RSS

Powerpuff Girls To Be Rebooted in 2016 on Cartoon Network!

17 Jun

Good day to you ladies and gents, time to talk about some TV news and today its related to some interesting and exciting news concerning a reboot of one of my favourite cartoons from my childhood; The Powerpuff Girls. The following information comes from ComicBookMovie:

ppg

In some totally left field news sure to please nostalgic nineties kids and little girls everywhere, Cartoon Network announced today that their iconic crime fighting trio, the Powerpuff Girls, will be making their triumphant return to television in 2016.

“The original Powerpuff Girls was a franchise phenomenon for Cartoon Network, paving the way for a new generation of innovative storytellers and enthusiastic fans worldwide,” said Cartoon Network chief content officer Rob Sorcher, “We are calling these girls back into action based upon an overwhelming demand for sugar, spice and Chemical X.”

Craig McCracken’s ‘The Powerpuff Girls’ is one of Cartoon Network’s most successful brands to date, with retail profits totaling over $2.5 billion. Endowed with the powers of sugar, spice, everything nice, and Chemical X (originally ‘a can of whoop-ass’), the girls fought their way through seventy-eight television episodes, a feature film, an anime spin-off, and a one-off special earlier this year featuring former Beatle Ringo Starr.

Though its appearance may be shocking to some, this new incarnation of The Powerpuff Girls promises to offer something fresh in a largely male dominated marketplace of superheroes.

When I read this I had to do a double-take because I thought it might have been a joke, but no, it’s happening, The Powerpuff Girls are coming back and I couldn’t be happier. I’d say this news is surprising and it is, but at the same time it really isn’t. This show when it was in its prime was one of the most beloved and successful shows on Cartoon Network, so it makes sense to bring it back for new audiences to enjoy. And since the release of The Powerpuff Girls: Dance Pantsed, I pretty much said to myself, “This special is great and all, but I would really like a new PPG series to watch.” And it seems like my secret thoughts have become a reality.

Now I make it no secret that I am a massive fan of this show and it was one of my favourite cartoons back in my childhood and believe me it wasn’t an easy thing to admit to when I was younger especially when it is viewed as a show for girls and most guys didn’t care for it. But now that I’m older I show my love for PPG with pride and I don’t care what anyone says, its badass. I am curious to know how much of the basic material the makers behind the show will keep the same and how much they will update, I also want to know what visual design they will go for too. Will it be the original 2D style or will they go the route of The Powerpuff Girls: Dance Pantsed and go with CGI? And speaking of The Powerpuff Girls: Dance Pantsed, will this new show re related to that or will it be its own thing? I thought Dance Pantsed was pretty good so I wouldn’t mind things similar to that, but I just hope they don’t hurt the show by modernizing it too much because there are some things that don’t below in the realm of cartoons. I also wonder if Craig McCracken will have any creative imput or will he be separate from this version of the PPG like he was with the recent special? It’s probably the former but I would hop that he would be around to do something because this is his creation after all.

So what do think about this news? Whatever your thoughts are, be sure to leave a comment below yo. Laters. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 17, 2014 in Media, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Powerpuff Girls To Be Rebooted in 2016 on Cartoon Network!

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    June 17, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    FUCK YEAH!

    I watched an episode the other day and it was hilarious 😀

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
