RSS

Tom Hardy & Benedict Cumberbatch Apparently Shortlisted For Doctor Strange

07 Jun

Hello again ladies and gents, time for me come to my blog to write about an interesting tidbit of news that’s started circulating recently about two well-known actors up for role of the Sorcerer Supreme in the upcoming Doctor Strange film. Now we’ve heard the chatter about Jared Leto, but these next two choices are much more interesting to talk about. The following information comes from superherohype:

cumberbatch-hardy-doctorstrange-header

(Photo Credit: FayesVision/WENN.com)

Deadline brings word tonight that Marvel has begun putting together their casting short list for the upcoming Doctor Strange having finally secured a director in Scott Derrickson.

The site reports that the list consists of two names for the time being, the first being Star Trek Into Darkness and “Sherlock” star Benedict Cumberbatch with the other being Tom Hardy of Bronson and the upcoming Mad Max: Fury Road, whose The Dark Knight Rises co-star Joseph Gordon-Levitt was previously linked as a potential candidate for the role.

Who would you like to see take on the master of the mystic arts? Sound off below!

Although a specific release date for Doctor Strange has not yet been set, Marvel has two placeholder dates set for unnamed features on July 8, 2016 and on May 5, 2017. It’s looking more and more likely that the good doctor will be claiming one of those spots.

Well this is certainly two casting choices I did not see coming. So now one has to ask “Do they fit the profile?” Well the answer to that for me is both yes and no. While I can see the advantages of having both actors play this kind of character because of their individual talents, I’m not sure they could bring both the visual look, physicality and screen presence of Steven Strange to the big screen. I know it is an adaptation so there are some things that are likely to change to accommodate the MCU and casual film audiences, however this is an important casting choice that needs to be done correctly. So with that being said, as much as I LOVE Cumberbatch, I’m not sure I can see him in this role, I’m not sure it is for him. On the other hand I possibly see it for Tom Hardy, if he lost a bit of muscle and became a bit more lean. But even then I’m not sure I’d even want to see him in the role either. I’m more curious about this Jared Leto rumour floating about because of the randomness of it, plus it’d be great to see Leto in such a high-profile role like a comic book film and I can’t dismiss his acting skills since seeing Dallas Buyers Club.

So yeah my overall thoughts, I’d be curious for either of these men to get the job but I’m swaying more towards Tom Hardy at this point. How about you lot, what do you think of these casting choices? Be sure to comment below and let me know.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Tom Hardy & Benedict Cumberbatch Apparently Shortlisted For Doctor Strange

  1. qks15

    June 7, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    Reblogged this on qks15 and commented:
    bendict cumberbatch cmon man we want to see you as a doctor stranger

     
  2. lauren

    June 8, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Interesting choices. I don’t know too much about the character so I can’t comment on if they are suitable for the role or not, but they are all good actors so none of the three would put me off seeing the film.

     
  3. Tim The Film Guy

    June 9, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    Both great actors but for this i’d say Cumberbatch for the role 😀

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
