RSS

E3 2014: Ubisoft Press Conference – My Highlights

10 Jun

Good day to you ladies and gentlemen and welcome to the first instalment of my coverage on E3 2014. This event has a lot of stuff going but I will try to cover as much as possible so be sure to come back as soon as possible yo. I’ve already talked about Microsoft and EA’s press conferences and now I’m ready to move on to the next big one yo.

E3-2014

So now we have Ubisoft press conference, one of the events I’ve been loving forward to the most besides Nintendo and luckily they started in style. And the main host is hella cool, she’s funny, blunt and doesn’t give a fuck about the use of her language and I lover her for it, you can tell that she’s passionate and knows her stuff. While Ubisoft’s show didn’t blow me away like last year, there were a few key reveals that stood out a lot.

E3-2014-Ubisoft

So with that in mind here’s my highlights of the presence conference:

Far Cry 4

And so we start the Ubisoft conference in style with Far Cry 4 and apparently that’s just the first five minutes of the of the game and it was freaking cool! I love how detailed the game is and how much it is a graphical update over the last game. The character models, environments, animation, lighting and level of detail is incredible. I never got to see the entire trailer because of stream lag, but from what I could see was something really realistic and engaging and cinematic. I like this villain guy with the white hair (I assume he’s a villain, I mean he does act like one), I just love his personality and how blunt, funny and cruel he is. The way he asks his henchmen to stop the bus and not shoot it, then ends up killing the guy and complains amount the blood on his shoots. Great guy. This just looks like the set up to a great game, I cannot wait for it.

The Crew

Fully customizable cars in an open world MMO? Give me. The trailer looks very nice, there is a lot of different environments in the city or out on the road or in the wilderness and while the driving moments did moves at sonic speed, they did look very pretty. The overall look and style of the gameplay reminds me of a cross between Test Driver and GTA. The game looks incredibly big and expansive and I want to touch it when it hits in November.

Assassin’s Creed Unity

We already got a taste of Unity before in the Microsoft conference before but in the Ubisoft conference we get so much more detail about the game. It starts with a very detailed and beautiful pre-rendered trailer with loads of war, fighting and chaos and in the midst of the fighting between the people and the police, you have the assassins together in a group of four taking dudes out left, right and center and it is kick ass.

But beyond that, seeing the game in action looks so good. The level of detail is such higher than ever before, the movement and animation is so much better than previous games and the way he drops from buildings is done with even more of sense of speed and depth and his movements in combat is so clean and fluid. I love the sense of scope and spaciousness that comes with the new Paris setting and the fact that you can pass in and out of buildings with such ease makes traversing through places so much more inviting.

Valiant Hearts: The Great War

This game looks so beautiful and so sad at the same time. This is a game based on the first World War and it has a very simple and yet specific art style to it. The style and animation look like it could have been done in Adobe Flash, however the movement and fluidity is on a higher level. The game looks like a short film that potentially belongs on the list of animated films that should be nominated for awards. since it was primarily a trailer we didn’t get to see how the actually plays, but I can only assume it is a platforming game because it is made using the same game engine that made Rayman Legends and Child of Light.

Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege

And the last game worth mentioning is Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege. Now I’ve never played any of the Rainbow Six games mainly because they’ve never appealed to me, but this game does look interesting. I just like the tactical approach to the game first person shooter gameplay and while some may find the constant talking between the in-game team, I think the dialogue and talking helped flesh the characters out and create and more engaging and realistic experience. While it is unlikely that I’ll get this game, I will follow it from a distance.

So what highlights stuck out for you? Be sure to comment below and let me know.

 
Comments Off on E3 2014: Ubisoft Press Conference – My Highlights

Posted by on June 10, 2014 in Media, Video Games

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
