RSS

My Favourite Music In Video Games Part 2

12 Aug

favourite-videogame-music-P2

Howdy ladies and gents, and welcome to PART 2 of My Favourite Music In Video Games, a blog series dedicated to some of my favourite tunes in video games that I feel everyone should hear too. It was a while ago, but back in part 1 it focused on franchises from the 90’s and I feel like we’re gonna continue that with some of my other childhood video games (with one exception). So here let’s get started:

Bomberman

Oh Bomberman, how I love you! Back in the last 90’s to early 00’s Bomberman was a huge part of my gaming world especially because of the games Bomberman 64 and Bomberman Hero, and those games were home to some incredible music. In 64 you had so many incredible songs from the main levels to the menu screen and multiplayer levels too. A few of my ultimate nostalgic tunes are: Green GardenBlue Resort, and VS Altair Part 2. And Hero had cool songs BeakRedial, Foehn, Dessert, Zip and Cell just to name a few. And then there’s Bomberman Generation, the last great Bomberman game in my opinion, besides being a good game it also housed some great tunes like Main Theme (Original), Tentasia (Original), Octo Ocean (Original) & (Crystal), Tako Desert (Eygptian) & (Funky), Coin Battle (Original) and the hardcore Majestar.

Favourite song – Mimesis:

It was a close call between this and Foehn, but I think I love this song the most because it is so upbeat and happy-sounding (if that makes any sense haha). A lot of the songs in this game have a very drum and bass like feel to it in terms of the beast and structure and that is what I love about all of the songs especially this one. This song is from the levels in Bomberman Hero when you have to ride that rabbit Louie, it’s a jolly little sound with a great beat and I could listen to it for ages on repeat.

Rayman

Now the Rayman series has housed a lot of good music ever since the first set of games on PlayStation 1 back in the late 90’s, but I mainly recall some of the newer music from Rayman Origins and Legends. The reason I am more interested in the newer Rayman games when it comes to music is because of their more quirky and eclectic collection of songs.

Favourite song – Medieval Theme:

Even though this is one of the first songs in the game, it honestly left the biggest impression on me. I like the choice of instruments and the fact that it really sounds it was from the medieval period. The song is super quirky, fun, upbeat and epic towards the second half. I could listen to this on repeat for ages.

Star Fox

The Star Fox series may not have that many games in its series when compared to other franchises like Mario, Zelda and Metroid, but that doesn’t make it any less important, especially when it comes to the music. Since the first game on Super Nintendo Star Fox has been home to some great music especially in Star Fox 64 aka Lylat Wars and Star Fox Assault. For me SF64 housed some good songs from the Opening, Title Screen to the awesome sounds of Star Wolf and Versus, and then you have Versus One By One, to the lovely Mission Accomplished. Star Fox Assault brought some really awesome style and flair with the orchestrated soundtrack which makes songs like Theme of Star Fox Assault, Mission Briefing, Oikonny’s Fleet (Space Battleground) and many others sound so good.And then the Super Smash Bros. series got some great remixes with Melee‘s Corneria, and Super Smash Bros. Brawl‘s Space Armada, Area 6, Area 6 Ver. 2, Corneria and Main Theme (Star Fox 64).

Favourite song – Star Wolf (Star Fox Assault):

I don’t really recall hearing the original Star Fox theme first time, but I remember it from my childhood playing Star Fox 64 especially when it came to multiplayer. That being said when I heard the Star Fox Assault version in Super Smash Bros. Brawl my world changed. Composers Yoshie Arakawa and Yoshinori Kawamoto have taken a simply cool song and turned it into an epic orchestrated piece of work that feels like it belongs in a western film or an older spy movie. It is just the definition of sexy and badass.

Snowboard Kids

The Snowboard Kids series only has three games to its series (though I don’t really count that reimagined version on the DS), but most people that remember this game series know about the two games on the Nintendo 64. I don’t know about Snowboard Kids 2 or the DS game, but the first game definitely has a great sound. There are unforgettable tracks in this game like Sunset Rock, Night Highway, Dizzy Land, Board Shop (a beautiful slow jam with a great melody) and the brilliant Grass Valley which just screams of adventure and awesomeness.

Favourite song –  Big Snowman:

I really adore the soundtrack for the first Snowboard Kids game and it was a close call between this and Grass Valley, but in the end this won me over. I do believe it to be the best song in the game purely because it is so cool, feel-good and the most energetic. I just love the composition and it makes me feel so happy. Plus it gives me a huge nostalgia rush of playing this game along with my sister and old school friends.

Castlevania

I never grew up with Castlevania and never really found out what it was until my late teenage years, but I understand and respect the franchise a lot. This is a series that is highly praised for its gameplay, presentation and of course it’s music too. There are a number of badass songs in this series from the NES and Playstation days right up until the Game Boy Advance and Nintendo DS. There’s a number of cool songs like including that awesome Vampire Killer from the first Castlevania I which is the quintessential song on the series, you also have Divine Bloodlines from Castlevania: Dracula X, Bloody Tears (Day Theme) from Castlevania II, Beginning from Castlevania III and Simon’s Theme from Super Castlevania IV.

Favourite song – Monster Dance:

In the end this is my favourite song for sure and is my favourite song in the Castlevania series as it has style, a wonderful melody and it is totally memorable and addictive. Sure the song is a bit old, lacking in layers and is on the short side, but my god it is awesome. And I think one of the main reasons I love it is due to watching the Angry Video Game Nerd on several occasions since 2007 haha.

So there you have it, my another five picks. Tell me if you’re familiar, like or dislike my choices in the comments below. Also if they’re any that you’d like to see in the future let me know. Other than that make sure to come back for some more music madness in the world of video games. Bye bye for now! 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 12, 2014 in Media, Video Games

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “My Favourite Music In Video Games Part 2

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
