blogged about it sooner but I’ve been busy with work. But anyways time to talk about the most important news story first and of course it comes from Marvel! The following info is from superherohype:

steve-andtony-avengers

Breaking: Marking a major twist to the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s “Phase Three,” Varietyis reporting that Robert Downey Jr. is close to joining the cast of Captain America 3 as Tony Stark and that the film will launch elements of the hit comic book crossover event, “Civil War” in the MCU!

The news comes on the heels of an announcement from Marvel this morning that a new “Civil War” comic book is on the way next summer.

Just last week, Downey hinted that something big was on the way, although it was briefly believed that he was referring to a fourth Iron Man film. Now, it seems quite likely that Marvel Studios has even bigger plans for Iron Man!

Anthony and Joe Russo, the sibling director pair behind Captain America: The Winter Soldier, are directing the May 6, 2016 film, which features a screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely and, of course, the return of Chris Evans as the star-spangled superhero.”

All I can say is BRING IT THE HELL ON! I was at work yesterday afternoon and during my break I saw this news story and I thought it was a joke, until I saw it reposted everywhere and I pretty much began to freak out then assumed what most of us fans had been thinking about for a while… The Civil War yo!

capvsironman

Is this where the MCU is heading? If so it is gonna be some hectic shit!

To be honest even though this is a great new announcement, I love RDJ and more of him in the Marvel Cinematic Universe is hardly a bad thing (especially if Iron Man 4 isn’t on the cards) and if he is going to be in Cap 3 then things must be series for two major Marvel heroes to be in one film that isn’t a major ensemble in Avengers. While it is interesting for Iron Mn and Captain America to jump into the Civil War realm of things, it is not a complete surprise. Many fans, myself included, have imagined that the Civil War storyline could/would be adapted at some point, the only problem is that certain characters are missing due to contractual issues with Marvel Studios, 20th Century Fox and Sony. That being said, considering how dense, diverse and cool the MCU is already, I feel like Marvel Studios could find a way around it and make things work considering their recent spring of successful films. Maybe the events of Avengers: Age of Ultron will set off a chain of events that will lead to this brutal chaos in Cap 3 and the rest of Phase 3. And obviously Steve Rogers and Tony Stark are two different kinds of people with different ideals and morals and they have butted heads before in Avengers, so that initial animosity could possibly build into full-on hate but goodness how that will happen, I mean they were mates by the end of that film right? Though I think it  probably will have something to do with the creation of Ultron in next year’s film.

The only thing I’m curious about now is whether Cap 3 will be a prelude to the Civil War or will be partly adapted  from the comic storyline or if it will be big battle be done on a smaller scale? Either way I’m excited, I read the Civil War story around 5 or 6 years ago and loved it and thought if it ever did adapted in any format it would be badass, so now that it may be potentially happening in live-action I’m totally down for it. Give me Avengers 2 next year and then give me Cap 3 super fast after that, I don’t think I can handle the waiting! 😀

So what do you think about this news, does it fill you with excitement or are you sceptical? Please, drop me your thoughts yo! 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 14, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
