RSS

LATE NEWS PART 3: Scott Derrickson to Direct Doctor Strange Film

05 Jun

Hello there people of the world and welcome to my third and final instalment of late news I wish to discuss on my blog. Now I’ve talked about Josh Trank and his recent attachment to Star Wars, I’ve also talked about the recent cast additions to SW: Episode VII, but now we’re gonna move to Marvel-related news. The following information comes from superherohype:

strange-bar.jpg

Marvel Studios has found its Doctor Strange director! Sinister and The Exorcism of Emily Rose helmer Scott Derrickson will take on the master of the mystic arts.

“[Doctor Strange] checks the box off this criteria that I have,” Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige told SuperHeroHype recently about the long-gestating feature. “He’s totally different from anything else we have.”

Although a specific release date for Doctor Strange has not yet been set, Marvel has two placeholder dates set for unnamed features on July 8, 2016 and on May 5, 2017. It’s looking more and more likely that the good doctor will be claiming one of those spots.

Derrickson’s other directing credits include the 2009 remake of The Day the Earth Stood Still and the upcoming Deliver Us From Evil, hitting theaters July 2. He shared the news of his involvement with Doctor Strange with the below Tweet:

Scott-Derrickson-Doctor-Strange

When I first read this article I remember feeling a quick moment of disappointment, just because I had hoped for Jonathan Levine because I liked Warm Bodies and heard some good things about 50/50 too, he just seemed like a great choice. But that moment of sadness was brief. With Derrickson I’m not as familiar with his filmography, I’ve heard and read good things about The Exorcism of Emily Rose and Sinister, but I don’t like or watch horror films I can’t say much. The only film I’ve seen of his was the remake of The Day The Earth Stood Still and I watched that once in the cinema and never looked back since. I’m sure it wasn’t his fault that the film sucked, I think was just the emotionless Keanu Reeves and the ever-annoying Jaden Smith who the most whiney bitch in the history of kids in films. Either way Kevin Feige must have seen something good in Derrickson to have him helm something as otherworldly as Doctor Strange, I just hope the guy does a good job.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 5, 2014 in Films, Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “LATE NEWS PART 3: Scott Derrickson to Direct Doctor Strange Film

  1. Tim The Film Guy

    June 9, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    YES! I heard they were going to get a Horror director 😀

     

Drop Me A Comment Yo! :D

 
