RSS

My Top 5 Favourite Films of Summer 2014

09 Sep

Yo people, time for me to give you my late list of my favourite summer films of 2014. Now, as I’ve said before in my favourite films of the year so far, this year has been way better for films than 2013 and I’ve had such a great time in the cinema and seen so many films that I not only expected to be good, but a lot of which I didn’t expect as well. But before we get into the main 5, I’m just going to go through some of the film that didn’t make the list that were still pretty good.

Runner Ups:

  • Godzilla – Now this was a film that automatically jumped into my top 5 but by the time August came around it had to be removed which really broke my heart. I know that this film wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea and I know of a lot of people that hated this film (unfair amounts of hate in my opinion). Sure the film didn’t have a fully compelling human story and the lack of Bryan Cranston was disheartening, that being said, this version of Godzilla was fierce, tense, atmospheric, had awesome cinematography, music, monster action and one oft he most badass kills in recent film history.
  • Edge of Tomorrow – I did not expect to like this film at all, the trailers and advertising made it look so shit, but this film was the most unexpected surprise I’ve had in a while. Here we have a sci-fi film with a good story, cool action and great of comedy, and on top of that we have Emily Blunt being a total badass and Tom Cruise in his least ‘Tom Cruise’ performance in years and it was awesome.
  • 22 Jump Street – I thought this film would be alright, but I ended up loving it by the time the film was over. 22 Jump Street was definitely more of the same, but that’s what made it so good. The film was self-aware and featured the same kind of fun and chaos that made the previous film so much fun, but on a larger scale. Channing Tatum, Jonah Hill and Ice Cube are still funny as hell.
  • Begin Again – I expected this to be just some dramatic rom-com about people from different lives coming together through the power of music, but the film was so much more than that. It was a great film about 2 people who were passionate about music and decide to create something amazing together and change each others lives. Sure the story is a bit conventional, but the soundtrack and performances from Mark Ruffalo and Keira Knightley are hard not to like.
  • Hector and the Search for Happiness – I didn’t know what to expect from to like this film I saw the posters and thought it would be another generic British comedic film with a bit of drama. But luckily it was a compelling, funny and quite heartwarming with a great central performance from Simon Pegg.
  • The Expendables 3 – Honestly, this wasn’t one of the best action films I have seen this year and this is arguably the weakest of the  Expendables films considering that it is the third film with not as many memorable film stars as before. That being said, I cannot deny the amount of fun I had with this film, seeing Wesley Snipes and Mel Gibson on-screen again after so long along with Antonio Banderas and the rest of the crew was cool and when the action was on-point it was great.

5. The Inbetweeners 2

the-inbetweeners-2-poster01

I knew that this film would be a good session, that being said, I seriously thought this film would be nearly as fun as the last film, luckily I was wrong. The Inbetweeners 2 is a film that is just as good as its predecessor if not better in some respects. The film is incredibly blunt and unashamed of the crazy antics, it is willing to put its main characters through so much for our entertainment and it is strange, cringeworthy and super funny.

4. How to Train Your Dragon 2

how-to-train-your-dragon-2-poster

This was a film I had hoped was going to be good, but what I didn’t expect was how much better it would be than the previous film. HTTYD2 does everything that an animated film sequel should do, it takes what worked in the first film and makes it better while adding some new elements too. The story is wonderful and heartfelt, the characters were great and the presentation is fabulous.

3. X-Men: Days of Future Past

days-of-future-past-poster05

I was so worried about this film before it came out, I mean I knew that it would be worth a watch, but considering some of the cast choices and Bryan Singer’s dodgy track record with films since X-Men 2. Luckily the film was everything I wanted and then some, Bryan Singer and his crew successfully created a great comic book film which took the best elements of the old and new X-Men films and meshed it together with a fabulous cast, awesome action sequences and its use of time travel re-wrote the time and deleted the rubbish X-Men films from existence which just makes it that much sweeter.

2. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

dawn-of-planet-of-apes-pstr06

Arguably, this film could have been my number one at one point and I am sure for some it is their favourite film of the summer and for good reason too. DOTPOTA takes the foundation that was made in the first film and amplifies it by ten in this sequel. Humans take a back seat to this story about the apes as they develop and grow as a community and then eventually face conflict not only with the surviving human but also within themselves too. The tone, atmosphere, performances, cinematography and CGI were all on-point and some of the best stuff I have seen in any film for a while now. Andy Serkis and the rest of the film crew have crafted something really special and made me want so much more in the sequel.

1. Guardians of the Galaxy

gotg_poster

In the end was there any doubt in your mind about what would be number 1 on this list? While some of the other entries on this list are pretty dramatic and epic, Marvel still know how to grab my attention and make films that I want to see even when I have no clue as to how it will turn out. I had a lot of a hope that this film would be great, but what I didn’t expect was how fun and delightful this would be. GotG is pure sci-fi, comedy and a story of heroes of different backgrounds coming together to become more, it is basically the Avengers, but in space and on a larger and crazier scale. Groot and Rocket Raccoon were so cool, Chris Pratt is a legend as Star-Lord and the gorgeous soundtrack are just a handful of reasons why I loved this film. I want the sequel now! XD

So how do you feel about my list and are any of your favourites on here? And what were your favourite films of the summer? Whatever your thoughts are be sure to leave them below and I’ll see ya on the next blog post, laters! 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “My Top 5 Favourite Films of Summer 2014

  1. sidekickreviews

    September 10, 2014 at 6:03 am

    Sweet list! I’ll have to add the Inbetweeners 2 to be my watch list, I don’t think it’s released here yet. Other summer movies I watch to catch up on is Fault in our Stars and Boyhood; I’m more of a blockbuster fan during this time of year but these two should be worth watching from what I’ve heard. Great to see Dragon 2 make it in your top 5, I really liked how the story was a natural progression from the original and it ended in a good spot for the 3rd to pick up on. Surprise, surprise … just joking, GOTG is my #1 too, it’s so much fun.

     
    • Hypersonic55

      September 11, 2014 at 6:26 pm

      Cheers mate. Yeah I hear ya when it comes to Inbetweeners 2, UK films tend to take their sweet time reaching the US especially summer ones like this. I’d definitely say it’s worth a watch, but be sure you’re familiar with what has come before or the film obviously has less relevance. I never saw either Fault in our Stars and Boyhood, I didn’t have much interest in the former, while Boyhood wasn’t showing in any cinema near me and I missed it. 😦 HTTYD2 was SO good, I almost shed tears at a few points, the people behind it knew how to take what worked and made it even better in the sequel. And yeah gotta show the love for Guardians, that is some good stuff. 😀

       

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
