RSS

Favourite Songs #31: Love Split Love – How Soon Is Now?

20 Jun

Howdy people of the interweb, and welcome to the 31st edition of my series of blog posts dedicated to some of my favourite songs ever in life. Can’t believe I’ve made it to 30 posts already, though I think we can go further! Anyway today I’m going to talk about my favourite songs from college in form of Love Split Love’s “How Soon is Now?“.

love-split-love

Yes, now this is my song, definitely one of the songs I could add to the soundtrack for my life. This is one of those songs that any time it comes shows up on my music playlist I fall into a good groove, I smile and jam away. No matter how times I hear this song, I never get tired of it.

Just have a listen to the tune below:

Ever since my childhood, I’ve remembered this song as the main theme song for the TV show Charmed (yes I used to watch this show, mainly because of my mum and sister’s obsession with it). And even though the show wasn’t actually that bad, the main reason I liked watching the show was because I looked forward to the intro song.

charmed_cover

So I think it was around the time I was 17 or 18, I found the song again and I really got into it and it became on of my main jams on my mp3 player. So what is it that makes this song so addictive? Well I think it just has a gorgeous sound that’s very enticing from the time the song begins to the point in which it ends. That introduction is just amazing, just the way it builds up and becomes a fully fledged jam, the vocals from the main singer is lovely too, but I think it is the main chorus area is when the song really starts to get me going.

I never actually found that this version of the song was actually a cover until around my second year of college. It wasn’t until I was messing around in the radio suite and heard the original song by The Smiths and my world was rocked. I really like the original Smiths version, but I was surprised how much Love Split Love kept intact in terms of the structure and main melody but just jazzed it up for a 90’s with a more rock-influenced sound.

So to conclude “How Soon Is Now?” by Love Split Love is a great song, it is filled to the brim with great guitar work and lovely vocals and very memorable lyrics. It is one of those songs that after you here the first time you’ll never be able to forget and you need to have in your collection. If you’ve never checked this song out before then check it out, its super good.

Well that’s another song review done, what do you think of my song choice today? Whatever your thoughts are leave me a comment below and be sure to come back next time for another song review yo! 😀

 
Comments Off on Favourite Songs #31: Love Split Love – How Soon Is Now?

Posted by on June 20, 2014 in Media, Music, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
